We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valuable and Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #105 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Valuable and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room is not that big but enough for 3 persons. Well equipped and organized. Extra bed was also comfortable as already installed.
Furthermore, they clean it up very nicely. Every time we come back to the hotel and open the door, it feels great to be cleaned.
Free minibar is pretty enough to enjoy some beer and coke. I will stay here again definitely.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope to see you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    198
    58
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
155
49
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

After paying close to £650 for 5 nights stay we first arrived at the hotel with great expectations. But we soon realise that the reality didn't match these. The photos of the size of the rooms are misleading and they are in fact a lot smaller than what the pictures portray.

We were lead to believe that the balcony shown on the picture was part of the room, but in fact no room has a balcony.

The gym has only 5 machines in and the free weights max is 10kg. The swimming pool is utterly dreadful, with no place to lounge on a sunbed and relax. This tiny pool is surrounded by buildings so no sun can reach it and to top it off we have just been informed that we have to pay an additional £10 for breakfast!!!!

One additional thing is that when they describe 'free mini bar' food is not included. Only cans of coke and water.

Would definitely not recommend staying at this hotel! Complete rip off and I advise to seek else where and look for a place with better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
While we constantly strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, regrettably, on this occasion, we have fallen short of our key objective. Please rest assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our residents. For this reason, I hope that we will have another opportunity to improve your staying experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very well located. Easy to go everywhere. Surrounded with all you need: restaurants, bars, supermarkets, MTR, etc...
The rooms, say, the little apartments are clean and almost fully equipped... difficult to cook in house. There is only a microwave and there is also no kitchen ware. The breakfast is well served by the sympathy of the ladies but the buffet is really limited.
I visited The Mercer exactly when they joined Ascott. As a frequent user of Ascott, Somerset (resident) and Citadines... this hotel will be a very good choice in HK but still need a touch of Ascott!!!!

Room Tip: When choosing a hotel in HK, forget the views... the location is a must. After all, you must spend m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeZuKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis T, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. Appreciate for your support and we hope to see you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very good accommodation at a price that is generally below the typical price point for decent hotels in Hong Kong. Very good location in the Central district near to the ferry, Victoria peak and a number of great bars and restaurants, particularly around SoHo. The staff were also very helpful and probably the most friendly people I encountered in Hong Kong. Small but functional gym and pool were a plus. The buffet breakfast was a little basic but acceptable and the WiFi was variable a couple of times (although generally very good).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

By Hong King standards this is an excellent value hotel. Well appointed and reasonably sized rooms and a very comfortably bed. The bathroom in my room was also well appointed, all be it that you need to drop some blinds to ensure privacy between the bedroom and bathroom.

Breakfast was very reasonable and as a complementary option pretty generous. Service was also very friendly throughout the hotel.

A three minute cab ride gets you into the heart of Central and costs $HK 30 (about 2 GBP). A metro station is also 30 secs walk from the hotel. There are bars and a 7/11 convenience store very close to the hotel.

I would throughly recommend this hotel as a cost effective alternative to some of the more major brand hotels on Hong Kong Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you don't have enough money to stay at a five star hotel in HongKong, the Mercer is a great alternative. It is more of a business hotel, so the vibe does not speak: holiday. Location is great, breakfast is so lala, rooms are small (aren't they all in HK though?), the pool is beyond belief - a must see, but not in a good way.
I would stay here again, if I were on business, not for pleasure though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I usually stay at the Ovolo 286 Queens Road but for a change decided to try one of the several other 'boutique' hotels in Sheung Wan. Overall it was a good stay. How does it compare with the Ovolo? Some things both hotels do equally well/score equally highly: good location (Mercer is slightly closer to Central but not by much); free minibar; free and good wifi; small (just about OK) gym. The Ovolo gets extra marks for having a free mini launderette (very useful if you are staying more than a few days) and having a nice lounge area behind the (1st floor) reception. The Mercer scores for having much bigger rooms (the rooms at the Ovolo are tiny - no room for a wardrobe for example) which had a coffee maker,sink and microwave; for much better (free in both hotels) breakfast - the one at the Ovolo is acceptable, at the Mercer it is excellent (smoked salmon, good pastries, nice cooked stuff with perfectly done scrambled eggs for example); and the lifts are co-ordinated (in the Ovolo they aren't so everyone just pushes both buttons which slows everything down). Where would I stay next time? I like the Ovolo and it feels like 'home' in HK since I've stayed there many times...both are good choices but I think that I'd probably choose the Mercer: the rooms in the Ovolo really are small and I don't really look forward to the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#104 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#34 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Property: Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing