We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Amazing staff, great facilities, well thought out and considered hotel, comfy beds, quiet room, superb food, great service,not just a satisfied customer but a FAN!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,697
    632
    103
    17
    18
See reviews for
804
2,564
339
899
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Amazing design both on the exterior an the interior, and in a very convenient part of town, the Icon deserves to be an icon. A 10-minute walk will get you to the Avenue of the Stars, where luckily the turban-clad gang of "you-have-a-lucky-face" intimidators seem to have been removed. (long story, but ask anyone who has been the Avenue of the Stars prior to 2010, and they will be able to enlighten you), and from there on in, you are in the thick of Kowloon.

Rooms are spacious, clean, well designed, clean, well equipped, clean, have comfortable beds and did I mention that they are clean? Stayed on the 25th floor with access to the "Above and Beyond" executive facilities. Ate breakfast there two days; you can order from a menu as well as eat from the buffet. On the second day the buffet became quite bare by 0940, and it didn't seem to be replenished until just before closing time at 1000 which seemed a bit odd. Breakfast downstairs was superb, both as regards to quality and choice. Didn't try the afternoon tea, but did try cocktail hour where there was an excellent choice. Which takes me to the classical music. There it was, ever present, slightly to dominating and loud, both at breakfast and in the evening. I actually found it a bit depressing, rather like being in Arkhangelsk on a cold, dark, rainy morning in November. I don't need or want cultural infusion at breakfast time - I need coffee. There seems to be noise everywhere in Hong Kong, so it would be interesting to know if other guests think it might be a good idea to cut out the enforced music at breakfast.

Service is generally faultless. As I had a flight leaving at 0210, I paid for a late checkout at 6pm. this cost 50% of the usual room rate. The plan was to get some sleep during the afternoon, and take a shower before leaving. Despite the "Do not disturb" light being on, housekeeping rang (on the phone) at 4pm to say that they could not service my room because the do not disturb sign was on. Check the times: it was 4pm, and I was going to check out at 6pm, so i don't understand what they were going to achieve with a service at that time. Needless to say, I had been asleep for 10 minutes when they rang, and that was that. no more sleep. The shower didn't go too well either; there was no warm water, so my shower ended up being a wash in the sink. I hope a bit more experince will help them iron out these small problems, because they really do try hard and have really achieved a lot in the short space of time they have been open.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vardomannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

First time I have stayed here. So new and fresh and the attantion to detail is amazing including free internet and free mini bar! (no alcohol). The gym and pool were suberb with views over the harbour. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halesy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

A friend and I stayed here in mid-June while we were attending a conference in Hong Kong. We were impressed with the hotel from the very moment we arrived. The exterior is gorgeous, and the interior is so luxe. It was really easy to reach from the Hong Kong airport, especially with the free shuttle from the subway as described on the hotel website.
The room was extraordinary. We were upgraded for free to a harbour view room, and it was stunning! The small details throughout the place were exceptional, from the comfy slippers and bathrobes to the free snacks in the mini-bar. Service was wonderful from every staff member we encountered -- and everyone spoke English very well.
Because the hotel was in the soft opening phase, we got a great discounted rate. That also meant that they was a little bit of work being done in the hotel at times, like retiling certain parts of the lobby floor. But this honestly caused us no inconvenience.
I would strongly recommend the Hotel ICON. Great price, comfortable rooms, lovely service!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsiaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The ambiance, the friendliness and hospitality of the staff, the location, the Hotel itself is modern, yet the people and staff are the ones making his hotel a true ICON. They have well trained and knowledgeable staff members that makes this hotel great. The location is close proximity to The Rosary Church and the room....hay.... Is heaven :) Super modern with touch of modern style and the king size bed is super comfy :) Plus with complimentary drinks in house, what else could you ask for? If you would like to stay in a 5 star hotel, this is the place to be... Hotel ICON in Hongkong. Oh and the view from the 21st floor is truly amazing... If i can just stay for another week, i will! So modern yet elegant. A must place to stay in HK.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Choosy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed at Hotel Icon for 3 nights. Currently, the hotel is having a opening special where you stay for 2 nights and the 3rd night is free.

We enjoyed our entire stay at the hotel, right from the time we checked in till we checked out. The staff were courteous, greeting us in the morning when we leave the hotel and in the evening when we returned to the hotel. When our hands are full of shopping stuff, the helpful staff would help us to press the lift buttons for us. As for the room, it is very clean and spacious considering the standard of Hong Kong hotels.

The highlight of our stay was a birthday cake that was placed in our room the night before we checked out. Although my husband's birthday fell on the following day (the day we checked out), Hotel Icon was very thoughtful to place a cake in our room, complete with a candle. It even prepared a birthday card with signatures from the management staff.

We will return to this hotel for our next visit and we probably consider getting the Club room to pamper ourselves after hearing the good comments from this website.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed here for 4 days with my husband and 2 kids almost 2 weeks ago. We stayed in a Club 36 room with Above and Beyond Club Privileges. It was a fantastic stay.

Location-wise, the hotel is in the city but not actually in the center of the main shopping district. Hence, you have the privilege of being very near the place of action though not necessarily in the middle of it. Yes, you'd have to walk leisurely about 10-15 mins to get to the nearest mall or MRT station but at least, you get a little more peace and quiet and you don't have to deal with crowds and vendors bugging you as soon as you exit the hotel doors. Just be sure to take the hotel card (with the map) with you to show the taxi drivers as they may still not be too familiar with this newly opened hotel.

The hotel itself is very new with ultra-modern and tastefully-designed decor and facilities so it is everything you'd expect from a 21st century hotel...simple but elegant, minimalist yet very artistic...and oh so immaculately clean. The view from our room was breath-taking. We had a partly city and partly harbour view, so we could see the best of both worlds from our 25th floor room. The room was quite spacious compared to HK standards, with hygienic and comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom was unique and a statement in itself...with curved, transparent glass shower rooms drenched by a huge rainshower and a separate deep soaking tub. We also loved the daily semi-buffet breakfast and afternoon tea at the chic and relaxing Above and Beyond Lounge, which my kids really enjoyed. Finally, the friendly and very accomodating attitude of the staff capped this very pleasant and memorable experience.

In summary, if you'd like an ideal combination of good location (at least close to the city center) + five-star ambiance + reasonable rates + clean and ultra-modern facilities + superb customer service, you will finally find it here at the Hotel ICON. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tweenshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,063 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing