We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #102 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location & comfortable”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Mercer is located perfectly for access to the MTR (Sheung Wan station), eateries & shopping. The room was very comfortable, clean and appointed well with respect of stocked fridge & amenities. The only comment regarding improvements would have to be the breakfast, with having stayed there for 8 nights gets very monotonous and boring. The selection needs to vary as scrambled eggs starts to wear thin after a while. Other than that I would recommend the Mercer to those wanting to stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_WarriorsWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    214
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
164
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

What a cool place - about 2 minutes walk (max) from the Sheung Wan MTR, and whilst I don't know Hong Kong at all - it felt like it was central enough to be a good location (and the surrounding streets had lots of character and I suspect lots of good food!). Was less than a 10 minute walk to the IFC Mall - which is good for shopping, and is also where the train from the airport stops - so very handy.

The room was quite groovy - with everything you needed - and lots of glass and lights and things. All the switches were well labelled - so not all the usual hassle of trying to work out which switch turns on the bedside lamps etc!

Free mini bar (basic snacks and drinks) and good wifi, really comfy bed. Couldn't make the nespresso machine work for some reason - but possibly user error.

Full kitchen and I liked the room design - slightly separating out the bed from the "living area". Only 2 rooms per floor too - very hard case.

Best thing was the staff though - the most friendly and helpful bunch of people. One gentlement even walked me down the road to show me where to get some photocopying and binding done, and told the shop assistant what I was after - personal service!

I did struggle to suss the hot water in the shower initially - but I blame that on jet lag! House keeping sorted it.

They even gave me an extra towel to let some work colleagues use my room for a shower when they arrived - no problem. The cleaners were delightful, and thanked me for coming to Hong Kong. The place was clean and great. And the price (just under $300NZD per night) is apparently pretty good for Hong Kong too.

Room Tip: I was on the 28th floor - so was very quiet. MIght be noisier closer to street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed at mercer for one night and it was a very pleasant experience. The room was neat and I especially like the well-stocked fridge which had juices and snacks. I will stay here again. I like the proximity to the mtr.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

i was again upgraded to a suite room and it was so comfortable for myself to stay there with such a great team of stuffs there, nice breakfast, etcetc.
all my local friends found its way easily to meet up with me for lunches & dinners and at the end of stay i felt like i was leaving my own place in HK:( will def. go back there when they open up an outdoor pool!!

Room Tip: maybe.... the first impression when you check in?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misiamicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Was in Hong Kong for the first time and this hotel served the needs well. We were upgraded to a superior room on level 10 for free as we checked in on my birthday, which was nice. The rooms are spacious and well appointed but i didn't love the glass door on the bathroom, you had to pull down a blind if you wanted to go to the toilet, I think there are some areas that designers shouldn't mess with, such as privacy and convenience of a toilet door.
Breakfast was included and was below average, but being in HK I was saving my stomach for better things later in the day so I didn't mind. AND the best coffee in HK is a mere 200 metres away (Barrista Jam on Jervois St), i come from Sydney so finding quality coffee overseas is an issue, but not in this case.
The location is a major plus because of the aforementioned coffee, plus its near 2 gay bars (positive for some) and a very short stroll to the strain station, and another stroll to the central escalator. It is an up and coming area so tourist amenities are not so tightly packed, but coffee and beer ticks most of my boxes.
Taxis aren't familiar with the hotel yet though so grab one of the cards off the reception desk to show to taxi drivers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flien1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Neat and fairly small hotel in very good location. There are many good restaurants an bars nearby in Soho are and a lot to see in walkig distance. Tram and MTR stations are also very close by and still this is a pretty peaceful location. Everything met our expectations and it was good value for money in our opinion.

Room Tip: We wnt for a standard room and it was ok for us. Not too spacious, but enough for a 4 night stay whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I spent 5 nights in The Mercer and it was honestly a very good experience. Normally going to one of the big business hotels in Wanchai district, the Rugby Sevens forced us out to Central and to this nice discovery. Personalized reception, practical and efficient staff, well organised hotel, smaller but very comfortable and clean rooms. The location is perfect for business as well as leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#106 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,067 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Property: Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing