We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #4 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot rave enough about this hotel. When researching all the accommodation options for Hong Kong, it was either well priced but too small and mediocre service or really expensive or not at a good location at all. So when I found Hotel Icon I was a little suspicious. How can a hotel have everything? But what a pleasant surprise!!!

The communication via email was fantastic. They even sent us an electronic map of where their shuttle bus counter is in the airport.

The room was so spacious for any hotel, let alone a Hong Kong hotel. The bathroom had this really funky design with a circular door that closes in a semi circle.

Loved the technology used in this hotel. ..from lights that don't need a switch to smart phones etc. And cute little gadgets throughout the room. They had everything you can possibly need in the room too.

The staff were so helpful in any information we needed and especially loved the doormen who would jump at your every need.

The best thing?? The free mini bar!!! In such an expensive city, a free mini bar is unheard of. It had water, juices, beer, soft drinks, chocolates, all the hot drinks....all replenished daily and all free daily. We were so surprised.

They even had pay TV channels for free.

It is locatef in TST east which is still very close to all attractions and a walking distance to the TST metro station. The free hotel shuttle bus was really useful too....it leaves every 20 minutes.

Absolutely loved this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hong Kong! !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingCouple333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear travellingCouple333,
We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future.
Please drop me a note if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,598
    625
    102
    17
    18
See reviews for
789
2,504
329
887
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Unfortunately, we spent only one night in this amazing hotel, but it was enough to get the feeling of the place. No doubt, this is one of the most beautifully designed places I've seen. The location is amazing, and with the efficient shuttle service of the hotel you don't need to worry about reaching other areas. The view we had from the room overlooking Central area was breathtaking.
The staff was amazingly professional and helpful, with great English.

We Enjoyed the guest-only rest Lounge very much, as we had to wait for our ferry long after we checked out. Hope to visit there again in the future!

Room Tip: Take a "harbor view" room and wake up to an amazing sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Barak P,
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future booking.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Everything in this hotel is excellent - the rooms, view, decor, location, food, drinks, gym, pool etc etc etc. But by far the best thing is the service - you can tell that the team care. This is a training hotel for the university - this doesn't mean that you can expect a bunch of amateurs - expect the opposite. If you are travelling to Hong Kong then stay here.

Room Tip: Book a club room - the benefits are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear GJ20100,
Thank you for reviewing ICON.
We take pride in the service we extend to our guests and your support over the years and kind review is much appreciated.
Feel free to email me directly for any future visit.
With kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manger@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this in my room at The Icon as I can't wait to say how wonderful this hotel is. The staff are simply the best I have ever encountered. Polite, friendly and very professional. My husband and I are in a Club room which is well worth the extra money. The bar in Above and Beyond is a complete haven and the complimentary happy hour cocktails very welcome! The room is very chic, spotlessly clean with a great bathroom - huge shower and bath tub with a tv at the end! The pool has stunning views across the harbour, great for a late evening dip in the dark! I've never written a review whilst still at a hotel, but this gem has exceeded my expectations I just couldn't wait!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AppletreeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear GSissens,
What a wonderful review – thank you so much. May this be the first of many visits.
Please don't hesitate to email me directly when you need a room in Hong Kong.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is unique as it is run by a bunch of enthusiastic trainee youngsters .The hotel is no mean deal and functions as a full fledged 4.5/5 star property with a boutiquey charm attached to it.

The view from the ninth floor pool (along with the gym) is simply fantastic. I was upgraded to a high floor with an incredible partial harbour view. Buffet breakfast is lavish though with *extremely* minimal vegetarian options

The location is good and the shuttle provided by the hotel to the pier (and some nearby mtr station / landmarks) is useful. K12 shuttle (Government sponsored free service) runs from the Kawloon station to the hotel which we found very useful.

5/5 on value as it is priced 100 USD less than nearby properties of the same calibre

Room Tip: high floor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priyamagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear priyamagarwal,
A huge thank you from us all. A warm welcome back awaits you!
Do feel free to email me directly for any future booking.
With kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed at Hotel ICON for 3 nights. It is an exceptional hotel. Every staff person was friendly and helpful. We hired a limo (from the hotel) to pick us up at the airport. The driver was waiting for us and when he dropped us off at the hotel we didn't even have to check in at the front desk. We were whisked away along with our luggage and taken directly to our room. Joanna accompanied us and made sure we had everything we needed and stayed with us until all of our questions were asked and answered. She was incredible. On several occassions we had to ask the staff how to get somewhere or for their recommendations and they always stopped to help us and show us directions on the map.

We had a room (#2208) that had a partial harbor view. There are hotels with better views if that's what you're looking for. Nevertheless, we loved the room. The only complaint was that the beds were a little hard. That's a subjective complaint since some people like hard beds. However, the room was tastefully decorated and very clean. An added bonus was the number of outlets that we could use to recharge our phones/iPads. The bathroom was roomy and there was plenty of closet space for all our stuff. Everything in the minibar was free and restocked every day. It wasn't loaded down like some hotel minibars, but I thought this was a nice touch.

We ate at the Market for the dinner and breakfast buffets. The dinner buffet was incredible. Pricey, but then again, you can eat as much lobster and shrimp as you want. Breakfast wasn't as good as dinner, but it was still very good.

All in all, we really like this hotel and would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Crumbsnatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Crumbsnatchers,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful impression of your stay at ICON.
The team and I thank you so much for your compliments and we send our best wishes.
Feel free to email me directly for any future visit.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

A very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms. From the moment you arrive the staff make you feel very welcome and do their utmost to help you with anything. My room was large and very well maintained and cleaned. The bathroom was luxurious with a nice walk-in shower. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The pool, spa and gym were excellent with good changing and showering facilities on their floor (9th). The only slight negative for me was the fixed price of the breakfast, which at HK$240 is a bit pricey. True, there was a wonderful range of food on offer, and it would easily be possible to get your "money's worth", but if you only like a light breakfast in the morning it's expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the 10th floor or above so it probably doesn't matter what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear ovm36,
Thanks for reviewing ICON.
Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With best wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing