We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable first experience of Hong Kong”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #7 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A comfortable first experience of Hong Kong”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you feel at little apprehensive about staying in Hong Kong then try the T hotel. Out of the city centre, but on bus routes, this is a quiet alternative. Being a training institution it offers real value for money. (I doubt we could have afforded room service anywhere else!) The students are eager to please -overwhelmingly so at times! The rooms are delightful. and the small, plastic bath toy adds a charmingly whimsical note. We were able to watch the black Kites circling in the valley. Some of the breakfast offerings were rather under-cooked to our taste but all was beautifully presented. The club sandwich was good and the pistachio desert a treat. Arriving late at night we took a taxi from the airport.. We had booked a ' Hong Kong greete'r tour with Amy for our first morning. She met us at the hotel with Octopus cards in hand and proceeded to show us how to use them to negotiate the excellent public transport.For an initial venture you can cross the road and walk up beside Pok Fulum village and around behind the concrete structure on the right -go down the road a bit and find the entrance to a small local shopping centre with a couple of chain style eateries and a supermarket.
Stanley Market (well worth a visit) is easily accessible by bus from the main road outside the hotel (Pok Fulum Village stop) Help yourself and the students -give the T-Hotel a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    74
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
117
255
44
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband & I recently stayed here for 5 nights during our time in Hong Kong. I read about it on Trip Advisor and, based on the reviews, decided to try it for our vacation. All I can say is it far exceeded our expectations!
We had an amazing, unobstructed view of the S. China Sea. Every morning we woke & watched the cargo ships travel through the area.
The room & bathroom were extremely clean & supplied with anything you may have forgotten (toothbrush kits, shaving kit, shoe shine kit, etc.).
We both were really happy with the complimentary breakfast. They had a diverse selection of options - soup, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, steamed buns, toast, etc, and a made to order omelet chef.
The service was very attentive & personal. As I read on a different review, keeping in mind it is a training hotel & the staff are students is important, because it is necessary for them to complete the process/task completely to learn. But, this didn't affect our stay in any way. In fact, when we moved hotels at the end of our stay to the Four Seasons, I kind of missed all the attention. :)
It is located on the western side of the island and we took buses to and from the hotel (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel gate). I noticed the MTR is being expanded, so at some point it may be really close to the hotel; otherwise, it was about a 15 minute bus ride to the Central MTR station.
If you are on a budget and want a 5 star hotel at a 3 star price - try it out!

Room Tip: Be sure and request an ocean view. I know they can't guarantee it upon booking, but if its avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinfoodie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just got back from Hong Kong and stayed at the T hotel for 7 nights . We were met on arrival by an enthusiastic troop of trainees , who were always overseen by a supervisor . They couldnt do enough for me and my wife , and were always willing to chat about where we were planning to go or had been . It was our first time in Hong Kong but hopefully not our last and i would definitely stay at the T hotel again . It is a genuine 5* establishment , the rooms are very spacious with all mod cons . Even a TV in the bathroom . The mini bar prices are so cheap , it would be a shame not to empty it every night ! . Breakfest is excellent and the veiw from the dinning room is breathtaking . The hotel isnt in the centre of HK but im not sure that i would want to be located in the centre as it is so busy , and right outside the hotel there is a bus stop and the services is so good . There must have been 10 or more buses that stop outside and we never waited more than 5 mins for one into the centre . There are 2 or 3 that go direct to Kowloon and Mong Kok. Along with 3 that go to the best bar , restaurant area that we found in HK ( Holywood rd , Soho area ) Taxis are so frequently passing and theyare very reasonable from HK town anyway

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davethejoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although there was a lack of standard facilities such as a swimming pool, limited dining variety, the hotel offered us a great experience.

Service was very attentive and personal. Being a training hotel for students, expect mistakes to be made. Its not for those who demand fast and accurate on the first try services. The trainers also spend time chatting with guest and even knowing their preference. It gave a very personal touch.

The location is not in its most convenient place, but we loved it that way. Its was like a mini country side to the flipside of the rush and bustle of activities from the downtown area. It gave a more relaxing feel after a day of activities. Moreover, its a short bus ride to the MTR stations. It is quite convenient to travel around Hong Kong Island with many bus routes available.

Would stay at this hotel again when I visit Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview. Fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

On the strength of other reviews, we booked four nights in the hotel about six months ago. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival, actually even before we arrived: bell hops saw us coming and met us well before we had reached the doors and took care of our luggage. Our room was fabulous, with an incomparable view of the Pearl River estuary. The T-Hotel is a teaching hotel and that meant that a bevy of students would come to the room in the early evening to practise turning down the bed, leaving chocolates, providing a bucket of ice, bottled water, and even small mats on either side of the bed. Buffet breakfast, with omelets-made-to order, was very good and, again, the service was impeccable. Travel information was provided (we wanted to hike up Victoria Peak and were provided with a map and instructions). If six stars could be awarded, this hotel would rate six stars. The hotel is quite easily reached from the Hong Kong airport on bus A-10 in a bit more than an hour at a reasonable HK$ 48. The bus stops on the opposite side of the road and one has to cross the road on a "zebra path" with traffic lights that are activated by a pedestrian and then walk back about 100 paces on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road and facing the water provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandererMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is very nice. Clean & welcoming. It is away from the town center, but for a $10 USD taxi ride, we found it no problem for us. Beautiful room & view. The students were very friendly. The culinary school served delicious meals. We would stay again.

Room Tip: ocean view room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I just loved the staff at this hotel. They tried so hard to please you at every step. It is a beautiful place with awesome views. We slept great, had a lovely breakfast and enjoyed every minute. I wish we could have tried the Chinese restaurant but it wasn't open during our stay. The breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious. They helped us plan our trip to Macau on the turbo jet and set up an early morning taxi pick up to take us to the Airport Express. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,717 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,384 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,831 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,616 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Property: The T Hotel
Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing