We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise cake on my birthday!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #3 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Travelled May 2013. We booked an ICON 36 City Room for 2 nights. I would have preferred a harbour view but we booked last minute and there weren't any available.

Arrival & check in: We arrived late in the evening from HKIA - we took the Airport Express train from the airport to Kowloon station (I think it was 140 HKD for 2 people) and then took the free Airport Express shuttle bus from the Kowloon station to Hotel ICON. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and check in was very quick despite the busy lobby. I loved the lobby - very open, tons of glass and an amazing wall of greenery that we spent a lot of time admiring.

Room: City Room 1601.The room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable. Convenient outlets are located near the nightstands as well as the desk area. The air conditioning worked well. Our room overlooked what looked like a major highway and part of the city - interesting but nothing spectacular. The decor was clean and modern. The bathroom had a great shower as well as a soaking tub. The free! mini bar was restocked once during our stay (bottled water, soda, beer, m&ms). More/brighter lights in the room would have been nice. No issues connecting to the free wifi, decent speed.

Food: We were hungry the night we arrived and decided to eat at the hotel. We initially went to the Market and thought we'd try the buffet but the restaurant was extremely busy and we didn't feel like waiting. We ended up eating at Green - the food was decent (we ordered a pizza and some soup) and reasonably priced, but the service was a little slow. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel either morning.

Service & Facilities: The service at Hotel ICON was great - the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. On the morning of my birthday, room service delivered a delicious cake! We used the gym one morning and it was well equipped and not at all crowded. We did not use the spa. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the subway.

Location: The hotel is located in a quiet area Tsim Sha Tsui. We enjoyed walking around and it was much less crowded than anywhere else we went in Hong Kong. It's not a far walk to the subway or ferry (20 min I think), but we chose to take a taxi to escape the heat. It's only a few minuted by taxi to the subway and to the huge Harbour City shopping area. We also stayed at Langham Place which is much more centrally located. While we preferred the location of Langham Place, Hotel ICON has much nicer rooms and better service

I highly recommend Hotel ICON - great service, great room and good location.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ICON 36 City Room. The room itself was great, but the view wasn't anything speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear tsam3,

Thanks for your post. It was great to read that you found our little touches delightful and had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me for any future booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,239 - 3,245 of 6,230 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights over Easter with my husband and 2 teenage sons. We booked a Harbour View and a City View room and breakfast was included in the rate.

So where to start with the compliments?
- the staff were all excellent - at reception, on the concierge desk, in the restaurant, at the pool, everywhere - nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was friendly and helpful
- the rooms were spotless and well presented
- there is a FREE, yes free mini bar - with beer, soft drinks, M&M's, water AND it gets topped up every day
- there is a FREE, yes free phone that you can take with you all around Hong Kong. It has a range of apps and other helpful software loaded onto it. You can call anywhere in the world for free on the phone. Thats right there is no charge for this (unless you break, damage or lose it!)
- the breakfast buffet is extensive, fresh, regularly replenished
- There is a train station less than 5 mins walk away. The Star Ferry is 5-10 min $AUS3-4 taxi ride away
- there are plenty of restaurants within a 5-10 min walk of the hotel
- the view of Hong Kong Island from the Harbour View room was beautiful, particularly at night
- the hotel has a free shuttle bus running every 20 mins to the Star Ferry and back of the Peninsula Hotel

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends if they were considering staying in Kowloon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear KimD2009,

We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way.

We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.

Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a nice room for you.

With best regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 1st time I have stayed here. Food wine bedrooms bathroom, very nice the bar area especially. First class.the sheets are superfluous and beds are enormous.
I would recommend this hotel for your trip to hk. Ps you must stay in the suite

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juan364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear juan364,

What a wonderful review – thank you so much. May this be the first of many visits.

Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Hong Kong for a combination of business and pleasure. Technically we had a “city view” but we still had a lovely view of Kowloon Bay and Hong Kong Island skyline. The room was really nice and the service was great in general. I didn't even realize it was managed by a hotel school until someone told me, a couple of days after I arrived. Our only complaint is that we had a very strange experience at the upstairs Above and Beyond restaurant/bar: We had gone up to have a drink at around 7:30 one evening and were told at the entrance that we could not enter until 8pm because we were not Club members. Nowhere in our room, nor upon checking in, did anyone explain this strange policy to us. Ultimately they let us have a drink at the bar but after we sat down we were told not to eat anything “unless we wanted to be charged for it.” This strikes me as a strange policy, given that Hong Kong is known for its daily 8pm light show, which many tourists watch from scenic points such as Hotel Icon’s bar and restaurant. To add to this, the hotel’s bar physically takes up most of the view, so with the exception of one table, guests are left to sit behind the bar and miss the beautiful view that Hong Kong offers – a definite design glitch on the hotel’s part. One last point: The hotel is a very convenient shuttle service to downtown Kowloon ferry stop and to a subway stop. But if you don't mind walking for 15-20 minutes, also ask how to walk to downtown Kowloon along the Bay (to the ferry stop/Harbour City shopping mall area), and to the nearest subway line; once you learn how to get to these places, it's quite easy, and you'll feel less reliant on the hotel shuttle. The location feels more convenient, in other words.

Room Tip: Get a "harbor view" room if you can, but if there aren't any available ask for a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Amy L,

I am glad to read that all in all you had an excellent stay and your particular praise about the room and service are gratefully received.

I have taken careful note of some of the details of your stay and reassure you that they will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you next time, please don't hesitate to get in touch to make a booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed there with a friend for 1 night when on way to Australia. We had paid for a standard room with a harbour view but were upgraded on arrival to a suite. The room was large with a separate living room area. Free minibar etc was fully stocked (more than just water). The view from the room was amazing - overlooking the harbour. The hotel stores bags for you when you check out and you are permitted to use the shower facilities and the bar/pool once you have checked out until you fly again. Location was very central (although we took a taxi everywhere as it was rather humid outside).

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesrobfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Jbb1981,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Let me know personally if I can assist with your travel arrangements next time.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

stayed at the Icon in late March on the way to the States everything about this Hotel was first class from the position and great Harbour views to the staff who could not do enough for us Breakfast was out of this world and all meals were a delight i would highly recommend this Hotel to anybody visiting Hong Kong one of the World,s great Cities

Room Tip: harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear glenn s,

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience and hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for future booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotel I ever stay !
Location is fantastic.
The staff is so nice and service oriented.
The food is great ... even room service.
The room is fantastic, confortable, big, great big windows, bathroom is fabulous.
And a great price !
Do not miss it !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.. the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amores1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Amores1964,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding your experience at ICON.

When you book your next stay with us please drop us an email and we will take care of your booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,026 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,703 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,202 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £158 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing