We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #7 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

First, I have to say thank you to all the previous reviews. Otherwise, I wouldn't have found this hotel.
Many good things have been said about this hotel, and from my experience, it's all true. Brilliant view, spacious room, and excellent services.
What I want to add is the location of the hotel. I personally think the location is excellent, especially for people who want to enjoy southern HK for beaches and hikings. It is close to a walking path directly to the Victoria Peak, which is very pleasant to walk up in a sunny day. The beaches are also close by, with a few bus stops ahead. I visit HK several times a year for business, and prefer this quiet location for personal holidays. Compared to hotels in Causeway Bay, Wan Chai or Mid-levels, it gives me a few night's peace from layers of advertisement boards and noise pollutions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    76
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
118
260
45
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my family taking 2 rooms in August 2012, the rooms were first class, breakfast included in the room price was more than adequate and well served, good choice of teas and newspapers, comfortable and very clean. This is a training establishment and everyone tries very hard and perform all the little tasks that they will forget years later but make the difference to guests. Now one of the issues with being a training establishment is that mistakes can be made and with me it was a credit card issue, the hotel has no online booking facility and you have to telephne to make a booking, this I did giving my credit card as a guarantee backing up the all with an email as the language was a barrier to spellng names etc. When I checked in I give my credit card to pay for the rooms and was told sorry it was declined, now this is not that unusual for me as travelling between diverse countres my bank often ers on the side of caution and declines payments, I paid with another card and resolved to call my bank to unblock my card. When the time difference allowed I called my bank who told me my card was not blocked and in fact they had just paid the hotel, now you would think this could be easily sorted, no such luck and it took almost a week for the hotel to sort out the issue and cancel the extra payment.
Now let me tell you the redeeming thing that happened, I ordered a taxi to the hotel to take me to restaurant in Kowloon and to cut a long story short dropped my wallet containg all my credit cards and a substantial amount of cash in the Taxi, only realising I did not have my wallet some hours later but no idea were it was, assuming I had left it in the room, imagine my delight on returning to hotel to find driver had handed it in intact and it was safe with the night manager. Well done to the honesty of the taxi driver and hotel staff, a reward was in order.
Will I return, already tried but hotel was fully booked. Go on treat yourself.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank gerrycullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

When planning a 3 day HK stay enroute home to Canada after a meeting in Sydney, the reviews of this place intrigued me so I thought I would give it a try.

Getting to the hotel is easy. Although it is not right in the central district, it isn't far away. I opted for the Airport Express to central, then took a short cab ride to the hotel. I brought along a printoff from the hotel website in case the cab driver didn't know the location, but fortunately he was familiar with it and getting there wasn't an issue for me.

Upon arrival at the lobby, the first swarm of keen, young, well groomed, novice ESL trainees descended, ensuring that I got checked in quickly and to my room. As others have mentioned, the "hotel" is just a couple of floors of a large vocational training institute. When in the lobby or on the hotel floors it is like being in a fine hotel. Occasionally the elevator opened on a lower floor, and I got a glimpse of the inner workings of a chef and hotel training school.

I had requested an ocean view room when booking and this was accommodated. My room, 602, was just down the hall from the lounge/restaurant. The view (towards Lantau Island) was stunning, and the room was appointed with every amenity and gadget imaginable (even a TV and waterproof remote in the tub area!). I enjoyed lying in bed and pressing various buttons on the "mission control" panel, controlling everything from lighting to room temperature to alarm clock. Wifi is free and easy to log on to. The room had a well stocked mini-bar, but in departure from what I have experienced in "real" fine hotels, the prices were very reasonable (e.g., bottle of very drinkable Australian wine for about $11 US).

After checking in, I decided to order room service. Before long there was a knock at my door. I opened the door to a new team of 5 trainees accompanied by their instructor. One of them, a young girl (I came to learn that the trainees are 15-18 years old), was designated to hand over the meal tray and do the talking while the others watched. In a quivering voice and broken English she said, "Good evening, here is your meal. May I put your napkin on your lap? Is there anything else you need?". With a few pointers from the instructor and an urge from him not to be nervous, the team was on their way.

I was just tucking in to my prawn caesar salad (and minibar glass of wine), when there was another knock on the door. You guessed it - yet another instructor/student team. "Good evening", the designated speaker said. "We are here for the turn down service." With my permission, they swarmed in, turning down the bed, providing bedside chocolates and slippers, and readying the shower for morning. "Good night, madam." After this crowd departed, I pressed "do not disturb" on mission control.

Breakfast (buffet style, with omelet station) was served each morning from 730-1030 am. Yet another swarm of trainees attended to business there. Although not a perfect experience (made to order omelet was undercooked one day, half eaten plate was taken away while I was at the buffet another day) any issue was quickly remedied. Just waved my arm and they would come. Breakfast area overlooks the ocean and is very nicely appointed, which added to the experience.

Getting in to town via bus is not a problem as the bus stop is right out front. Be prepared with correct change, or have an octopus card with money on it before you arrive (best solution). I had purchased a special octopus card for MTR and airport express and didn't realize I would have to charge it with funds before use on buses. I found out at the desk that I would have to walk to 7-11 for this. Instructions for getting there weren't the best (they told me cross the street and turn right, they forgot to add "and then turn left up a steep hlll to a shopping center"). Oops. Oh well, I found it eventually and luckily there was a bus depot up there.

Getting back to the hotel from central is a bit trickier as there are about a million bus routes in central. I eventually figured out to search the route on my ipad and do a screen print of where to catch the bus. Once on a bus to Pokfulam Road, get off at Pokfulam Village and cross the street to get back to the hotel.

Be aware, there aren't eating places within walking distance of the hotel. I chose to eat a good lunch when in town, and then had simple picnic fare from a supermarket at night in the room (e.g., cheese, crackers and fruit). Dessert was the "turn down" chocolate assortment of the day. Room service or a meal in the dining room is another option (not overpriced). Menu isn't huge but food is decent. They apparently have a Chinese banquet every Friday. Another option would be to eat in central, but as I was travelling alone I wanted to get back before dark. I have to say, I looked forward to my "picnics" in the tranquility of my luxurious room overlooking the sea, particularly after the hectic pace of Hong Kong.

Checking out, like every other experience at the hotel, was a pleasure. "Madame, did you empty the in room safe? Did you enjoy your stay? Thank you very much for coming." Conversations off script weren't so smooth, but it can't be easy to learn both English and the finer points of hotel service simultaneously.

Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat. I have travelled extensively, and this is one of the most unique and comfortable places I have had occasion to stay at.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank kayteeYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

You have to take the public buses to T hotel, Pok Fu Lam. Many buses from central go to pok fu lum. When u are in the bus there is a indicator to show u the next stop. When u reach pok fu lum reservoir , ring the bell, the next stop is pok fu Lum village. Cross the main road in front and the sign lead u to cuisine training school, VTC pokfuklum complex, guards are all there to guide u.
Bus no. 40, 40M, 46x, 970,97o, 973 all go to pokfuklum. I travel mostly by 40m to LAN Kwai Fong, central and return the hotel late at night. No problem, very safe.
Check in is smooth and room is spacious and the view is spectacular. When u r up the peak, u see the same view of the pokfulum side on the peak. I got a gigantic king size bed, soft linen. Fast wifi nice cookies. No tv paid channels , you got to watch live telecast at LAN Kwai fong which is a very short walk by bus.
Octopus card is very useful and travel by bus is the cheapest, no doubt very often u got stuck in the jam. MTR is the fastest but lots of walking to the trains. Best to pay HK350 a day of traveling to cover whole of hong kong by the BIG BUS of HK.

Room Tip: All rooms the same on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I recently stayed at the T Hotel when I traveled to Hong Kong for a wedding/vacation. I've traveled extensively but can never ever say I've been given the royal treatment -until now. From the moment I arrived I felt special! Even though I was traveling solo I was given spacious accommodations (bath suite with separate tub and shower, king size bed, turn down service with cookies and chocolates every evening). The view was incredible,the best of both worlds, mountain and ocean views. The breakfast was very good, the staff friendly, reliable and very welcoming. The omelet station chef remembered exactly what I liked and would offer it every morning without my having to ask. When I decided the coffee was too strong the manager came to inquire if anything was wrong and offered me a latte which took care of the rest of the trip's caffeine requirements nicely : ) I went down to the lobby one morning to request a taxi and felt like a rock star, with staff falling over themselves to accommodate me, make me comfortable, keep me updated with the taxi arrival status. I almost had to pinch myself to ensure I was not dreaming!
Some things to note: The hotel is in a quiet location, a little out of the way but makes for a restful, quiet evening. You will have to carry a card with the address for the taxi drivers to ensure you get back, and keep an eye out yourself sometimes for the Chinese Cuisine Cooking School sign so you do not pass the hotel. There is no pool either, which I know is important to some but did not bother me. They have a small gym but it is ample enough, and they also have yoga mats and free weights.
Regrets: That I never had the time to eat there, except for breakfast. I understand the food is quite good. And my only other regret is that the spa was closed. I think that would have made the stay complete perfection!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank queenie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Their service is the best we've ever received & we've been traveling for the past 12 years. Although most of them are students they give you the maximum attention. It's totally true they make you feel like a celebrity here. The concierge dept did an excellent job on helping us plan out our whole day in 30 min, on the contrary from other hotels in china who wasted 3hrs of our time just to reserve a car. This hotel is exceptional & we would definitely recommend it. No complaints here!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VivMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne, Essex, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We (my husband, son and I )have just returned to the UK after a 15 night stay at this exceptional hotel. We were visiting our daughter who lives and works in Hong Kong. The hotel comprises the 6th floor of an anonymous office building that is not well known to taxi drivers, so we suggest you print off the address and directions to get you there by cab. Once in the building the standard of decoration, fixtures, fittings and cleanliness are what you would expect from a high end hotel and the standard of service from everyone you meet surpasses any I have come across anywhere. Every staff member and trainee treats all guests like royalty, you will be greeted, doors opened, lifts called and your every request will be dealt with in a genuine desire to help in a kind and friendly manner. The rooms are large, well equipped and furnished. We had an ocean view room, with a glorious view that is shared by the deck alongside the dining room. The mini bar is well stocked and priced like a supermarket. You will have tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board, bath robes, a good room safe, free quality Wifi, international standard recharging facilities, LCD TV, including a small TV and waterproof remote in the bathroom and the best shower I have ever had in a hotel. Every evening the turn down service will leave slippers, cookies and chocolates, an ice bucket and a bath toy. All for a very reasonable and affordable price - believe me I did my research. The room price includes breakfast, unusual in itself. The breakfast buffet is extensive to suit both European/ American and Asian tastes and the service is impeccable. We ate there on several evenings at a reasonable price and while the menu was limited what we had was very good. If you stay over a Friday evening see if you can secure a table for their speciality banquet. This was held in the beautiful, traditional surroundings on the 8th floor and was a real treat, a set banquet of specialities from a region of China, Szechuan, in our case. Immaculate.
Don't be concerned that the hotel is staffed by trainees, they are very well supervised and their willingness to learn and anxiety to help more than makes up for any nervousness. Also don't be concerned by the hotel's location. There is a bus stop just on the road outside the hotel. Buy an octopus card and experience Hong Kong's cheap and effective public transport system. We used it for ferries, buses, trams and the MTR without a hitch, including at the end of our stay the A10 airport express.

Room Tip: The ocean view was glorious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 717 in Hong Kong
5,813 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 717 in Hong Kong
6,455 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#33 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,661 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,885 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Property: The T Hotel
Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing