We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not seeing double ...”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #3 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A wonderful hotel that is new and have well trained staffs. And yes, the mini bar is free ... finally, a hotel that don't charge you for the mini bar.

The room is clean. The bed sheet is fresh. Even the TV remote is sanitized. Fitness room has great view, high end equipments and fresh tower.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank PJONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear PJONG,
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me to make a booking in the future.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,412 - 3,418 of 6,129 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

How frequent does one gets WoW when our expectation rise with high ratings? Not to mention that I travel a fair bit... How do we express WoW with words, I wonder? How do I translate exceptional, fantastic, superb and wonderful to feelings about the awesomeness of our stay at ICON...... One of the must do: reserve way way way in advance, dinner buffet at The Market (Hotel's Restaurant), please check out the wine buffet too, totally enjoyed! 5 days were not enough for my wife, 2 kids and I. We were staying at the gorgeous Club Suite 65 and definitely will be back to experience WoW with the staffs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_EZ_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Travel_EZ_2013,
We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future.
Feel free to drop me an email if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We usually stay at a particular 5-star hotel in Mongkok whenever we are in Hong Kong but this time we decided to try Hotel Icon based on the TripAdvisor rating. We were not disappointed!

Service was good from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The room was lovely being tastefully furnished and well designed. The in-room safe was actually located inside a drawer - cool! Room size was also adequate. Unlike most hotels, the mini bar was free and stocked with water, fruit juices, Coke, beer and M&Ms. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The room was clean and housekeeping did a good job every morning.

We ate at Green on the ground floor. The food was nice although the menu was not very extensive. Room service menu was quite good.

Wifi was free but we experienced continual dropped connections which was quite irritating. While the bathroom design was very avant-garde, some things were not very practical like the tap levers located away from the sink which meant a perpetually wet counter top. Location was a little off from the Tsim Sha Shui MTR station. The hotel provides a shuttle bus service but it comes every 20 mins. Factoring this together with the time taken for the journey, it may be faster to walk to the MTR Station especially during the evening peak hours (that is, if you don't mind walking).

Notwithstanding the few negatives, this hotel is still fabulous! It does deserve its TripAdvisor rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear innman,
Thanks for reviewing ICON.
Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With best wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hotel ICON has become my home-away-from-home in Hong Kong. Mr. Richard Hatter (GM) and his exceptional team continuously raise the bar when each visit.

Love the people, the entire staff is friendly and always go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome!

Love the rooms, spacious from the standard to the most deluxe and impeccably clean. The free mini bar and Nesspresso machine (always stocked with my favorite coffee pods) have become an integral part of my stay! My recent stay was in the Club Suite 80 room (see photos).

Love the Above & Beyond lounge, this is one of the nicest hotel lounges serving the finest cocktails from the 28th floor with a spectacular view of the harbour. Breakfast is also served here and a great way to tart a hectic day in HK.

This might be my 3rd or 4th or 5th review of this hotel and each time it just gets better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nadzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Nad,
Thank you very much indeed for the fantastic review.
We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you in Janauary 2014!
Happy Holidays!
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The high ratings for this hotel is not exaggerated. Firstly, when we arrived early, as our rooms are not ready, we were shown to a rest area with leaning couches/chairs and free drinks. These drinks include sodas, nesspresso coffee, nice tea bags or just simply water. Then, when our rooms were ready, the staff would automatically deliver the luggages to the room and collect us from the rest area to show us to the room. The room was spacious, with a rain shower, a bath tub with a mini tv and a free minibar as well as a nespresso machine! If you are on a business trip, there is also a printer, with a stationary box (highlighters, pens, post-it notes) for one's convenience.

We were upgraded to a Harbourview room which was nice. One can see across the harbour to view HK's skyline and wake up to nice sunrises. In addition, if you are back early enough in your room, about 8pm to 8.30pm, you can even watch the Symphony of Lights (minus the music of course) from the comfort of your own room!

Cons: The hotel is a little out of the way from the MTR station of Mongkok area. The hotel does provide free shuttle services, but this is every 20 mins. In addition, the room service menu is a little limited for the nighttime (supper time).

However, all else considering, this is still a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms on high floors. You can't go wrong. The view is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addict4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Addict4travel,
I am extremely pleased to read that you were satisfied with your choice of hotel for your Hong Kong stay and that we at Hotel ICON provided excellent services and facilities. Our Management and staff appreciate your compliments and pleased that they were able to assure you this was an excellent choice of hotel to add to a memorable visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Hong Kong. Do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room here.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just returned from 6 nights at the terrific Icon Hotel. I booked the Hotel because of the recommendations on here and it deservedly earns a top spot.

As it was for a special occasion we paid for a club 38 harbour view room. Firstly the room then the "extras". We were in room 2510, and the view was outstanding. Waking up every morning to a brilliant sunrise and the view across the harbour, then going to bed at night with Hong Kong all light up will be memorable. It was spacious well equipped and a free mini bar

Included in the room rate was a laundry allowance which was utilised and nightly cocktails from 1800 to 2000 in "Above and Beyond". Champagne and Singapore slings were the order of the day yum.

A special mention must go to the hard working staff who cater for your every whim and have an uncanny knack of being in the right place at the right time to help you as well as anticipating what you actually want. It would be unfair to single one person out as I would need to list a dozen names. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The staff are the epitome of politeness. I could go on about the services they offer but you catch the gist, Would I got back definitely, would I recommended it - without reservation. Experience it yourself you won't be disappointed. There are plenty of reviews on here about the services so I won't repeat them all here

Room Tip: Harbour view room is a must. You cannot travel this far and not get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear JonAngie,
We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way. We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.
Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a nice room for you.
With best personal regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stunning hotel. You will not find a better hotel in Hong Kong. Rooms are stunningly good, superb finishes to everything. The rain shower and baths with TVs in are brilliant. The staff could not be better, really helpful and happy to help with anything. Great location too, cheap cab ride to wherever you want to go. Really have only positive things to say.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to get great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Simon G,
Thank you for your post and positive feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our location great, our team very helpful and the room to be of a high standard. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Please feel free to email me directly to make a booking.
Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
842 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,647 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,146 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £170 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing