We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to experience HK food culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lin Heung Kui

Lin Heung Kui
Ranked #79 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to experience HK food culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I rate this place 3.5 or Good but since there is no such category, I had to indicate very good.

I was there twice for breakfast over a period of 4 days because its near my hotel. Its definitely not your cleanest restaurants and crockery are also chipped etc, but that's just part of the food culture. They still have push-carts of dim sums. They have some items that one would not find back home so in terms of variety, its a lot more than Singapore. Eg the braised pig stomach in pepper was crunchy. The food is also reasonably priced.

As a Cantonese myself, I will come here over any Michelin-starred restaurants. The Hong Kong food culture is not sterile. Its a culture built up over generations. This applies also to the food that they served - which I cannot find however much I want to pay in Singapore.

The "Ma Lai Ko" here is one of the best I have ever tried. I must say I usually pass on this item during dim sum but a friend in our group wanted to try and it turned out to be so good that it was reason enough for us to return a few days later. The char siew here is also good.

Yes there are lots of other places in Hong Kong that's cleaner. But I would go back there for the atmosphere which is unmistakably Hong Kong. Everyone in my group enjoyed the food & experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KY28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    169
    55
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

So many better optionshave no idea how it gets such good reviews. Greasy, dirty, and worst of all the dumpling fillings taste very much the same. We found chuk yuen seafood restaurant on 3 connaught road to be very very good with ambiance that is much better with similar prices

Helpful?
2 Thank Bebsremote
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My most favourite breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We arrived here at 9:30 a.m. To find that it was full and there was a little bit of space left to share with another couple. First cmae the tea, and there were so many to choose from. Then came the trolley service, waiters and waitresses came round with a huge variety of Dim Sum, savoury and sweet. We were given a card which was stamped every time we selected a dish, to help work out the bill at the end. It was the most interesting and delicious breakfast I have ever had. Pork and shrimp dumplings, Crispy savoury pastries. Sweet pastries. Limitless choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Selection and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went with few coworkers, and we manage to have a good lunch within 45min spending the right amount of money. I suggest to reserve at least 2 days prior. Great dim sum. I want to try for dinner. The server level of English it is not that fluent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Go for the experience more than the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a traditional Dim Sum restaurant meaning you go in and find an empty seat (normally shared with strangers) and ladies wheel round trolleys of dim sum from which you can pick food.

Although, I enjoyed eating here it can be quite intimidating-especially given the lack of English spoken out written anywhere. The staff are friendly enough though and between my broken Cantonese and their broken English we understood each other enough to order food. We did end up taking a gamble on few dishes as we couldn't work out exactly what they were but that was all part of the experience.

I thought the food itself was fairly average. I enjoyed it as a one off but I won't be making this my regular place to come for dim sum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lin Heung Kui also viewed

 

Been to Lin Heung Kui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing