We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As small as it gets but great! ”
Review of M1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M1 Hotel
Ranked #282 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“As small as it gets but great! ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel room is very clean but very small. Smallest room I have stayed that is meant for 2 adults. There is a bay window area for one big luggage and that is it. My hubby and I both have one big luggage each plus our 10 yr old son travelled with us. No extra charge for him. They even provided pillow and blanket for him as we converted the bay window area into a bed for him which is quite comfy, at least for him. This means we have no more area for our luggages except for the narrow walkway between the beds and walls. We climbed over the luggages over 3 days of stay there. It's really not for the claustrophobic. On the plus side, it is very clean, well managed, friendly staff who refused my tips saying it's hotel policy. The location is great as it is near food places and the night markets. We will stay there again if it's just the two of us.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daffy_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    73
    48
    14
    18
See reviews for
29
58
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room is extremely small and the staff is not too friendly. Also, the cleanness can be improved. Requested to change the sheets but it was never done. The wifi doesn't work too. Way over rated for it's 4* rating. They also don't replenish the shampoo and other items.

Room Tip: Just skip this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReccaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked 4nites stay end up second nite we checked out@11.30pm.The hotel just label their own cost&charge guest not in the policy.Worst is the housekeeping supervisor is gangster, quarrel with us.Hotel small & cramp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenechua70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

stayed with my husband at M1 hotel hongkong April 2013.
First night staying in M1 hotel, whole hotel was blackout from 12am-5am as there is some maintenance going on. (no aircon, no lights, no lift service. only water supply) We was only told when we arrived on the first day, but they gave us torchlight in case we need it.
Standard Hongkong hotel room size. If you dont mind staying next to coffin shops next door, this is a good hotel to stay. Breakfast was so-so. Bathroom is see thru type( you can use while watching the TV.)
Will be back to stay for next hongkong trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When compromise between location and the price has to be made, M1 Hotel comes to rescue. And trust me, you are going to thank yourself many times over - for choosing a good location in Hong Kong. M1 Hotel is right off strategic Nathan Road, next to MTR station, Temple Street, etc.

It's not luxurious hotel by any means, but definitely one of the better ones, by Hong Kong standards anyway. If you think the M1 rooms are small, you ether haven't traveled much in Asia, or comparing it to American standards. They used to offer free cell phones (with free calls & internet) making it pretty sweat deal overall - with that gone, it's just ok now, as far as price goes.

Staff speaks reasonably good English, was polite and helpful. And yes, hotel does have an elevator, in case you were wondering. I would not hesitate returning here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stay there for three night. Location is good. Can walk south and reach Victoria harbour or walk north toward Mongkok where lots of shopping is. Just above the Yau ma tei MTR station. Easy to take train n transfer around. Surrounding has lots of local food to taste. Only thing is the room are a bit small. Not much room to move about.

Room Tip: Get high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

By Hong Kong standards the M1 Hotel has almost spacious rooms. What was a bit irritating was that you had to walk through the shower to get to the toilet and sink in the bathroom. That's why I showered at night to have a dry bathroom the next morning. The room is equipped with free WiFi (slow connection), a flatscreen TV (only 2 English channels) and a minibar with 2 bottles of free water/day (quite nice). The bed is queen size. If you prefer a very hard mattress then this hotel for you. Unfortunately, I don't. Rooms are clean though. There was a large group of Mainlaind Chinese tourists in the hotel and my floor got quite loud for one night until 1AM. Not too good if you're in town for business and have to get up early. I was on the 26 floor (out of 27). If you have a high floor, note that the 2 elevators are quite slow. However, I never had to wait long. Can't say anything about the breakfast. When I checked in they told me it was not included in my rate and it would cost HKD 90/person. I ended up having breakfast at Kung Fu dim sum two doors down for HKD 41 for more than I could eat. Nevertheless, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePassenger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#123 of 717 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#201 of 717 in Hong Kong
804 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#171 of 717 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#167 of 717 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Mong Kok
Hongkong MK Hotel
Hongkong MK Hotel
#422 of 717 in Hong Kong
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M1 Hotel

Property: M1 Hotel
Address: No.28 Portland Street, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — M1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your M1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M1 Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing