We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great property - highly recommend!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great property - highly recommend!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure to be in the Hotel Icon twice and must say that it is what other hotels should be afraid of. They have some truly innovative services here - such as the cell phone that can be used around Hong Kong to make international calls and well stocked free mini bar. They also have innovative design touches - like the eye drop shower and I must say some great chairs in the room. I feel like nearly every detail is covered in this property. It is not super luxury in that you are overwhelmed with service, but it is right on point for what you would expect from a good place. The price is quite reasonable for Hong Kong and the location is good. From airport to hotel in reasonable traffic was about 40 minutes. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear paul f,

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review.

So happy we exceeded your expectations in every way and look forward to welcoming you next time, please don't hesitate to get in touch to make a booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,852
    644
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
825
2,645
350
934
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For the price charged, this hotel is fantastic value. It's brand spanking new, has all the toys you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Very comfortable and big bed, and very nice toilet.

Location isn't fantastic but good connectivity if you are familiar with MRT. It's next to Hung hom station if you need to travel to China by rail.

Extras include, free office stationery + free use of in-room printer, mini-bar is also free.

Room Tip: High floor, facing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsiewmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear dsiewmy,

Thank you very much for the terrific review. We are so happy you had a memorable experience at ICON.

Do please feel free to get in touch with me personally next time you visit Hong Kong.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros : (+)

+ High Tech Room (smartphone, smart TV, printer, nespresso coffee maker, bathtub with mirror tv, leather rocking chair, bose speaker, etc)
+ Excellent decoration of Room and Lobby
+ Free mini bar
+ Free wifi
+ Free shuttle bus to MTR and Harbour City
+ Fast Respond of Staff

Cons : (-)

- Very few Smiles and Greetings
- Timeless lounge very small and only have a very limited drinks and snacks
- check in time process was slow
- we were checked in at 5 pm and unable to request late check out
- we were waiting for the shuttle bus to come for 40 mins at harbour city (their schedule is every 20 mins)

Conclusions and Suggestions:

* overall this hotel is very good and unique, especially the facility inside the room, however i think a hotel is a service business. Regardless it is a business hotel or not, build a connection between staff and guest is very important, lets start with smiles and greetings. The only proper contact i had was with the manager with the black suit when checked out, it was a short time of interraction but i think he was proper, as for the rest of the staff need to be improved. Dont get me wrong, the staff deliver what we want but it would be perfect if they add greetings and smiles.

* timeless lounge i think can be improved by giving snacks other than only fruits, coffee, tea, soft drinks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Winata,

I am glad to read that all in all you had an excellent stay and your particular praise about our facilities - minibar, shuttle bus etc. is greatly received.

In addition, I have taken careful note of some of the details of your stay and reassure you that they will be addressed.

Next time you are planning a trip, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me to make a booking.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here during an overnight stop in Hong Kong. The hotel has nice design with a dramatic lobby bar and very modern rooms. Bathrooms are particularly stylish with curved glass showers. We booked a view room and enjoyed the Hong Kong Island skyline. They offer some really nice perks for the guests including use of a house smartphone with free international calling, free wifi and free minibar. They have a great workout area and pool, so make sure to use them. All these nice features came at a very reasonable price compared to Hong Island where we stayed on our way back during this trip. I'd return to the ICON for sure.

Room Tip: The view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggiox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear viaggiox,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and tips on our beautiful property. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Please contact me directly and I will try to book you the best available room at the best available rate.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A very nice hotel with spacious rooms with great bath areas--both a tub and large walk-in shower. An excellent restaurant on the top floor. Very courteous staff. Well located . Best value for a great hotel in HK

Room Tip: I choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear winetravelers2014,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Hotel ICON. I am so glad to learn that my staff was able to make your stay that much more enjoyable! It is reviews like this that make me proud of my team. We constantly strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We would love to welcome you back again. Please email me directly and I will make sure you get a great room at a special rate.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful designed hotel. Rooms are equiped with smartphones that can be used in the city (free internet access, very much appreciated by our teenage children but also very practical to give directions. Rooms are beautifull, spacious and very clean. Free minibar was appreciated.
Hotel shuttle that has a 20 minutes loop, very handy!
Beautifull swimming pool, pool boy brings towels, water, some pieces of watermelon, ...
Breakfast is great - never seen a larger range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limburg1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Limburg1971,

We love doing what we do and are so incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future. If you are planning on visiting us again, please contact me directly. I will book you in a great room at a special price.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a fantastic modern & contemporary hotel with stunning views of HK harbour (the higher the floor the better), with brilliant staff with an absolute want to make everything perfect.

We stayed in a Club Harbour 38 and got a room on 27th floor (2710), which was gorgeous and fantastic views over the habour.

The added benefits of the Club room were absolutely worth the extra with afternoon tea and evening cocktails and canapés a great touch.

It isn't in the best location in HK, but it makes up for this is so many more ways.

Just one of the best - period!

Room Tip: go as high as you can and go for the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoisonDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear PoisonDwarf,

We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way.

We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.

Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a nice room for you.

With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing