We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small family guest house”
Review of Mei Mei Motel

Mei Mei Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mei Mei Motel
Ranked #67 of 269 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Room is small, but very clean, wifi is Ok. Location is good very near MongKok subway station, about 5-7 minutes walk.
The room is pretty much for Asian men size, if you are tall guy, the room may be very tight for you.
Overall, it is a basic gues house, but room is very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Read all the good and bad review in these posts. All of them are valid. You need to ask staff to turn on both aircon and water heater for u. Half way no hot water for bath, how do you stop taking bath to ask the staff to turn on the electic to you.
The air con no remote control. You got cold for the whole night. The option you get, turn it of by staff or keep it on. Extra blanket for extra charge.
Dont trust the photos on their website. It just show you the part of story. It small. The photos may let you feel it good to go, but you will be OMG and regret to go for this.

Will not stay here again...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kjawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This review is very back-dated. My friends and I (total 3 of us) stayed in Mei Mei Motel on 22 February 2012 to 27 February 2012. Be expected to get what you paid for. Very basic amenities. Room is small, toilet is small. But that is what Hong Kong rooms are. Plus points are, free wifi and the services of the staffs there are very good. They will try their best to accommodate to your needs.

Like for one instance, my girlfriend and I went to Lai Chi Kok for shopping and we left the room keys to our guy friend. But we returned to the motel earlier than our guy friend. Hoping to get into the room instead of waiting out in the cold weather (was about 17degrees outside), we asked the staff if he can open our room to let us in. He went to speak to another woman, and lucky enough she remembered us, and opened the door for us.

However, the cons are that the room and toilet is very small. And a few things to note: 1. No throwing of used toilet papers into the toilet bowl as it will get stuck. And if it does, you will have to pay for the plumbing fees. 2. The heater have to be switched on at least 5 minutes before you bathe, as the heater need to warm up the water. 3. There's a switch that needs to be switched on so that the steam from the hot water won't be 'stuck' in the bathroom itself.

Unlike what the other reviewers have state, we have no issues with bathing for a long time. But I won't be staying here again as the rooms are too small for my liking. Nevertheless, it's a good experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JovineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Condition of rooms when checking in was very clean. Really dust-free (even under the bed). But the rooms and bathroom are really small with only 6-8 sq feet of walking space. Alarge sized person will be very uncomfortable to be fitted into the room. I would say the motel is suitable for medium/small sized person like Asians. Towels / bed linens are changed everyday. Beds are tidied and bathrooms are washed everyday. Cleanliness, I would say it's very good. Location wise, I would rate it as very good as well because right opposite the motel, it is the starting point of the famous Ladies Night Market. Near to the motel (2-3 mins walk) is the MTR (subway) station (exit D2). Travelling by MTR is the most convenient way of travelling in HK.

Room Tip: Make sure to inform the owner regarding your height and size when you do the booking. It really matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank choihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My experience staying in the motel was a DISASTER!! 1st day when we were checking in, the "china lady" kept us waiting and busy adjusting the aircon temperature for bout 10 mins.... that's fine. The next thing upon checking in, we were informed that no tissue paper is allowed to be throw into the toilet bowl like what renee has commented, be it big or small business!! so the tissue paper has to be thrown into the dustbin provided in the toilet which has to be there overnight til the next morning when she cleans the room...OMG! worse till there is no cover for the dustbin >.< the disaster continues.... halfway showering no more hot water!! after confronting the same lady again only being informed that i was supposed to let her know when we want to use the aircon and hot water shower otherwise no hot water nor aircon for u. OMG again!
did i say the hot water shower is extremely difficult to adjust? YES IT IS!
Well, im not as lucky as the Spore guest to manage to get 2 extra blanket from the lady as i was informed that she doesnt keep extra blanket or pillows for guests since the place is small and she has no extra space to keep those extra things. im not sure if she change the bedsheet everyday or just when one check out because i didnt see her changing the bedsheet when she cleaned the room but she did change the towels everyday. but "too smart" of her to just give us 1 or 2 towels only for 4 person and 1 of the towel have a SUPER BIG HOLE in the middle (diameter about 10cm)!
Will never ever want to stay in this motel anymore.. i strongly recommended to just stay at elsewhere otherwise u'll regret about it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kearlene85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My first impression during checking in was "wow this lady is surely arrogant". I have to be honest that the room that she gave us is clean and well maintained however the next thing that shocked me was that we are not allowed to throw used tissues into the toilet. No tissue, just water. So basically there will be a pail prepared for you to throw all your used tissue paper. Although she cleans the pail every morning, I still feel disgusted with this. Since we have already booked the motel, there is nothing we can do but to follow her rules. The next thing that we find absurd is that each person is only allowed to shower once (half an hour) a day. Any time more than that, you will get a good scolding from the lady. Every time when you require to use the hot shower, you have to inform her in advance. And since there are 4 of us, one of us are not allowed to shower if the other 3 doesn't. This is ridiculous!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reneechung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS MOTEL! we went there this evening coz we have no choice all the hotels and guest house are fully booked due the China Fair. the lady asked us to wait, we waited for like 1 hour. i asked her politely if there is any available room, suddenly she told us that she is tired and doesn't wanna clean the room and ask us to leave and look for another guest house. then i told her you should have told us earlier, shouldn't have waited for 1 hour in the corregidor. then she started shouting and cursing us. while waiting she was talking with the other guest very rudely. so we walked out and slummed her door. they will also rip your pocket off! a BIG NO NO NO NO to this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mid0ris0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Oi Suen Guesthouse
Oi Suen Guesthouse
#311 of 726 in Hong Kong
162 reviews
Mong Kok
1812 Hostel
1812 Hostel
#6 of 269 in Hong Kong
44 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#24 of 163 in Hong Kong
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,147 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
845 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mei Mei Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mei Mei Motel

Address: Room 307, 3/F Sincere House,83 Argyle Street, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mei Mei Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mei Mei Hotel Hong Kong
Mei Mei Motel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing