We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still impressed for our second visit”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #9 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We have been there again during the CNY, though the hotel location is not perfect, but this is not the big problem for us.
The staffs/trainees there are very nice and always smiling.
What I am always impressed is the welcome fruits for my second visit, thanks T hotel to giving us a memorable stay!!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a late review, i visited this hotel a year ago! It was chosen based on trip advisor reviews and its budget rate of course. The room was good size, the location was good, the bus stopped right in front of the hotel, and the food was AMAZING! I booked it through the hotel itself, and had a really good rate for a room with a view!
Would definitely go again, if i ever go back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akasmaa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Book a 7D6N stay at the The T-hotel due to the great review at Trip advisor.

Pros:
1) Service is tip top
2) Clean and huge room(especially in hongkong)
3) Free wifi
4) Reasonable price mini bar, 1 can of coke only cost 7HKD
5) 2 Tv in the rooms with mini hifi system
6) Great sea view
7) Free shuttle services from mon to fri to MTR
8) 10 mins walk to a local small shopping mall
9) Excellence room noise insulation, u will not hear anything from your neighbor

Cons:
1) Location is really out of place, u will need to take a bus or cab to get to anywhere.
2) Price of the rooms have gone up quite a bit if u compare with a few years ago
3) BF could be better.

Room Tip: Corner suites are abt 2 times the size of a normal room but they cost much more There are 6 mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chasegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had great first impressions of our 4 night stay in a standard room at the T Hotel. Having seen, stayed or lived in a number of apartments and hotels in Hong Kong over the years, the room was absolutely huge by local standards! It had a desk, lounge and a hotel-supplied cot, and even with luggage and baby paraphernalia sprawled around the room it did not feel cramped. For the first time in my many trips, I even had a water view from my room! Although it wasn't of a tranquil beach but of a shipping lane, it was still fascinating yet peaceful to sit and observe nevertheless. The room was equipped with free wifi, electronic lighting gadgetry and even a waterproof TV for the bath.

However, it didn't take long for us to realise the room was absolutely freezing and the air conditioning (i.e. heating) did not work. Hong Kong was going through an extremely unusual cold snap during our visit even for its winter, with temperatures reaching as low as 7ºC (44ºF). When the coldness in our room became unbearable, we advised the hotel. At first, we were just told to set the temperature to 28ºC (we already had it at the maximum of 32ºC) , but even then the room felt chilly. To cut a long and boring story short, by the third night we were supplied with a heater, making the remainder of our stay much more pleasant. I suspect that Hong Kong typically being muggy for 95% of the year, heating was never thought to be an issue (in this hotel or even in most residential properties!), so while the cooling aspect of the a/c works great, the heating may never have been tested or needed before! Ultimately, this issue seriously detracted from our experience of the hotel despite the continued genuine attempts by staff to resolve it, and will unfortunately be the foremost recollection of our stay. We would much rather have a room at a comfortable temperature than some of the fancy bells and whistles, as it meant we didn't sleep well and also led to concern about the health of our baby who had a small cough.

I might also add that on our second morning, a fire alarm went off at about 7:40am, which saw about half of the hotel guests scramble down the fire escape in their pyjamas while the staff barely blinked suspecting it was a false alarm, remaining calm and reassuring - hopefully the staff reaction doesn't indicate false fire alarms are a regular occurrence. After about 15 minutes, the fire alarm was switched off with our sleep cut short, but more importantly for us so was our baby's. Later that night we received a note of apology and fruit plate which was nice. We have stayed at hotels before where there were false fire alarms through the night and zero 'care factor'.

Before commenting on the service, note that the hotel stresses that it is a training facility, so expectations need to be adjusted accordingly before staying there. That said, the service we experienced was generally uneven. This was evident at breakfast when sometimes we would be left alone for most of our meal and our dirty dishes would pile up, but other times we would be overwhelmed by a lack of personal space as within 5 seconds of cutlery being out of place on our table it would be moved to its rightful, formal spot. Most of the trainee staff only understood basic English which was frustrating for my wife (I can get by with Cantonese). For example, the trainees did not know what 'peppermint tea' was even though there was lots of it in their display tea chest, and when ordering eggs I asked if 'poached' was available, but instead I was pointed to the omelette ingredients and just told that 'you can choose'. Luckily, the managers and supervisors all seemed to know what they were doing and were genuinely bilingual, although it was mildly amusing when the supervisors would train or correct their staff in Cantonese right in front of me thinking that I wouldn't understand! Minor frustrations aside, the army of trainees were all extremely friendly, well-meaning and eager to please, and would often go out of their way to help if they understood what you were wanting.

The hotel wasn't in the thick of the action in Hong Kong, but was in a nice pocket still accessible enough. It wasn't on a MTR or tram line, but there was a bus stop outside also serviced by mini-buses, with destinations linking up to all the major hubs on Hong Kong island from what I noticed. The A10 airport bus also stops outside the hotel. The Chi Fu shops are about a 5 minute walk across the road and up a hill, but apart from that there isn't much to do on foot around the hotel. It's a very short bus ride to the Queen Mary hospital or Hong Kong University if those are the purpose of your stay.

Overall, while we had quite a mixed personal experience due to the aforementioned problems (thus making this a difficult review to write fairly), most notably with the a/c in our room, these issues are arguably out of the ordinary and is possibly bad luck rather than bad management. I could imagine having a better experience and thus giving the hotel a higher rating if we had hypothetically stayed a week later when the weather was warmer and the fire alarm hopefully didn't go off. The property is good and the value unquestionable - however, just don't expect a consistent 5-star experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed there for week over Christmas with my hubby, two kids and my parents. It is difficult to stay at other hotels after our experience here.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, there were at least 10 people greeting us, helping us with luggage and checking us in. Then at least another 3-5 people escorted us to our room and showed us around. There is a security guard standing on each floor 24/7. It cannot be safer than this although I never feel unsafe any where around the hotel.

The room is big, especially in Asian standard. Well kept and we have a nice ocean view. They even prepare kid sized slippers for my children and there is always a new bath toy by the tub every night. We love the evening treats too. Since it is Christmas, we got various kinds of Christmas cookies every night.

We did breakfast once at the hotel, again the food and service were great. It is not expensive at all compared to what most North American hotel will charge for similar breakfast buffet. However for Hong Kong standard, it is on the pricey side. If you do not mind a short walk, there are lots of places for breakfast at the Chi Fu residential shopping mall, which is only a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel. You could get a decent breakfast for around $30 HK dollars compared to $120 at the hotel.

We also had Christmas dinner at the hotel on Dec 25. The food is always amazing especially the price they charge. Make sure you try their Chinese and Western restaurants too. For locals, you need special membership before you are allowed to dine there but as residents of the hotel, they welcome you all the time.

They provide laundry service too and again the price is very reasonable. However if you want to save some money, again bring your laundry to Chi Fu residential shopping mall. They charge only $50 HK dollars for 8 pound worth of clothing.

The location is totally not an issue. There is bus stop right outside the hotel and taxi is so readily available in HK and reasonably priced.

My only criticism is they do not allow quad occupany. I was travelling with my 5 and 7 year old kids and they initially told me I need to book two separate rooms. Luckily my parents were travelling too so I could put one child under their room, for the record only.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjqueenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a training hotel and the staff and students go out of their way to provide 5 star service. From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We expected to have to leave our bags and come back later for check in. But no! They knew what flight we were on and had a room ready for us to collapse in. And what a lovely room it was - very spacious and a beautiful view of the harbour.
Doors are opened, lifts are called for you, if you call someone, they are there to help you.
The food in the restaurant was exceptional. Some patience is needed at times as the students may be receiving instruction on how to provide the highest quality service. Watch closely and you might learn the correct way to open an pour the wine.
The breakfast is buffet style except for the omelette station. I prefer my breakfast cooked to order, but the buffet was quite good.
The location is the only thing that might slightly spoil this hotel. It didn't bother us because we don't like crowds, but it is quite out of the way and you have to catch a bus no matter where you want to go, which adds to travel times. But I still rate it a 5.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A really luxurious hotel with excellent service. The staff are all traing but their manners and attentin to detail are 1st class. They really can't do enough for you. Was even better than I could imagine! The views from the hotel are stunning and it's very convenient for transport The food is excellent - particularly the breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,152 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,323 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,764 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,427 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing