We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not much more”

Viva Ana Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #6,111 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not much more”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This small venue is located very close to the Indigo Hotel, so it comes handy if one wants to differentiate from Chinese food. I ordered the Spanish Board, i.e. a selection of spanish hams and chorizo. It was nice, but it was served without any bread, and I would have preferred to see the products less "heated" by the fact that they were probably stored at the entrance, where temperature is a bit high.
The roasted tomato were definitively below standard.
The shrimps cooked in garlic oil were ok, as well the scampi with mushroom risotto, but just ok. The creme brulee was really not up to a decent standard.
In all, the bill came to 1200 HK$ for two, including two glasses of wine, which made the place a bit too expensive even if the ham and chorizo were of good quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive bill for tapas restaurant”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I went 2 times in this restaurant. The 2 times , the end bills were very expansive without wine. its tapas but not like the ones you can eat in spain in the bars.
I will not go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Bar”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We went here one evening for drinks and snacks. It had a cool atmosphere, really nice spanish wines and the sliced ham on garlic bread was fantastic, I can still taste it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

TripAdvisor told me that it was going to be overpriced, and I didn't listen! Food was average/good, service was average/below average and prices were high. I will probably not go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gozzilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although Viva Ana accommodated my husband's allergies, we felt that the food was overpriced and not very tasty. The service was good but the dishes weren't that good. The best dish was the duck which is not typically considered a traditional Spanish tapas dish. This restaurant was as far from Spain in flavors as it is in actual distance. Save your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Ana Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Viva Ana Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing