We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the experience more than the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lin Heung Kui

Lin Heung Kui
Ranked #76 of 7,925 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Go for the experience more than the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a traditional Dim Sum restaurant meaning you go in and find an empty seat (normally shared with strangers) and ladies wheel round trolleys of dim sum from which you can pick food.

Although, I enjoyed eating here it can be quite intimidating-especially given the lack of English spoken out written anywhere. The staff are friendly enough though and between my broken Cantonese and their broken English we understood each other enough to order food. We did end up taking a gamble on few dishes as we couldn't work out exactly what they were but that was all part of the experience.

I thought the food itself was fairly average. I enjoyed it as a one off but I won't be making this my regular place to come for dim sum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    169
    54
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing. ..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived early at about 7.30am with high expectations. ..but what a let down. ..selections were FEW. .have to chase after the trolleys. ..and the quality is poor. .had 3 items - cheong fun, chicken feet, and some pau wrap stuff...I think my coffee shop in Singapore serves better dim sum. Disappointing. ..

Helpful?
1 Thank VisitUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shipdham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dim Sum as it should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

There was an advert I used to see at the cinema in my youth: a jet plane would take off to the voice "you don't have to travel to India to taste the real authentic flavour of Indian cooking...", and then the scene (and sounds) would cut to the address of the local curry house, accompanied by the sniggers of those who knew better. Whilst I have eaten some good curries in the UK, I have eaten much betterin India, and I remembered this advert when visiting the Lin Heung Kui Dim Sum restaurant near to the Ibis in HK Central.
I have eaten Dim Sum in various recommended places from China Towns in New York to London, and lots of places in between. But here is somewhere really special.
I went in for breakfast, around 9, having been warned that the range might not be huge that time in the morning. The place was packed and I joined a number of locals in a table of 8. Functional, rather than pristine, would be how it looks, but if the locals approve, who cares? Smiling, pointing, nodding and shaking is the order of the day as the carts are wheeled around with various things being called out. Leaf-wrapped glutinous rice was pungent, and a number of dumpling dishes were gorgeous. A couple of meat options (we shared the lift to the second floor with a couple of buckets of ducks) were unusual in texture but amazing in taste. And a few other dishes were stunning but I have no idea what they were. All washed down with plenty of chinese tea and huge amounts of animated, noisy chatter. I only wish I was more hungry - it was breakfast, after all.
I think everyone should eat something in their lives where, even after finishing it, they have no idea what they have eaten. And if that is the case, you would be hard pushed to better this place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want a Hong Kong 'Tim Sum' experience …..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ok.. this is how i feel.. been to this restaurant twice (the last time over last weekend). Variety of tim sum is interesting as they serve quite a few traditional tim sum thats not easily found in other restaurants. Tim sum comes in push carts…. and yes..u have to rush (no queueing).. to GRAB your order! Oh.. and before that.. don't wait for the waiter to sit you.. it's almost always very crowded and u just go to where to waiter point u to (likely to join others at the same table).

As for the taste… there are better elsewhere..

To get to this restaurant.. take a MTR (HK line) and alight at Central.. take a 15 stroll to wellington street (and by the way… lots of eating places along this street..).

Go there for the Experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samfromsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome food, don't make rookie mistakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Don't let the lack of English speaking staff put you off. Head for a spare seat and prepare to be fed! Smaller selection of food early in the morning (I went at 7am), but enough to be satisfied. A guy will come ask what sort of tea you want (in Cantonese). If you hear the word "cha", just ask for "poh leh" - pretty standard sort of Chinese tea. If you want more hot water, tilt the lid of the teapot.

That big bowl of tea they pour first up is not the French equivalent of a breakfast bowl of coffee - it's to rinse your bowl & cup in (yup, found that out after I drank it - whoops...). After that it's pretty easy sailing - just point to the dishes you want when the trolleys come around. Food was delicious and fresh.

Take your card to the cashier when you're done. Oh - and they don't take credit cards - just cash or you can use your MTR Octopus card to pay too if you have enough subway credit. If you're an average eater it will cost under HKD$100 for a meal (I are about HKD$66 worth, including the bonus breakfast bowl of tea :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GizmoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lin Heung Kui also viewed

 

Been to Lin Heung Kui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing