We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a working visit to Hong Kong”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment)
Ranked #150 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place for a working visit to Hong Kong”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've stayed at other Ovolo properties - boutique hotels - but this was our first time at their Sheung Wan Serviced Apartment location.

I have only good things to say about the property, the chain and their staff.

There is plenty of space in the flat we had on the 2nd floor. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. For the two of us, the size was good - there's a kitchen area that melds into the living room/media room, a good sized bedroom and its ensuite. Great rain-like shower, too, with continuous hot water. And the shower stays inside the shower screen, unlike other places in Hong Kong where the whole rest of the bathroom get drenched when one is having an indulgent shower.

The two times I called to the staff on the phone brought someone to the door to help out. None of this: Sort it out for yourself attitude I've experienced before.

The internet service is standard - included wireless that works though out the flat. There is no restaurant attached, as the other Ovolo properties have, but there are many eateries nearby.

If you have a requirement for a serviced flat, that's well taken care of each day, do consider the Ovolo 222.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left as one comes out the lift might be a bit quieter, but we had no noise problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koyich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W, Manager at Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment), responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Koyich,

We are so thankful that you have made the time to write your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad that our staff were able to help and provide a warm, comfortable, and clean environment for you during your trip.

Thank you for choosing our serviced apartments and we sincerely hope to see you again for your next visit!

Warm regards,
Cathy Wong
Senior Residence Manager
222 Hollywood Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
SP
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Ovolo for 3 months and we had a great experience. The flat had a nice size and was pretty knew. The service was perfect, everyone working there was so nice to us. Also, any request was quickly fixed and we couldn't say anything bad about the service. We had a great time there and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeASp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W, Manager at Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment), responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear PeASp,

Thank you for sharing such a great feedback of your recent experience at Ovolo 222 Hollywood Road. We are delighted to learn that that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your compliments will surly encourage us to keep improving our service quality. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Cathy Wong
Senior Residence Manager
222 Hollywood Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Best serviced apartments in HK, we were at Sharma originally and this was much better. Rooms could have been bigger but were well designed and made best use of the space. We spent 7 months there and loved the local area. Cathy was great, really helpful, responsive and always went out of her way to help resolve any issues.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W, Manager at Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment), responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Nicola P,

Thank you for writing this review of your experience at Ovolo. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Once again, thank you for your review. We truly appreciate it and very much look forward to hosting you at Ovolo again soon.

Warm regards,
Cathy Wong
Senior Residence Manager
222 Hollywood Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed for a month from mid Nov to mid Dec 2013. The apartment was comfortable and clean and in a great area, very central and easy to walk everywhere. The office staff were very polite and helpful and so were the cleaners. The design of the apartment is nicely thought out and they maximise the small space, I was comfortable as one person but I would not like to stay there as a couple as you would be too on top of each other. On the plan it says this apartment is 600 square feet, but no way is it 600 - more like 400 max (I am a property developer) .

The thing which really worried me is there are no smoke alarms in the building. This is a building with more than 40 apartments with people cooking and smoking so it is a definite risk. When I asked why no smoke alarms I was told it was because it is not the law in Hong Kong that landlords have to install them!!! (not a very good reason!) As we know in the UK as it is drilled into us in many TV adverts, it is not the fire which kills people, but the smoke inhalation. the office staff showed me a "break the glass" type old fashioned alarm in the lift lobby, but if someone is asleep and there is smoke in the building they would be unconscious and unable to press the button, so that is no use at all!!! Management need to address this safety issue asap, these alarms are not even expensive and I can't believe they don't have them.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter as away from street noise, but Hollywood Road is not a particularly noisy ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saralove999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W, Manager at Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment), responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear saralove999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Ovolo. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have noted your comments about our smoke alarms. Please know that as a licensed residence, not hotel, the HK government doesn't encourage installation of fire alarms in each individual unit. Of course we always put the safety of our residents first and provide hoses and alarms in each floor lobby and comply by annual inspections from a registered fire equipments contractor. With this said, I will bring your valued feedback to the attention of our top management for a future review. Thank you.

Saralove999, thank you again for choosing us. I hope that you will return again for your next trip as team Ovolo look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Warm regards,
Cathy Wong
Senior Residence Manager
222 Hollywood Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My friend got relocated to Hong Kong and I stayed with her for a few days whilst visiting Hong Kong. The location is great on Hollywood Road and is in a lively neighourhood with lots of cool shops and restaurants. It is not directly in Central but the MTR is close by and taxis are cheap. Walking to central is around 15 minutes which makes is very convenient. The decor is very well done and the whole apartment looks very modern and has high quality fittings (Bose stereo, Nespresso coffee machine, rain shower, B&O telephone etc.). They made the best with the small space they have. Whilst it was fine to share the apartment it is really only meant for one person in the long run. The staff were on hand if requested and answered promptly any requests we had. The daily housekeeping service is good too and the apartment is always neat and tidy. I guess the only negative part is that there is only one lift for around 30 floors which means the wait can be a bit long at times and that the wifi in the apartment was not strong enough to get the signal in the bedroom. However I would definitely recommend this service apartment if one has to stay a month or longer in HK for a work assignement or relocation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W, Manager at Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment), responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear jetsetlife888,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and sharing your experience of us. we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ovolo!
I have also taken careful note of some of the details of your stay and reassure you that they will be addressed.
For your future visits back to Hong Kong, please feel free to email me on 222srm@ovologroup.com for any assistance you may require.

Warm regards,
Cathy Wong
Senior Residence Manager
222 Hollywood Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a very good choice by my company. Pretty, clean with a great neighborhood in midlevels. About 15 walk from icc. Not the biggest but then again this is Hong Kong. Cheers to Cathy for always being there to help too. Wish i didnt have to relocate but as is life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I'm in Hong Kong quite a bit for work and this is my favorite place for extended stays. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Great location in a chic part of town. Could be a bit closer to soho like the como como.
2. Large rooms for Hong Kong. Very comfortable furniture, large wardrobe, large drawers. Nice desk space.
3. In room laundry!
4. Functional fully stocked kitchenette.
5. Nice tv, premium channels
6. Lovely bathroom
7. Friendly staff- awesome doormen!
8. They let you use the gym at 286 queens

Cons:
1. You need a month stay
2. My maid liked to randomly decide my towel allotment. It was never a full supply
3. I had a few maintenance issues- which were mind you repaired very quickly.

I wish I could always stay here because of the creature comforts of home, being able to make breakfast or a quick dinner is a nice break from eating out all the time.

The neighborhood is quiet, everything is convenient, and nightlife is 10 minutes walk away... Ok ok 20 in the rain in high heels ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melcalbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
442 reviews
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#151 of 718 in Hong Kong
242 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment)

Property: Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment)
Address: No. 222 Hollywood Road, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal living for the modern urban professional. Staying at Ovolo Sheung Wan, you can easily access a vibrant neighbourhood and personalised living arrangements within. With all-inclusive services and flexible leasing arrangements, providing you with an effortless living experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ovolo Sheung Wan (Serviced Apartment) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing