We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option to stay in HK Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #103 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Option to stay in HK Central”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in Mercer for a week between Oct 6 to 11 2013
This Hotel is a superb choice if you intend to stay in HK Central.
It’s very close to the last station on the Island line so travelling is effortless.
It’s a very well maintained property.
It has a variety of eating options just outside the hotel from Chinese, Malay, Indian and even European and of course Mc Donalds is just a hop away.

It has free Wifi in room with super speed.

It has Free MiniBar which has 2 bottles of juices, 2 bottles of Beer, 2 additional cans of beer, 2 cans of Coke, 2 additional cans of Diet Coke and a pack of Chips all replenished daily.
It also has a fruit basket with excellent spread.

The free breakfast was decent with spreads for both vegetarians and others.

The rooms were very spacious even by HK standards.
The TV had decent channels to watch

Overall it’s the smartest choice to stay for business or family visits and I strongly recommend that you explore this property before going for other overpriced ones in HK

Room Tip: I stayed on 22nd Floor and was lovely view from up there. Cabs might find it difficult to find this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percy_talati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    214
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
164
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this new boutique hotel for business, including a weekend. The value for money is superb in otherwise overpriced Hong Kong. I upgraded to the suite for a small extra amount per night, which made the stay very comfortable. The bed is excellent. The staff were helpful. The hotel is within a few minutes walking distance to the mrt. The only negative is the breakfast which is quite sparse for European standards; the hotel also lacks a bar for the evenings. The latter is easily solved with a short ride up the hill where where is plenty of entertainment. An excellent choice for Hong Kong.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank micha_roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

So we arrive at at least 1130pm, and our tiredness is immediately turned around by friendly staff at the front desk welcoming us. And then the staff member tells us that we have been upgraded to a suite for our entire stay (4 nights) just because it was my birthday on the last day of our stay! Our Hong Kong sojourn was off to a terrific start.

Our room was spotless. The separate lounge area was spacious by HK standards and the bathroom was immaculate. The bed was super comfy and the room was very quiet - much better than my last stay in a LKF hotel while as very noisy.

If you are out during the day, I think the staff place a dummy card in your room' electrical switch so that the air conditioning is on when you eventually come back. A nice touch.

Breakfast was fine - continental breakfast mainly.

The location is great in my opinion - just on the edge of Central and very close to the MTR station. The walk to Central shopping is very easy, along Queen's Road.

All in all, unless I had practically unlimited means (ie I win the lottery or if someone else was paying) and could choose to stay somewhere like the Upper House (which looks spectacular judging from our meal at Cafe Gray Deluxe), the Mercer will be my first choice for Hong Kong every time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crpipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This place is a deal.

What a contrast this "not 5 star" hotel is to the 5 star competitors. Location in Central was great, and the tiny room--mirrored and fairly sound proof--was very comfortable. On the last day, I could hear noisy neighbors through the walls, but it was tolerable, and only lasted a little while. The room was immaculate, and the breakfast buffet was stunning-- not lots of different things, but a few excellent selections. The smoked duck was a real treat.

The desk was efficient and helpful, without any of that aggressive servility that one can find in the 5 Stars.

A real plus was the clientele--from families to business travelers to couples--it was a nice, hip mix. The nearby Western food restaurants--particularly the crepe restaurant down the street--were friendly and fine for single travelers.

Room Tip: Of course, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I thought the neighborhood seemed a little sketchy when our taxi first drove up to the Mercer, but this turned out to be a wonderful stay and I will be returning! Very convenient location on Hong Kong Island. The front desk staff, especially Kevin, were all incredibly helpful! Breakfast is simple but good. Free wifi. Free minibar (cola, beer, chips)!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEMgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Its not so easy to locate but below Queens rd can be found a very stylish boutique hotel. The standard of the rooms is high and furnishings and fittings are stylish and modern. Room was very spacious. Staff courteous. Subway station is 1 block away and walk to central not too lengthy. Good proximity to Sheung Wan is a boon for street photographers. Room rates are usually on the high side but mine was a discounted late booking - good value and good luck since many HK hotels increase rates when nearly fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plannerliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is located not in the the main district but 10 mn walk from the Main Streets but the location is nice with a lt of small typical stores
If you take the suite you are on the upper floors which is nice , big rooms, nice decoration , very clean . Only 2 rooms by floor so very quiet
The breakfast room is small but nice but breakfast is not fantastic. Very basic with not a lot of choice and very quickly they are out of some meal and the staff is not very helpful or nice compared with the reception staff which is a by cold but very helpful
The biggest deception is the pool! Very small and in a gloomy part of the hotel between 2 stones walls . But we had a very nice stay overall

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine16e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#106 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,067 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Property: Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing