We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Where should I start? What a great hotel this is!
On the day of the arrival, the reception surprised us with a free upgrade to the club room. And what a room!
Starting with the amazing view, the huge bed and a bathroom that I can`t even describe! The bathtub had a TV!
The room had everything from a huge plasma, bose audio system and a free mini bar
The breakfast… everything that you could imagine! Local food and European as well. Fresh strawberries, fresh cheese, juices, an amazing muesli and a pastry station with all the goodies!
Very good location as well with lots of bars and walking distance from the city centre
If you want to have a great experience, then you must book this hotel
My only regret is that we didn`t stay for longer! Definitely I will surprise my husband with a second trip to Icon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaPetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CristinaPetrix,

Thank you very much for your incredibly detailed and wonderful review, really appreciated. The team is very passionate about their work, every day they put a lot of energy and care into delivering exceptional service experiences, I thank you very much for your terrific comments and particularly the ones about the team.

Hope to see you and your husband soon.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,606
    625
    102
    17
    18
See reviews for
789
2,511
330
887
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

There are many great hotels in Hong Kong with similar design, amenities and quality - what Hotel ICON has that no other hotel can boast is the best view and perspective of the Hong Kong skyline. The view of Hong Kong from this property is absolutely incredible, hands down the best I've experienced in an urban hotel. ICON is not too high (unlike the Ritz, where you look down at the miniature city below), so the perspective you see of the surrounding city is relatable, human and gives you a sense that you are a part of all the action. The hotel is also set back enough for guests to see the skyline in it's entirety, which is not possible if you are in Hong Kong island itself.

I highly reccommend the CLUB 38 HARBOUR room, as an entire wall is floor to ceiling windows that looks out to the harbour, which the bed directly faces. You awake to the sunrise from your bed and are lulled asleep by the twinkling city lights at night.

The view from the club lounge is also incredible, as it faces directly into the Kowloon highrises with Hong Kong in the backdrop. It's worth every penny upgrading your room to a club level as the breakfast is fantastic and drinks every evening is a great way to begin each night.

You cannot get a better experience for this price-point. ICON is a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle of Kowloon, and the hotel itself is a quiet retreat from the city.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbour view room - it's a one of a kind room in Hong Kong found no where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sbmendes,

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review following your stay.

We are so delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback with the travelling community.

Thank you for choosing Hotel ICON, we will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My bf and I decided to spend my birthday in HKG.. After sorting through some hotels around Kowloon and having looked at the rating of this hotel in Tripadvisor as no. 2 we finally booked Hotel Icon. The hotel was everything I had anticipated.. and beyond. The staff spoke excellent English and they're all young and very attentive even to very minute details.. Their smiles were always there to greet you, too...And what even made our stay more than excellent was that on my actual birthday, they gave me a surprised birthday cake which was very sweet of them to do.. The buffet breakfast was beyond great with lots of food choices.

Another thing I also like to point out is that this hotel has a lounge for guests waiting to depart on their flight. We checked out at 12 noon, but our flight was at 9 PM so we still had time to stroll around the area for some time and then went to the hotel lounge to get some rest before we headed to the airport.

Over all, this hotel really stands out from the rest. I highly recommend this icon.

Room Tip: Rooms from 20th to 27th floor have the best night view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Glenn T,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at ICON. We really enjoyed making it special for you.

We hope that you and your boy friend will be able to stay again soon, feel free to drop me a note if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel was booked by our travel agent and unknown to us, but how lovely it was! Very welcoming staff, lovely spacious room, king bed, great room amenities, free wifi and free soft drinks/juice/water and packs of M&M's in the fridge EVERY day! They gave us access to a lounge on the 9th floor after we'd checked out but were waiting for our airport transfer; free drinks/tea/coffee, fruit, papers and magazines in lovely restful chairs - could have used the shower as well. It is about a 10 min. walk to the ferry terminals to go across to Hong Kong Island from Kowloon, and about a 5-8 min. walk to Nathan Road. Close to shops, supermarket and kids playground. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: The hotel is extremely quiet; didn't hear a single guest/closed door/tv or any noise from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CindyMaddison,

Your review is so much appreciated by all the team. We strive to provide exceptional service experiences and we are delighted that we achieved this for you.

Please come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebritkate
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We began our month long trip to Vietnam by stopping in Hong Kong for 3 days and chose carefully a great place to start our trip and get over our jet lag from NYC. Hotel Icon was everything it promised from the website - the level of service - the buffet breakfast - the wonderful room -the view from our room - the interior of the hotel - it was all splendid.
It is, I believe, a training hotel, but there is no evidence of that with the quality of attention
we received and the competence and welcome from the staff was first rate.
The buffet breakfast set a new standard and was without a doubt the best hotel buffet breakfast we have ever experienced and in wonderful surroundings.
I would not look at any other hotel when I return to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: We had a harbor front room on one of the highest floors - 26 I believe. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebritkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear thebritkate,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were so pleased to read that Market restaurants was such an asset during your time with us.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We are dedicated to delivering a discreet yet personal service which represents excellent value at all times, your comments serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.

We hope you will think of us again should you be returning to Hong Kong. Feel free to email me for any future bookings.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed in Hong Kong several times before and have never been so pleased with my experience! If you are worried about hygiene.... THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The room phone, tv remotes and toilet all had paper wrapped around them saying " I have been sterilized" .... such a nice feeling for us germaphobes. The breakfast buffet in The Market is amazing! Options to tantalize taste buds from ALL around the world and make you feel at home. THE BATHROOM IN THE RESTAURANT IS PROBABLY THE CLEANEST BATHROOM I HAVE BEEN IN EVER! The doors are all automatic so you do not even need to touch a handle. ALL of the staff are VERY friendly and accommodating. The Wifi is also strong. Great location. Can not praise Hotel ICON enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Caitlin W,

We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me to make a booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in late March. It was selected on the strength of reviews from a variety of sites. The Icon did not disappoint in any way. From the moment of arriving to the day of our departure the quality and attention to detail shone through.
We were lucky enough to stay in a club 80 suite on the 15th floor that had enough mod cons to keep you busy- I especially loved the remote blinds that allowed uninterrupted views across Hong Kong harbour from the huge bath. The free mini bar is a nice bonus.
The Above and Beyond lounge was beautifully laid out, and a great place for breakfast. We also had a go at their dim sum lunch(outstanding), and on our last night experienced the degustation menu with accompanying wine pairings(outstanding ++).
The spa is a top class facility that will more than satisfy the massage junkies out there.
The hotel is only a ten minute stroll to Nathan road, and the regular shuttle bus is very useful and well used.
I could bang on about the Icon all day. Suffice to say it gets a major thumbs up.

Room Tip: Going for the club option is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear jnl53,

Thank you very much for your incredibly detailed and wonderful review, really appreciated. The team is very passionate about their work, every day they put a lot of energy and care into delivering exceptional service experiences, I thank you very much for your terrific comments and particularly the ones about the team.

We hope to see you again at the hotel soon and do let me know if I can help with future stays.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing