We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view , pity about the service ( or lack of)”

The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #1 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Kowloon
Description: An ideal all-day dining venue from breakfast, lunch, and accompanied by live band performance during afternoon tea and dinner.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing view , pity about the service ( or lack of)”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went to the lounge and bar at the ritz Carlton hotel in Kowloon, Hong Kong for my son' s birthday. At booking, it was made quite clear to us that there us a minimum spend of HKD $2,500 for a window seat ( roughly US300 +). Ok - but very disappointed with the menu choice at this price . Usd$200 hamburgers? Wonton noodles? There are however USD $1,000 wines etc.
amazing view but that is about it. Food ok but definitely not fine dining. And hardly any service. We preordered a birthday dessert, came as an ordinary dessert with no happy birthday choc slab and no candles. Pretty much spoilt our surprise for the birthday boy as I have to send it back. For US $100 per head, I do not expect to have to get up and down to walk to the front desk to get service.
I do notice a lot of loving couples getting cozy w each other who probably prefer to be left alone, then why advertise this as a all day dining venue? Maybe it is our own fault it believe in the ritz Carlton brand and all that hype. Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    90
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Awesome view and yummy cocktails”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Probably the best Pina Colada I have ever had.
Funny that this was served here as prior to this my fave was at the Ayana Resort and Spa in Bali ( formally owned by the Ritz-C)
View was quite stunning
Nice ambience
Expensive yes but not the most expensive on my travels

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balichick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“102nd Floor Bar at 420m”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stunning views of the Hong Kong skyline at night.
Great atmosphere with piano and singer.
Expensive drinks but that's not surprising given the location.
Superb venue to impress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to entertain”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

5 different serving times and great for meeting family/friends or I reserve the conf room to have a metting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GOCONSOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food/service/view”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have new year count down in the lounge and bar at 102 floor Ritz Carlton Hong Kong thanked to the reservation of hotel manager Juan.
The view is magnificent and the buffet is great.
We travelled many countries but we never see a buffet all you can eat including lobster s and duck foei gras ... And many seafood only regretis no oysters.
The staff is very polite , professional and even with new year eve with many guests they address us by name..
The food the wine the ambience is very joyful for new year count down .
The firework can be seen but little bit far away but the count down board is across.
A great dinner to start a new year 2014 with peace happiness and prosperous for all

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrHuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing