We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel ICON
Nearby Hotels
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotel Direct
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$682
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$561
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,544)
Filter reviews
6,544 results
Traveller rating
5,667
725
116
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,667
725
116
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barvertical gardentimeless loungeclub suitepolytechnic universitym msfree international callsharbour viewtraining hoteltop flooramazing hotelshuttle busfree smartphonepool and gymmobile phoneour honeymoonnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
4,986 - 4,991 of 6,544 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel is quite new and the design is just gorgeous. Every detail is well thought and very tasteful. Some features we loved especially: the pool with harbour view, the vertical garden at the lobby, the view in the room (harbour view room), the circular bathroom. The top floor Above&beyond restaurant and lounge is very romantic. The settings are just perfect. The staff were very attentive and helpful at any time. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are definitely worth to pay for. Wake up with the gorgeous view!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I like the hotel, it is stylish and simple. I believe the hotel employees are students of a university hotel management course where part of their studies is actual hands on performing the day to day routine operations.

We stayed in a Club level room and we were escorted to the check in on the upper floor and everything was quite efficient.

The club floor restaurant was a disappointment for morning breakfast. Not many options for food variety. My girlfriend wanted dim sum which was not available. However, they did bring from another area of the hotel but it was a twenty minute wait. Come to find out that they have a much better place to eat near the ground floor call the Marketplace. Was not informed upon check in but we made it our every morning spot for breakfast the remaining six nights.

The rooms a nice and include free mini bar/snacks which is an plus. Bathroom is nice, but the poor shower design means water on the floor. The need to think of a better idea.

One day, we went out for the day and inadvertently left the do not disturb displayed. Upon arrival in the evening, the hotel sent two persons to clean the room for us when we return. Thumbs up!

We had a nice view of the harbor from our room. Make sure to check out the harbor light show every evening at 2000/8PM. I understand that the show is coordinated with a musical selection on local radio stations, but the room had no clock radio to tune in to.

Location is nice, it is about a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest train stations. It is a bit easy to get turned around and end up in a different direction than originally intended so get a local map and pay close attention to it.

Pros: Nice rooms, hotel is immaculate, good location, Marketplace restaurant has awesome breakfast buffet.

Cons: Show design water leaks, no radio in room, not informative enough about hotel features/amenities on check in, exorbitant prices for launtdr service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomnativenewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Hotel Icon was rated #1 on TripAdvisor a few weeks back when I booked my trip. It is no wonder it was in that position. The hotel is sleek, modern, and with great design. If you stay here you must stay in one of the Club Level rooms with a Harbourside View. The views are outstanding and you have access to numerous advantages : breakfast included, access to Club level with drinks and such.

To be honest, when we first entered the room my wife and I were underwhelmed. Modern and contemporary designs sometimes lack the feeling of "comfort", but it didn't take us long for the very clever design to win us over and provide great comfort as well. The bed faces the large window with the view of the harbour. Bathroom design is very clever with a tub and shower all in one enclosure, yet at the same time separate. All the amenities are there, including a FREE mini bar.

The pool on the 5th floor is an infinity pool with unsurpassed views of the city and harbour. The gym also has the same and is very modern and with good equipment.

Now on to the best feature of this hotel....the breakfast buffet at The Market. I have travelled the world and stayed at some very nice places, but NOWHERE have I seen a buffet like this. The title "The Market" sums it up. You have access to everything at this expansive buffet that has freshly prepared foods from various cuisines and all displayed beautifully. I can't say enough about this place.

The hotel is next door to the Hotel Management School and the Hotel Icon is a government project using the hotel to teach management and service. All the employees come from this "project" providing a staff that speaks very good english and amazing service.

I like to try different hotels when going back to the same locale, but I have to say that the next time I visit Hong Kong, I WILL be returning to the Icon.

Room Tip: Choose Club level 38 harbourside
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is the most luxury hotel I ever been. Everything is done to make it comfortable. We booked a harbour view club room with access to the club-level which is great and worth the price. Cocktails are great and they even warn you when the free-cocktail time is almost over, so you can order one last drink. Prices are reasonoble comparing to other 5 star hotels in Hong Kong. Breakfast is superb with splendid views over the Hong Kong skyline. Staff is with no exceptions great!
One small thing of critic: why did they put the bar in the club lounge at the window-side so a good part of the excellent view is gone? Location is not top-level, but MTR at 5-10 min. walking distance, harbour promenade is about 20 minutes walk as is Nathan Road, but as taxis are cheap in Hong Kong this is no big deal.
Absolutely recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more for Harbour View
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralph1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelICON, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Eindhoven,

Thank you for having selected Hotel ICON. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Hong Kong.

Above & Beyond Club rooms are one of the most favorite room types in our hotel because of the extra values provided. Located on the top floor and with the magnificent Victoria Harbour view, a lot of our guests love to stay at the club lounge for evening cocktails during the evening time. The bar area in the club lounge is located near the window since it’s covering a structural column. This provides a more specious lounge area for our guests.

Hope to see you again soon at Hotel ICON.

Regards,

Janet Wu
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Pros:

- Clean, contemporary decor, lovely colour scheme and 'live green' wall at reception.
- Our standard ICON 36 room was so spacious we could've swung a teenaged lion around in it.
- Bathroom had a 3/4 size tub and a separate shower area (though there's a big BUT about this - more below).
- More-than-decent toiletries: a padded pouch in the bathroom included sturdy toothbrushes with whitening toothpaste etc.
- The firmish king-size bed was comfy. More importantly, it wasn't a queen masquerading as a king.
- The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

Cons:

- Large rainforest showerhead + glass panel in shower that only extends two-thirds of the way across the shower entrance = very wet bathroom floor after every shower.
- Not a fan of the Leonard Paris shampoo and shower gel provided. Actually, they might even be the same product put into different tubes, given their similar bluish hue and watery consistency.
- The hotel is a bit of a walk from central TST and about 15/20 mins walk/stroll from the Star Ferry terminal. Still, if the weather is cool, it's a very pleasant walk and you can choose to go through either TST's streets or along the waterfront.
- As one reviewer mentioned, security isn't great - no key card is required to access the room floors and there's only one 'bouncer' watching people going in and out of the lifts.

Etc:

- Have stayed at more than a few hip hotels and Hotel ICON is one of the rare ones with service as warm as the decor is cool. Corny but true! Incidentally, the hotel design and style of the staff uniforms is somewhat reminiscient of the W in Hong Kong, which I don't think delivers as much value in terms of service, location (unless you want to be close to the Airport Express), room extras. Would pick this over the W anytime!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaconTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews