We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is very good hotel, but not an excellent one”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“This is very good hotel, but not an excellent one”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stay for 2 nights for vacation.

Having stay in more than 10 hotels in HK, Hotel ICON is one of the best in terms of room size and modern facilities. However, may be I have some higher expectation as No. 2 hotel in HK, I think this place is very good, but not excellent.

Room size is bigger than HK standard. The bed and bath are clean and comfortable. Minibar and wifi are also complimentary. Overall, my wife and I have a good stay. The down side is location which is not so convenient for shopping and dining like tsim sha tsui or central. MTR Hung hom is about 5 mins walk, but again this line is not so convenient except travelling to ShenZhen. This is the last stop of K3 bus from Kowloon airport express station, so it takes 10-15 mins ride. Breakfast has huge variety of food, but service is not flawless.

Comparing the price, this hotel has very good value and better room size and service than many places in central location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kengkla,

Thank you for posting your review on this website following your most recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you liked our rooms and free mini-bar, which are also praised by many guests.

You mentioned the location wasn't ideal, indeed we are very well located away from the hustle and bustle of Nathan and Canton Roads and have excellent transport links via TST East Station. Our shuttle service run every 20 minutes to Tsim Sha Tsui station and Harbour City, most of the guests found it very useful.

I hope we can welcome you back, please contact me directly and I will make sure you get a special discount on a great room.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,760
    633
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
811
2,594
344
912
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Icon for the Rugby 7's in March 2014 - and it is by far one of the most exceptional hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff cannot do more for you - hailing taxis and informing the driver of where you want to go in Cantonese and the fastest/cheapest route to take was a particularly favorable service. The hotel itself is beautiful inside, and the rooms are the epitome of luxury and elegance. The bed was so comfortable you didn't want to get out of it in the morning and ours was the equivalent of 2 double beds pushed together. We also had sky TV, Free mini bar and the bathrooms - especially the shower were fantastic additions to ensuring we felt suitably spoilt. We had breakfast included and I can honestly say I have never seen a spread like it - any food you could possibly imagine was on offer, all fresh and delicious with fantastic coffees and juices.

We also made use of the gym and the pool which were beautifully situated overlooking the harbour and the staff were fantastic and provided anything you could need for the gym and the swimming pool (goggles, sun cream, sweat bands, headphones etc!)

I could not recommend this highly enough to anybody and urge anyone who is going to Hong Kong to stay there!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Emily N,

Thank you sharing your experiences with us following your recent stay, I appreciate that these things take time and wanted to offer my thanks.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you like our breakfast buffet and health club, I do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Do feel free to email me directly if I can assist with any travel arrangements.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved this hotel. I have been travelling to HK for many years and normally stay in Central when visiting for business, but this time I was with my wife & teenaged sons and I thought Kowloon might be more fun as it's a little more 'Chinese'. We were not disappointed, the hotel is great.

The hotel had arranged a car to collect us from the airport as we wouldn't all fit in one regular taxi & the train isn't really cheap when it's four people travelling together. Check-in was superb: straight up to the club lounge, where we were offered drinks & canapes while the staff sorted out rooms. The lady who went through everything with us was very thorough in her explanations & welcoming.

The main hotel lobby is impressive and sometimes it can hide rooms which don't live up to the same standard. That was certainly not the case for us -- the rooms were lovely. Very modern, with great views of the city. Our sons had a twin room 35 sq.metres and we had a 65 sq.mtr suite. The suite was excellent - the living room was set up as a home cinema with semi-circular sofa facing big HD screen, multi-room DVD player, big desk with lots of power sockets plus a printer/scanner. Large bathroom was very well-appointed and the bedroom was also a very good size for HK. Everything looked pretty much brand new and worked perfectly.

The booking was bed & breakfast basis and because the rooms were 'club' level, the room rate also included a daily laundry allowance, free minibar (yes, really) and of course use of the club lounge which offered happy hour as is typical but also afternoon tea.

The pool was outdoors on 9th floor (I think) - with great views across the city so we took our cameras & tripod down there for the 8pm light show and got some great photos. Gym faced the pool so again nice views when working out. Pool was a good temperature.

Breakfast we had the choice of club level or main restaurant and because the kids love a breakfast buffet we used the main restaurant. Food was very good with wide choice (Chinese, Japanese, European etc) and good quality. We also dined in the top floor Chinese restaurant one evening and that was very good, too (although a little expensive compared with similar quality alternatives outside).

One of the most awesome features and something we're surprised with hindsight that other hotels don't offer was the Handy - each room has a SmartPhone which offers free international calls, free internet throughout HK. Yes, really! And the phone acts as a hotspot so one person can carry it around, the rest of the family can connect their phones to it via WiFi. Brilliant idea and extremely useful as it was configured with maps of HK, MTR, restaurant guides etc.

Staff were universally polite, friendly and helpful.

If there was any downside at all, and it really wasn't that big a deal, I'd say it's a shame the hotel is so far from rail links. The nearest are East TST or Hung Hom but both are a good walk away; cabs are cheap in HK so it's not a big deal but I like to use the MTR as it's fast so it was a shame not to have a station on the doorstep.

Well done, Icon - you have the formula pretty much perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Rus N,

Thank you so much for giving us such candid feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, espcially your kind words about our F&B ourtlets and our newly launch "Handy Phone". Our staff really appreciate your kind comments.

We hope to see you again at the hotel soon and do let me know if I can help with future stays.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On recommendations of friends we stayed at Hotel ICON in beginning of April and we were not disappointed!
The rooms are very nice and the breakfast wonderful.The shuttle bus was very convinient and we used it everyday down to Harbour city. But most of all the hotel staff goes way beyond to help!

During the time we were staying it was my sons 7th birthday and we had not mention this. When we came back in the evening before his birthday, there was a wonderful cake with a children's card wising him a happy birthday! It made is day, he sat down and wrote a thank you note hat he insisted we go down to the reception area and give right away!

Hotel ICON is from now on our choice of hotel in HongKong. In fact I have just booked our next stay and we are very much looking forward to it :0)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scharer_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Scharer_family,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip soon.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great hotel - facilities and staff are fantastic. The Handy smartphone lent to all guests with the room is a stroke of genius, we used it for finding restaurants, planning days out and generally finding our way around.
Hotel is close to the main things without being right in the centre, I only wish the MTR was a little closer (still only a 10-15 min walk) but otherwise couldn't fault. Free minibar is also a plus, even just the bottles of water for carrying around were great. Pool overlooking the harbour is so luxurious, just wish I'd had time to use it more!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are worth paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sophie C,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hotel ICON. I am pleased you enjoyed the whole experience and how highly you valued the service and facilities during your stay, especially our newly launch “Handy Phone”.

So happy we exceeded your expectations in every way and look forward to welcoming you next time, please don't hesitate to get in touch to make a booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque da Floresta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed a Club Suite on the 26th floor of the Hotel, with great views over Hong Kong Harbor. The room, staff and facilities were exceptional. We want to mention in particular Mr. Nick Tam in the "Above and Beyond" Club manager who provided exceptional service to all the folk in the Club Lounge. It is now our only choice in Hong Kong

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Club Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Villadaluz,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your most recent stay with us. All of the team here at Hotel ICON take great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for, it is just so encouraging to hear such positive comments. Nick at the Club Lounge in particular was thrilled you remembered him.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon for another memorable stay.

Please feel free to let me know if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland, ZH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is just amazing, incredible. Our stay was just perfect
We had a harbor view which was just stunning. The room is excellent with deluxe furniture.
The staff just the best ! We really love the outdoor swimming pool with the great view at night ….just beautiful !
We loved it soo much. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Niki013,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous review.

I send you the regards of the entire team. We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Let me know personally if I can assist with your travel arrangements next time.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing