We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I honestly can't say one bad thing about this hotel. It is beautiful, the staff are incredibly nice and accommodating, unbelievable view of Hong Kong from the restaurant on the 28th floor. Even going to the gym was incredibly enjoyable with stunning views of te city and spectacular facilities. Yes, cannot use too many superlatives for this one!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannaSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,848
    642
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
824
2,642
349
933
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Location: As it was persistently raining during my stay, I didn't walk to take the MTR which I think is within walking distance. But taxis are easily available at this hotel. The hotel is located in Kowloon and near the tunnel which makes it a short drive from the main shopping areas on Kowloon and Hong Kong Island.
Room: I LOVE the Club Room - it's spacious (which is a luxury in Hong Kong), stylish, nice view of the city with a glimpse of the ocean (for my room); I liked lounging in the rocking chair next to the window and enjoy the view; the room includes free mini bar which includes beverages and snacks; nespresso; TV in front of the bathtub so I can enjoy my favorite channel while soaking in the bath; rain shower; free wifi; and a huge bed. The added benefit of staying in the Club Room includes breakfast at the Above and Beyond lounge. They serve eggs prepared in various different ways ala carte style. It also includes cocktails and afternoon tea at the lounge.
Service: Staff are generally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try the 360 Club Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milkcandies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

From the moment I made first contact with hotel to the time of check-out, I only had pleasant experiences with Hotel ICON. I will definitely be staying here for future trips to HK. At the time of check-in I was upgraded to a club floor room (although no Club privileges) on level 26. The view from the ICON 38 Harbour View room on this club floor was awesome. While it did not directly face central Hong Kong, the layout of the room with the huge King bed facing the floor-to-ceiling window more than compensated. The room was spotless, and featured a free Minibar with M&Ms and plenty of drinks and a Nespresso machine, which were all very welcome after a day out in the city. I also enjoyed 'Green' - the cafe in the lobby. It has a really cool feel to it, and while the menu does not have huge variety, it's always a great place to chill out after a big day. Not enough can be said about the service in this hotel - always being greeted with a smile and staff genuinely go that extra mile to make your stay as perfect as possible. Location is quite good - it is about a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of TST. I would recommend catching a taxi to areas in TST, as they are very cheap (approx $20HKD or ~$2.50 AUD for a ride to the Star Ferry Terminal or Harbour City) over using the hotel shuttle bus. Perhaps my only criticism would be of the shuttle bus, as I could not see any defined stops and pick-up points, so I opted for taxis which were always readily available at the front of the hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend Hotel ICON - there is no need to look any further for an ultra-modern hotel with great value for money, cleanliness, excellent service and good location. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for an ICON 38 Harbour View room - the layout of the room makes it feel larger than the ICON 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I travel to Hong Kong once yearly and I typically stay at hotels with small rooms (relative to hotels in the West), poor wireless, poor room service, etc. My recent stay at Hotel Icon defied my concept of what hotels in Hong Kong could be. This hotel was ultra-modern, very user-friendly, and the rooms were AMAZING! The rooms were large with a very comfortable king size bed and duvet. The desk was large (largest I've ever seen actually). The chair near the window was modern and the most comfortable chair I've ever sat in in a hotel room. The bathroom was HUGE - with a deep tub (albeit narrow) and a great shower. Sleeping at this hotel was a joy. And that's not all - the rest of the facility was amazing. The outdoor pool looked over Hong Kong harbor and was amazing. The exercise room has the same view and was amazing. Room Service was amazing (and very reasonably priced). If at all possible, I will always stay at Hotel Icon when visiting Hong Kong in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeShultees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was a great surprise to find an excellent service and a very modern, spacious and comfortable room with spectacular view. I booked this hotel when almost all other hotels where I used to stay in HK were full and found everything excellent and reasonable prices for HK.

The staff is friendly and spontaneous, except on the 28th floor bar during the daytime. The 28th floor bar is great when traveling alone for business with some complimentary food and drinks. The room service was eatable as far as I remember.

Really appreciated the club room with the large bed and the modern amenities. The location was not so good, a little bit difficult to find by foot, but no problem when traveling with taxi or driver most of the time.

I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: club rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We needed to stay in East Tsim Sha Tsui and we picked Hotel ICON as we believe it is the newest hotel in the area.

The location is great. There are loads of restaurants nearby. Hong Kong Coliseum, Museum of History and Science Museum are all within walking distance. The hotel provides shuttle service to Middle Road and Harbour City in TST every 20 minutes. If you intend to travel around HK by MTR, the station is 5-10 mins' walk.

The hotel itself was clean and new. The room was spacious and spotless. Toiletries and amenities such as slippers, bathrobe and toothbrush were provided. Drinks in the mini-bar and Wi-fi were free, which was a bonus.

Last but not the least, the staff in the Front Desk, Concierge and the restaurant on the ground floor were very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel with amazing views and modern comfortable rooms.
Ideal for business the pool is a little small if you have time off...
Beware the bars close early at 11.30 so find a quiet local!
Great spa with lovely staff!
This is a good all rounder for business or pleasure!
Will be back

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,292 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,854 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing