We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of M1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M1 Hotel
Ranked #310 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 11 July 2014

stayed with my husband at M1 hotel hongkong April 2013.
First night staying in M1 hotel, whole hotel was blackout from 12am-5am as there is some maintenance going on. (no aircon, no lights, no lift service. only water supply) We was only told when we arrived on the first day, but they gave us torchlight in case we need it.
Standard Hongkong hotel room size. If you dont mind staying next to coffin shops next door, this is a good hotel to stay. Breakfast was so-so. Bathroom is see thru type( you can use while watching the TV.)
Will be back to stay for next hongkong trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainbowclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

When compromise between location and the price has to be made, M1 Hotel comes to rescue. And trust me, you are going to thank yourself many times over - for choosing a good location in Hong Kong. M1 Hotel is right off strategic Nathan Road, next to MTR station, Temple Street, etc.

It's not luxurious hotel by any means, but definitely one of the better ones, by Hong Kong standards anyway. If you think the M1 rooms are small, you ether haven't traveled much in Asia, or comparing it to American standards. They used to offer free cell phones (with free calls & internet) making it pretty sweat deal overall - with that gone, it's just ok now, as far as price goes.

Staff speaks reasonably good English, was polite and helpful. And yes, hotel does have an elevator, in case you were wondering. I would not hesitate returning here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stay there for three night. Location is good. Can walk south and reach Victoria harbour or walk north toward Mongkok where lots of shopping is. Just above the Yau ma tei MTR station. Easy to take train n transfer around. Surrounding has lots of local food to taste. Only thing is the room are a bit small. Not much room to move about.

Room Tip: Get high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

By Hong Kong standards the M1 Hotel has almost spacious rooms. What was a bit irritating was that you had to walk through the shower to get to the toilet and sink in the bathroom. That's why I showered at night to have a dry bathroom the next morning. The room is equipped with free WiFi (slow connection), a flatscreen TV (only 2 English channels) and a minibar with 2 bottles of free water/day (quite nice). The bed is queen size. If you prefer a very hard mattress then this hotel for you. Unfortunately, I don't. Rooms are clean though. There was a large group of Mainlaind Chinese tourists in the hotel and my floor got quite loud for one night until 1AM. Not too good if you're in town for business and have to get up early. I was on the 26 floor (out of 27). If you have a high floor, note that the 2 elevators are quite slow. However, I never had to wait long. Can't say anything about the breakfast. When I checked in they told me it was not included in my rate and it would cost HKD 90/person. I ended up having breakfast at Kung Fu dim sum two doors down for HKD 41 for more than I could eat. Nevertheless, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePassenger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

first time to try this hotel, booked with agoda. its near to yau ma tei mtr station. if you exit "C" facing nathan road, you have to make a U turn to go to portland street.
very convenient location for walking and shopping specially at night. mongkok is just an mtr station away or go to temple street 1 block away from M1.
deluxe room dont have cabinets but has a safe and a see thru bathroom.
internet is fast, and disney, oceanpark amd other amusement park tickets are sold at the front desk.
only downside of the hotel is that they dont usually sweep the floor. aside from that, this is a cool hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MiguelOrtigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rooms were nice but really small, it is for 2 adults only + 1 kid. But i think it was alright since we were only there to sleep. Location is an advantage because it is near the MTR near the temple street, jade market etc. The reception was not good in English.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have been travelled to HK many times.
This time was a sudden trip due to my mileage will be expire within this month.
I redeemed for the ticket.

It was my first time for this hotel with a last minute deal which I can’t have it refunded.
And it was quite a pressure for me I had less than 20 hours before my flight.
But anyway, I did booked it because the hotel I used to stay were fully booked.
The ticket was just ready 2 hours before the hotel booking.

Many of M1 Hotel reviews, almost all, said “The room is very small.” “The bed is very small.”

- Beyond imagination, the hotel provide no drinking water in room for their guests.
I wasn’t sure until I called the reception next day and was informed that drinking water is not for standard room. I think it’s time for M1 to consider that drinking water is a must to have in any room. Their guests are human, thirst of water is more suffer than hunger of food.

And furthermore,
- There is no toilet rinsing spray and no dry area when you already had your bath.

I, as a traveller. I never expect much of where the place I am going to stay.
When I checked in, I lacked of sleep for over 24 hours, went to bed around 3 a.m.
and found out that the fire alarm rang at 9 a.m.
I called to see if there is something wrong, they said it was written at the reception desk
that they are having the fire alarm testing on all that day. In 10 minutes, they sent us a paper telling about the fire alarm testing thru the door. I considered this matter as a joke that the booking agency will never tell you or they will never know.

On the 2nd and the 3rd morning of my trip, I don't need the wake up call at all.
The housekeeper made it at 9 a.m. sharp right yelling on the door way.
The room next to you took control of your air con, which I have no idea what is the wall are made from. I also considered them as another joke, too. (Hahahahahahha)

I don’t know why I do not want to visit their coffee lounge on their 1st floor.
I never even stop by just to see how it look like. (The Lobby is at G floor.)

The staff are quite good if compare with the hotel itself.
They are not English native speaker, but for me, they are will to help you anyway.

And don't say the location is good, lucky the Hong Kong City have a very good transportation, the MTR cover almost all the area.

I used to get much, much better room and spaces at the same price on adequate location.
Three nights at this hotel is Whooooa !!!

Room Tip: I don't think they have good management policy, that's why the hotel room come out like that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamParami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#121 of 726 in Hong Kong
287 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#210 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Silka Seaview Hotel
#180 of 726 in Hong Kong
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#204 of 726 in Hong Kong
117 reviews
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#374 of 726 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#79 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M1 Hotel

Address: No.28 Portland Street, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £54 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your M1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M1 Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing