We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We loved this hotel. Suite 80 on the 26th floor had magnificent views. Staff (thank you Suki, Gary and Thomas!) and went above and beyond to please us. Beautiful club lounge. Excellent food selection at breakfast in the main restaurant. If you are after the extra-stuffy, snobbish 7 star properties - go elsewhere. But if you seek personalized eye-level service, beautiful design, warm rooms and fantastic location - go for the Icon. BTW - some reviewers mentioned the location wasn't ideal. We disagree! Location was wonderful and the hotel frequent shuttle service very useful. This place is unique and well worth the experience.

Room Tip: 2609 is a great Suite 80 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Eyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Traveler_Eyal,

Thanks for your post. I was delighted to read such great comments regarding the excellent service you experienced in ICON. I was really pleased that you found Suki, Gary and Thomas to be very outstanding, I will certainly pass this on to them all.

I’m glad that you chose to stay with us for your vacation to Hong Kong. I hope to welcome you and your partner back soon.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,589
    625
    101
    17
    18
See reviews for
787
2,502
329
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here and everything complimentary that has been said is correct - this truly is, a hotel that has it all!
We had booked a Club 38 Harbour View room but on arrival were delighted to find ourselves upgraded to Club Suite 80 - WOW! what a room with the most amazing views - we would have been happy to live there permanently! It was fabulous.
We had organized with the hotel a private airport transfer and the driver was lovely, spoke excellent English and gave us lots of information. He telephoned the hotel as soon as we entered the car and again as we were approaching the hotel and we were greeted, our bags whisked away and a lovely young lady called Lillian took us up to the room for check in! Everything so effortless, unlike a lot of stressful check ins we have experience in the past!
Having Club benefits we enjoyed drinks and canapés in the Above and Beyond each evening. It certainly lived up to its name, with wonderful staff and service. We loved Keren, a delightful young lady, who, as it turned out had been educated and had lived in the same area of North Wales we come from.
The Market breakfast had something to please anyone - a fantastic array of fresh and well presented food. The evening buffet there was excellent - especially the seafood!
Every member of staff we dealt with was extremely pleasant, professional and knowledgeable.
I could actually go on and on raving about this hotel but ……….
Copied here is an extract from their website which actually says it all!
A HOTEL UNLIKE ANY OTHER
This is a luxury Hong Kong hotel that takes a new look at hospitality. Hotel ICON is all about individuality and a celebration of Hong Kong’s finest. We’re passionate about local culture - art, design, fabulous food and a modern sparkle packaged up with perfect service. But we also have an undeniably international style and this is reflected throughout every aspect of our service. It is what makes Hong Kong unique - the representation everywhere of different cultures. Yet, you’ll find the ambience here familiar and comfortable - the perfect balance of high style and traditional hospitality - exciting yet informal, responsive and passionate. This hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon reflects the true essence of Hong Kong.

Hotel ICON is a very special hotel with an equally special purpose: Not only does it embody all the creative energy and spirit of Hong Kong, it’s a “learning environment” on which the aspirations of future hoteliers come to life as part of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and an extension of its School of Hotel and Tourism Management (SHTM).

In our little universe, students, teachers, and seasoned hospitality professionals come together united by one goal: to make your stay utterly memorable and pleasurable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Harbour view room - the view is spectacular and you can enjoy the laser light sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear ClaraM,

We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way.

We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.

Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a special room for you.

With best regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

All that I am going to say has been said before, but I can only underline how much Hotel Icon still exceeded our expectations even after reading all the reviews. I feel like keeping quiet about this fabulous hotel, but to do so would fail to give credit where it is so absolutely due.
We chose to stay in a Club 80 suite; check-in was seamless, the easiest and most pleasant I have ever had anywhere- for staying tin this part of the hotel, you get whisked upstairs to the 28th floor, no queuing at reception. The views from the suite were amazing, and as others have commented on, we could have sat and looked at this all day and night. The inclusive breakfasts at either The Market (great selection, but can get very busy) and Above and Beyond (gentle, serene, amazing views) are superb. The canapés and evening drinks- perfect- great ambience and wonderful to be served champagne. We ate twice at the Above & Beyond restaurant- again, incredible views, great food, super service and excellent value for money.
The hotel is located in Kowloon, a 10 minute walk from Nathan Road and 20 mins from the Star Ferry Terminal. Alternatively there is a very efficient shuttle bus service. Added to this, taxis are relatively very cheap in HK.
However, all of this is outshone by the staff- they were so efficient, so pleasant, so respectful and so kind. I wonder whether the fact that this is a training hotel means that even more effort than usual is put into staff-guest relations- it certainly seemed so. And I believe this must filter down from the top, so someone is leading this place admirably.
This is one of, if not the best place I have ever stayed in, and a perfect place to meet my best friend half way around the world. We will be back to Hotel Icon.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend Club Suite 80- treat yourself and pay that bit more, you will feel like royalty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doclecocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear doclecocq,

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review following your stay.

We are so delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback with the travelling community.

Your kind words about our buffet restaurant The Market, Above & Beyond Club and our team are really encouraging. Your praise has been passed on to everyone here, it very welcomed.

Thank you for choosing Hotel ICON, we will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

we stayed here for the rugby 7's - very slick professional staff - in-house dining was excellent - loved the rooms - great views and spotlessly clean and and well appointed - good access to transport - definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngs066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Youngs066,

What a wonderful review – thank you so much. May this be the first of many visits.

Next time you visit, please email me directly and I will see if we can provide you with a great room at a special discounted price.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to Hong Kong for the first time. We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are a very good size and standard, and wonderfully well equipped. We had a harbour view room, although we did not have very good views as the weather was poor during our stay. The hotel staff were charming and very professional and went out of their way to be helpful in every way.
Special mention should be made of the fantastic breakfast, which was included in the price of our room. There was a great selection of good quality foods on offer to satisfy all national preferences.
One of the things that we were very impressed with was the "Handy Phone" this is a mobile (cell) phone which you can use all over Hong Kong free of charge. It is a fully operational IPhone type,You can also use it to access internet and make calls, including international calls totally free. It was great for keeping in touch with friends and family in Hong Kong and saved us a lot of money.
We also appreciated the free shuttle bus which would take us to local shopping centre and transport hubs.
I would heartily recommend this hotel and not hesitate to stay there again. It deserves to be #1

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear eleanor c,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I’m glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding our breakfast buffet in The Market and our in-room "Handy Phone".

When you book your next stay with us, please drop me an email and I will ensure that you are allocated my special amenities.

Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
299 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We selected this hotel based on TA reviews and everything was as wonderful as mentioned! We booked easily through their website and had several helpful communications from them prior to our visit. I contacted them re transportation from the airport and they responded immediately with an answer and maps. When we arrived, check in was smooth and we were upgraded to a business room on a club floor. While we didn't use the printer, fax, etc. it was a nice touch for a business traveler. We loved the room itself and especially the design, with the round wall that closed off the bathroom from the bedroom. And the bathroom.... how spacious and lovely it was! The separate shower stall included a rainfall shower. The tub had a "mirror" at the end of it that turned out to be a TV. That was a first for us! We booked the breakfast as part of our package and we were so glad. The buffet in The Market was overwhelming and wonderful. There was a great variety of Asian and Western items and one certainly left full and happy. We also ate at the Above and Beyond Restaurant one night, which had excellent food, stunning views, and an elegant ambience. Finally, the staff was excellent throughout the hotel. Everyone was attentive and helpful. While Hotel Icon is not inexpensive, we felt that it was worth it for the level of this hotel. It was truly 5 star and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear kayteeMilwaukee,

Thanks for your post and positive feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you found our team very helpful and your room to be of a high standard. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if I can assist with your travel arrangements next time.

Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I wanted to give it 4.5 so I gave it 4.6 and rounded up. Not a stuffy hotel like some 5 stars but an excellent 4 star - think of hilton at it's very best. Rooms are brilliantly designed. We were upgraded to 25th floor - executive and the room had everything including a mobile phone you could borrow with unlimited international calls and 3G - free of charge. This is just one example - the hotel is very innovative and tries to provide everything for the traveller including free mini bar.

Check in and concierge excellent - only possible fault us downstairs bar lacks atmosphere but then you have a dozen western bars and the whole of Kowloon on your doorstep

Bearing in mind this is a teaching hotel you would never know.

Breakfasts are legendary as other people have mentioned.

If we return to HK we will stay at the Icon again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear AnnieHerts,

This is wonderful to read. The team and I send you our thanks and our very best wishes.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,349 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing