We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious to a fault”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #8 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Let's get any possible caveats out of the way. It is in a Southern "suburb" The view is of the innumerable container ships (some amazingly massive) to and from the South China Sea. No city lights. Not bad at all, but not a vibrant cityscape. Beyond that, it is an amazing, gracious, enthusiastic staff, both students and instructors, who want to be certain all is perfect. Hospitality in most of the world is a profession, not a temporary job while we go through college.The rooms are perfect in size. Flat screen in the bathroom that comes on every time you put the card key on the slot lo turn on the power to the room.
I cannot emphasize enough how the culture of gracious service is a part of this experience from beginning to end.
Take the A10 bus from the Airport. Get off at PoK Fu Lam Village, cross the street, the sigh is there a bit high. It is the same building as the Culinary Institute (yes, it is another benefit.)
DO GET AN OCTOPUS CARD. We wish we did. Make sure you take a business card from the Hotel so you can show someone where you need to go. Not everybody speaks or understands English, and they will nod politely, but you will end up riding some bus to the end of the line more than once. Don't panic. Hong Kong is very safe, and someone will help you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for 11 nights in October, a wonderful experience. Great friendly service from the trainees. Really good breakfast each morning with a mixture of hot and cold food and fruit and muesli, with great views to the west of Hong Kong over the shipping lanes. The T Hotel is amazing value - very large and comfortable rooms and great views. I wouldn't be put off by the location, you are still very close to Central although obviously no MTR out here, there are about 10 buses which all go into the city or a taxi is about 25 or 30 HKD and takes only 10 to 15 minutes. It's actually nice to stay away from the very centre and is peaceful and relaxing as a result. Stay here if in Hong Kong, you won't regret it

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. There is a good walking route to the peak past Pok Fulam reservoir to the Peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The T Hotel is an interesting place and my feelings are mixed. Obviously being a training hotel the staff are learning their trade, but the service is mixed. When we checked in, we were assisted by six different trainees, all enthusiastically trying to assist, but it just created confusion and delay, as no one individual was ultimately responsible, which was a frustrating experience.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic and a good price. Breakfast was good, but the trainees were trying to hard and repeatedly interrupting.
The rooms were large, clean and had interesting views of the shipping - but not of the Hong Kong sky line.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes out of town centre by taxi . I would stay at the T hotel again and would recommend this hotel, if you don't want/need to be in the city centre.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tonlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Currently sitting on balcony watching the world(shipping) go by. It has been an excellent experience as most previous reviewers concur. For the slightly adventurous it's location is not a major problem. A10 bus from the airport,half an hour journey exiting at Pok Fu Lam Village and across the road. Travel to and from the town is just as easy. Attended Chinese banquet on Friday night - 80 locals and us(!) but top class food at great price. Give this hotel and it's young students a try - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a party of 3 couples booked into for 2 nights in the T Hotel
The other two nights scheduled for Hong Kong were spent in Kowloon as we wished to see from different angles. Pity was that we were at T Hotel first
As it was so brilliantly portrayed by the staff who are students learning the skills of service and making you feel very much at home. We had arrived in the early evening and as it looked like a small journey into town we elected to try the restaurant on site and a very good choice that turned out to be too. Very fine food at very reasonable prices delivered by enthusiastic and cheerful staff obviously enjoying ‘their moment’. The rooms were very large and beautifully furnished and would have been a detectives nightmare trying to find any dust or finger prints if they were carrying out an investigation. The rooms are all on the sixth floor as the rest of the location is the college. Made our trip – probably difficult to book so commit early. You will love it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We have been there again during the CNY, though the hotel location is not perfect, but this is not the big problem for us.
The staffs/trainees there are very nice and always smiling.
What I am always impressed is the welcome fruits for my second visit, thanks T hotel to giving us a memorable stay!!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a late review, i visited this hotel a year ago! It was chosen based on trip advisor reviews and its budget rate of course. The room was good size, the location was good, the bus stopped right in front of the hotel, and the food was AMAZING! I booked it through the hotel itself, and had a really good rate for a room with a view!
Would definitely go again, if i ever go back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akasmaa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 723 in Hong Kong
6,027 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 723 in Hong Kong
643 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,019 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,283 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#24 of 723 in Hong Kong
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing