We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for money in Hong Kong”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #10 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nothing to say about the hotel : everything is perfect!
Rooms are quite large for Hong Kong ; a majority of them have the view on the see.
They are well furnished with everything you need! everyday they clean the room with attention and nothing is missing.
If you can, take a suite...for the price of a room in an other hotel in Hong Kong you will offer you a big (80 sq m) fantastic suite with drastic view on the channel!! look at the picture. The 2 best ones are 618 and 623.
If you take the bus 30X, you will be in Central in 10 min, with the other bus it takes more time.
The restaurant is quite good and really not expensive (even for wines) but the service is not so good than for the room and very slow.
Be carefull the announce the dinner until 10:00 p.m. but in fact you have to order (even the desert) before 9:30!
There is also a fitness place opens between 7:00 and 9:00 p.m. (well furnished) but no swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view or better for suite (618 or 623)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lekikidu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This training hotel has met all of our expectations, and beyond. These students are really trying their best, to assist in every way. It looks like the program is working very well, because after talking to a number of near graduates, they all have jobs lined up even before finishing their courses. As they progress through the various disciplines, their self-confidence grows and the school recognizes that by increasing their expectations as they change uniforms. The students and the school all deserve a pat-on-the-back, and in our eyes we would be back anytime. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rightside of the dining room have superb views of S.China Sea.(602-605)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank technoklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I booked our stay at the T Hotel after finding reviews of it online, and then picked-up a Lonely Planet guide and the review started with something along the lines of, "We almost don't want to tell you about this place, it's so good!". Well, I agree! It's an absolute beaut find!

My wife and I stayed at the T Hotel in Pokfulam for a week while visiting family who live in Hong Kong and we were very impressed. The staff, although young and somewhat inexperienced, were eager to please and extremely courteous! The management / trainers were at all times nearby and were also excellent in every way!

Value for money and excellent service, with clean, modern and spacious rooms overlooking the water. We had the breakfast every morning and it was superb! The laundry service, mini bar and in-room diding were all great too!

A bit out of the way from the action in Central or Kowloon, but if you don't mind the HK$60-80 taxi fare to Central, and then using the very organised and easy to use/catch MTR (trains), trams and/or ferry services, the T Hotel is definitely up there with the best HK has to offer in terms of 4-5 star accomodation!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on the eastern end near the gym, so you don't pass through the dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surftravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Received the warmest of welcomes by the reception staff. Room was spotless with stunning views across the water. Every gadget available. Excellent range of drinks at very reasonable prices. Breakfast had very good choices. The only reason not five marks is it is quite away out of town. No reflection on the pupils, tutors or hotel amenities which were superb.

Room Tip: Pay for an executive corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Permatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Room is very spacious, comfortable and well maintained. The services were amazing even they are students, humble and sincere.
The breaKfast is good and the view ja excellent, I will definitely stay at T hotel again!!!! Very good deal with this 5 stars services!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the T Hotel on the way home to Australia.
We booked the hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and wanted to avoid the hussle and bussle of Kowloon where we had previously stayed
Everything said about this hotel was spot on.
The rooms were large with panoramic views over the South China sea and the king bed like sleeping on a cloud.
The service was unbeleivable with a supervisor with the students at all times.
It started as soon as we pulled up at the front door with students opening the limo doors and collecting our luggage then lining up to bow as we entered the reception area(We felt like royalty).
On check in there were 6 trainee receptionists from there we were escorted to our room and shown where everything was and how it works.
At dinner that night we had 5 waiters 3 bar staff and 6 chefs as well as 3 supervisors.
Our bed was turned down every day with chocolates and even rubber toys left in the bathroom(we took these home to our grandkids.
During our stay we went to the top floor restaurant(only open Friday and Saturday nights) and had a traditional chinese banquet which include hairy crab which is only available one time per year.
Once again attention plus from the young staff.
Eventhough the hotel is on the other side of Hong Kong island the transport in good and cheap.
There is a bus stop a stones throw away with buses to Stanley Markets and Nathen Road with a taxi fare from Star ferry only $10 Australian.
Overall it was a great experience and I would certainly recommend everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at The T Hotel because of all the TA reviews. I started to reflect on why this is such a great hotel. It offers some insight, at least for me, what to look for in other hotels.

First and foremost, the beds are superb, the rooms incredibly cozy, totally quiet, and the security is tight. There is effective airconditioning, a separate shower and bath, wall to wall carpeting, a lof of lights controlled bedside, a safe and a magnificent view. So all in all, you will enjoy a great sleep in a comfortable and safe environment. In the end, this is what most of us want.

Second, as this is a training hotel it is a miniature version of a luxury hotel. To give you an idea the rooms have sophisticated airconditioning, lighting control, a messaging system, 24 hour room service, big minibar, 2 TVs, music station, work desk, coffee and tea making facilities, laundry and shoe shine service, a wide selection of toiletteries, a charging system for any electric current, and of course free wifi, to mention a few.

The same idea applies to the rest of the hotel. The breakfast selection is huge and they even have an omelet station. The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner is excellent, and they have an amazing selection of wines. There is a well equipped gym, a consierge service, a business center, a spa (weekdays only) and so on.

You are given tremendous attention. Yes, it is obviously not flawless, but it is honest, friendly and sincere. Since you are treated like family, you tend to respond in kind.These trainees never have a bad day, there is plenty of them, and as the number of guests is so limited (only 30 rooms), you never have to wait for anything. Whever there is something they cannot cope with, there is a teacher nearby to step in.

Everything is extremely well maintained, so everything in the rooms work, they are spotlesly clean and made up perfectly every day. To be in a school the designer has done a pretty fantastic job. The lobby is grand, so you really have the impression of arriving to a 5 star hotel, and the views from the restaurant and rooms are fabulous.

To top the whole thing you will not feel ripped off. To be honest, some of the "great" hotels of the world seem to assume that anyone who is willing to pay their prices must be insane, and can thus be threated as such. Not the case here. You can use the minibar, room service, restaurant etc without any significant consideration of cost.

Having said all this it should be obvious that the training aspect gives this hotel an "unfair" advantage. If you would try to run this as a commercially profitable operation it would obviously be impossible.

In summary, if you like small, luxurious hotels, you will love The T Hotel. Make sure you book way in advance though.








2  Thank NickNixxon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
762 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,079 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
790 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,104 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing