We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th Stay at this Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #4 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“4th Stay at this Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is my 4th stay at this property rooms are still excellent, i have remove one star , why?
Wi-Fi did not work properly in the rooms keeps going down , the people are not friendly like before and house keeping very poor not clean enough, overall its still one of my fav hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henson_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,593
    625
    101
    17
    18
See reviews for
788
2,503
329
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Have stayed in many many hotels around the world and this hotel is the BEST!!! The service from the moment we pulled into the drive way was polite, friendly and efficient. We splashed out and stayed in a club room which meant we were whisked off to the top floor for a personal checkin. We had green tea and fresh cold towels while filling in forms etc.
Had a great room for three days that had been very well thought out and the views were breath taking. The mini bar was included and stocked daily. Breakfast was also included and was an experience in its self. It's AMAZING! They have their own bakery in the restaurant, fruit bar with freshly squeezed juice. A cold and hot buffet filled with a great variety of both European and Asian food. Two chefs cooking eggs however you want them.
Cocktails were at 6 till 8 every night on the top floor looking out over Hong Kong island and you could have as many as you liked. Afternoon tea was from 4pm and although we didn't have any were told by others it was very good.
Had dinner one night and again the service and food were better than we'd ever had in a hotel.
Special thanks to the concierge who were fun, a little cheeky but very helpful.
Stay here if you can, it's well worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room, as it works out the same price as a normal one with breakfast and cocktails etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grooveykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBrunswick,Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We did china tour in july. Visited Hong kong in August .Booked this hotel after checking the reviews in Tripadvisor. Lived up to expectations. Recommend the harbour view, well worth the extra charge. You can enjoy the fireworks right from the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend harbour view. Book in advance to get cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RexEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

More, Club from hell. I spend about 60 nights a year in 5 star places, always at Club level, and have never experienced worse. It was overcrowded, with mediocre food that looked and tasted like a poor quality deli, calm-destroying night club style music pumping out at a volume that precluded conversation, and a decor dreamt up by a hyperactice 8 year old. The crowning touch was a table at ancle height next to our (uncomfortable, but normal height) chairs. Perfect for putting feet on, but they shared it with drinks and food. The room was noisy, the expensive harbour view mostly of roof tops, and the room was cramped. It had one bath towel. When I pointed this out, instaed of an apology, the question was: Did we want two? Of course the promised newspaper did not turn up in the morning, but by that stage I was past caring.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 112358-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelICON, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear 112358-12,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel ICON. As an establishment who strives to exceed each and every one of our guest’s expectations we are sorry that on this occasion we have not fulfilled your requirements.

You specifically commented on our hotel Club lounge design and atmosphere. As I am sure you can appreciate, architecture and interior design will be perceived differently by each and every individual who encounters it. Our decor is contemporary and bespoke and although that may not be suited to your personal taste, the majority of our guests choose to stay at our hotel for the interior design alone. Our website is very visual in showing our guests exactly what each space looks like in order to help them to make an informed choice.
It is unfortunate that you found our staff's choice of response to your towel request inappropriate; we have taken your views into consideration and have briefed them accordingly.

We appreciate any feedback from our customers, so we are unsure as to why you did not approach any of the management team regarding your dissatisfaction.
We cannot deal with any problems if they are not brought to our attention. We would have been more than happy to deal with these issues had they been mentioned.

We value your custom and are sorry that you felt a disservice from us on this occasion.
All of your points have been taken into account and we will address each one of them.

Thank you for your feedback

With warm regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Hotel ICON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Harbour front hotel with a modern stylish look. Rooms have all the necessities of life. Go the extra dollar and treat yourself to the Harbour view room. The Club floor upgrade guarantees you acess to a buffet breakfast, afternoon teas, nibbles and top floor bar. The Harbour view room is a joy to wake up in and at night you can watch your own personal Harbour light show as you rest your weary feet.

Room Tip: Club floor is definitely worth it when you consider breakfast is included. We could not find anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotel Icon has got to be the best value for menu 5 star hotel in Hong Kong! We stayed for 3 nights in the Club 38 rooms, with a view of HK Island. The service from arrival to departure was first class, friendly and at all times professional. The room was great, though not the largest and it could do with more shelving/drawer space. The room was still very comfortable, excellent bed, great amnesties and a few nice touches like the free mini bar and quality coffee machine. We enjoyed breakfast in the Market Place and the Above and Beyond Club lounge. First class. Highly recommend, we will return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank n1spm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Despite a few minor quibbles, our 4 night stay in Club 36 Harbour view room (a must!), was excellent. The staff,although training,could teach hotels of higher reputation and price a thing or two about service quality. Always positive and genuinely thankful if a small mistake was corrected. The perks of Above and Beyond are worth the extra cost of a Club room: Exceptional buffet breakfast ( with a menu), afternoon tea, and cocktail hour; the minibar which was replenished daily; the pool and gym of a superior quality; a printer in the room with various useful office supplies. The icing on the cake (so to speak) was the surprising delivery of a birthday cake and personally signed card by the Above and Beyond staff without our having told them of the event. Such details of service are 'Above and beyond' expectations. I will stay at Hotel Icon again and again if this level of attention continues to be shown. Excellent!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing