We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“immaculate service and a culinary gem”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Been twice to the icon hotel. The first time we were upgraded to the club room without the benefits, meaning dining at the market and not at the lounge. Due to last minutes change of planes we returned to Hong Kong and had to take the club room for real. Many people recommend paying for the club rooms, reading made no sense to us at the time, but boy, oh boy, it does make all the difference! Dinning in The market is o.k., even better then o.k., but dinning in the lounge – it is a whole different experience – The quality of the service and the food is, indeed, above and beyond expectations. Superb quality of patisserie, canapes, and drinks plus the view of the harbor and the cozy atmosphere. It is such a pressure relief knowing you are going to come back from a long day of walking and climbing, not having to worry about food – afternoon tea scones and whats not, such a blessing:) and then in the evening cocktails and canapes.
The concierge service is the best service we've encountered in our many many trips around the world. Great tips on how to avoid lines and traffic, great directions points on maps etc. you can tell they know their job and care about it, especially Cody, the assistance concierge, what a remarkable young man.
Some people complain about the location of the hotel, but, for us it was one off it's advantages – since it is far from Tsim Sha Tsui, they have a shuttle every 20 minutes, so you can get to the Star Line Ferry to Central with the shuttle and back to the hotel, which has been extremely convenient.
The room was so lovely, great design, except for the shower – splashes all over the place, but the bathtub, amazing.
Also if you ever eat at the Green – the onion soup is a must. This hotel is a culinary gem.
We used the hotels' car to and from the airport, which was a nice and comfy way to see Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Liron K,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your most recent stay with us. All of the team here at Hotel ICON take great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for, it is just so encouraging to hear such positive comments. Cody at concierge in particular was thrilled you remembered him.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable stay. Do keep in touch and let me know if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.

Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,255 - 3,261 of 6,069 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had stayed on Hong Kong island once previously, though that was 17 years ago at the Mandarin Oriental. For this stay I opted for a nice property on the Kowloon side for better shopping convenience and the splendid harbor views. I chose Hotel Icon based on TripAdvisor reviews and was perfectly satisfied. Upon arrival I was even upgraded from their Club 38 Harbor room into their Club Suite 80, which is fabulous! Spacious, well-appointed and perfectly comfortable I enjoyed a full view of Hong Kong harbor plus took full advantage of the complimentary in-suite beverages, snacks and Wifi.
This property also serves as a hotel university so that every member of the staff is dedicated to providing good service, the campus for which appears to comprise the 7th floor. Don't miss out on the 9th floor spa services and I also recommend including their breakfast plan with your booking. For a reasonable fee I used their airport limousine services upon arrival and departure. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Mine was suite #2309, a corner unit with full length, wrap-around windows for perfect views of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvschmieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear pvschmieder,
We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future. Please feel free to email me directly for any future booking.
Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night prior to boarding Seabourn Legend. We had booked a Club Room and arrived at 8am in the morning, and were rapt to be able to get the room so early...and a big bonus of an upgrade to a Club 80 Suite. This is the best hotel room we have ever stayed in.
the staff are all young, energetic and truly committed to their guests. 5 Star hotels could learn a lot from the young team, and the service was consistent through every aspect of the Hotel.
We ate at the Chinese Restaurant on the top floor and it was first class, with our Peking Duck carved at the table for us.
The breakfast is spectacular, they even have a neighbourhood garden in the Courtyard.
The lobby restaurant has the amazing Green wall, and was well patronised by young professionals and locals alike. Shuttle Bus service was excellent...overall... the Hotel is a "learning hotel" other Chains should look at!

Room Tip: Paying for a Club room is well worth it. The check in is the most personalised we have encountered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255106Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear 255106Kim,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were so pleased to read that Green and Above & Beyond restaurants were such an asset during your time with us.
We really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We are dedicated to delivering a discreet yet personal service which represents excellent value at all times, your comments serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.
We hope you will think of us again should you be returning to Hong Kong.

Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I'm writing this review at the lilly scented lobby of the hotel before going to the airport. Decided to write it down right away so I can help somebody make a staying in Hong Kong as amazing as ours was. We were in Hong Kong for 2 nights on a travel to Thailand.

Flight: took Russian S7 Airlines and was surprised with a great condition of the plane and quality of food. Flight attendants weren't too helpful but for 5 hr. flight without our child with us on board it didn't really matter.

Shuttle: hotel provides with the airport shuttle (cost arou150 HK$ per person), but if there're 2 or more of you travel together as we did, taxi is the best option for both convenience and money (250 HK$).

Hotel location: Since we were on a very short stay I wanted to be able to get to all major attractions easily from the hotel. Also I'm an urbanite attracted to the vibe of the lights and crowds, so my choice of the location was definitely a bay line of Kowlung. Hong Kong harbor area (Central/ financial center) is much neater and has more open space. But the hotels with a direct harbor view on that side are only luxury 5* like Shangri La. So if you want to be in the middle of everything but don't want to overpay go for Kowlung.

Hotel: Icon is a new and very stylish. Personnel is competent and very customer oriented. Check-in/out took no more than 5 minutes. Every 20 minutes there's a free hotel shuttle around Kowlung area. So it's easy to get around the city. Hotel has high Chinese quisine restaurant on the top floor with a view to the harbor. The food was good, but nothing outstanding. There're 2 'must do' while staying at this hotel: take a breakfast or brunch at their 2nd floor 'Place' restaurant and go to Angsana spa. First is an amazing food for any age or preferences, the second is one of the best spa in Asia (and I tryied many of them).

Room: We stayed at the club harbor view room at 26 floor and the room was amazing. Great size especially for HK. Definitely worth paying for the view, to feel that you're in HK. And you don't need to go anywhere to watch the Symphony of light show that happens every night at 8 pm. In the room there's a coffe machine, desk with all stationary and a printer, flat TV and TV in the bathroom, French toiletries, duck feather pillows and free minibar with beer, juice and soda.

What to see: Take a Star ferry from the pier (2 streets from free shuttle drop off spot) - authentic experience and only 5 min. to Hong Kong international financial center. From there go to Victoria's peak (best time around 5 pm) or take double deck bus around the city.

Shopping: If you like shopping for branded clothes go to Harbor city mall in Kowlun. It's huge, mostly high scale brands. Everything for kids is 3 levels down from the ground level. Another option is IFC mall (just take a ferry from Kowlun and walk streight into it). That one is more organized but also mostly high fashion brands, selection is more modest. Also HK is the best place to buy electronic gadgets. Just take a subway to the Wan Chai station - great prices and huge selection for all brands.

Dining: husband and I are foodies, so we can recommend you explore the HG scene. Good places we went are at the business center on 1 Peking st.(Japanese Aqua) in Kowlun and and at large hotels on the bay. Seen less upscale cafes at the Harbor city mall on the kid's floor.

Well...in sumarry...Hong Kong is a place to go for a short trip for 2, and the Icon hotel is definitely a place to stay. We'ok be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evanaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Evanaby,
We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way.
We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.
Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a nice room for you.

Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Everything about the Icon is hip, new and service-oriented. We checked in at 9 am and were given a key to a hospitality to use until our room was ready. Service was excellent. Our room was wonderful - super comfortable bed and great view of the Harbor. We were disappointed that because of the Icon's location, it is not possible to view the nightly light show from anywhere in the hotel (neither the room nor the Above and Beyond Restaurant). But the location is a plus because it's away from the chaos of Salisbury and Nathan Roads, and the shuttle every 20 minutes is very convenient. The breakfast buffet was fantastic -- try the donuts! We were sorry not to be there over a weekend to try the afternoon tea. Also, since it was cool, we didn't take advantage of the fabulous outdoor pool Overall, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear SBN10,
Thanks for reviewing ICON.
Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html
With best wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I do share vast majority of opinions published before, it is great hotel. Spectacular views, great room service, excellent ececutive lounge. Walking distance to the MTR, everything is there.
It was my second stay and I will be back for sure if Hong Kong to be visited again.

Room Tip: Try executive room, access to the lounge is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhogZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear AhogZ,
Thanks for reviewing ICON.
Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
Happy to share with you a news clipping from British Airways High Life magazine from a journalist Lisa Thackray who stayed with us back in November:
http://highlife.ba.com/Hotels-And-Spas/Hong-Kong-Hotel-Icon.html
With best wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is an amazing hotel! We stayed here during Chinese New Year and we expected to be really crowded. Finally crowded or not we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel team is always available and friendly, basically the entire service is amazing. The swimming pool is heated so you can use it at any time. My favorite part was the breakfast that seemed to be the paradise serving all the food you can think about.
It really worth visiting it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear ruccu,
This is wonderful to read. The team and I send you our thanks and our very best wishes.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me to make a booking next time.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 725 in Hong Kong
737 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,585 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,115 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £182 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing