We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty(!), but nice rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #472 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dirty(!), but nice rooms.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We've stayed in this hotel just recently and we were left with mixed feelings.
Just when we entered the hotel we were not sure that thats the place because nobody approached us and welcomed us. Just after 5 minutes when we already sit on the chairs close to reception, we had to be the one to tell them we have booking to check in to their hotel. Service is not nice.

Good thing they upgrated our room for free, so we can have our double bed because all the small rooms were unavailable or had Twin beds.

When we entered our room we were surprised because it was huge according to HK standards and it had some kind of panoramic view,but it was dirty...bed had some hair on it, bathroom has towel that was left by previous guests(colorful children towel), honestly, it felt like they never wash floors becaus you cannot walk bare feet you will feel sand and dirt sticking to your feet.
We were not really comfortable even sleeping on their bed being afraid that its dirty and we might get sick.
Good thing in the room there was complimentary two bottles of water every day, free tea, coffee, snacks. There is a teapot, sp you can make some hot water. And fridge for you to keep some foods. Tv had some international channels,but not too much, it was enough for us though.
Free slippers were provided by hotel, i guess so we wont be feeling how dirty the floor is :):):)

The hotel has some 7/11 not so far away, on the first floor there is bakery,never had time to try it.
Door to door there is karaoke bar just in case you want to have drink or two before you sleep.

Location is kinda far, so if you dont mind walking at least for 20-30 minutes to train then this hotel is perfect for you, make sure to bring comfortable shoes! There is also some tram you can take,but we didnt know how to, so we just walked.

Overall experience was ok, but I dont think we will stay again, cleanness for us is determining factor.

Room Tip: Try to ask for upgrate, so you can get bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    40
    37
    23
    20
See reviews for
30
23
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed in Hong Kong for 9 days and decided to stay in the Vela as it was the few hotels that offered two double beds in one room. We are a family of 4 with young children. We did not want to have two separate rooms. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The best part is the value and the location as the hotel is very conveniently located close to Causeway Bay subway and all the bus and tram routes. There are some nice restaurants around the area and a food market not too far from the hotel to get fresh fruits. You can either go to the shopping market to bargain for trinkets and souvenirs or you can goto SOGO department store for the high end shopping. The downside of the hotel is the room is very small and there is little sound barrier. Overall it comes to value and the fact we rarely stayed inside the hotel except to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Although location wise I couldn't say it's very good, but it's about 5 minutes walk to Times Square so its alright.. But we had trouble with the taxi driver not knowing where it is when we first came.

But check in was fast, rooms is spacious - compared to Hongkong hotels with the $120 price tag. Beds are not 5 star, a bit hard but it's alright. A word of warning for family travelers, the bathroom and bedroom are separated by a hazy glass only - so you can almost see through (about 20% visibility).

Breakfast is lousy though, I ended up skipping almost all of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Instz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent a saturday night in this hotel with my wife. It is in Causeway Bay and 8 minutes walk to Times Square, one of the landmarks in HK Island. Around there, you find lots of interest and good for shopping. There are numerous shops and big sales chains. There is also a underground station for MTR.

The hotel also offers breakfast, lunch and dinner at relatively good price when compared to restaurants in this area. The room is not fancy but that is what I expect. Clean and the bed is very comfortable with free wifi in room.

Location-wise, it is OK. In terms of room rate, it is reasonable when you are in Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Find a room facing the racing course. The view is quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KanMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tang Xia China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel is trying to be chic, but somewhat failing. Its a bit of a hike from the Causeway Metro station, (exit A). Check in was slow, but the two chaps did not really look like they knew what they were doing or looked as if they cared for that matter. Reception is small and dingy, due to the darkened glass, which makes everything look dull and uninviting. I booked this on Agoda, at short notice, and it was no surprise to pay over the top for a room at this late notice. The room rate was circa 140 pounds sterling (room only), which for the standard of this room was far too much. As I am a regular visitor to Hong Kong, I have stayed in bundles of different hotels and I know what is available else where and what is value and what is not. Inside the room, the flooring is wood, which unfortunately looks dirty and tired already. The bathroom was okay, again a modern effect which is not really working and the bed was very low, with very poor quality pillows. On my side of the bed, there was no bedside cabinet either? The room view was good, overlooking Happy Valley Race Course, but as we were on the 6th floor we were very close to the flyover a couple of floors below and the noise level was pretty intense, until we pooped in our ear plugs and all was well in the world. It will take you about 15 minutes to walk to Wan Chai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My room is the one facing the racecourse. Someone here states that the rooms on this side gets a lot of noise from highway but maybe I got so used to the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong by the time I checked in here, I didn't quite notice.
I must admit, the outside and lobby is nothing much to look at so I was very apprehensive at first.
The service is great. I had a massive headache in the middle of the night and called the front desk, before long, he came with the staff supply of paracetamol. Great service.
The room is European standard: spacious, nice little kitchenette with microwave, kettle, etc. Fully equipped, I do really like it here.
The staff don't speak much English though, so I guess that's why some of the reviews here are bad. I speak Cantonese and I find the staff very very helpful.
The room is so big, you can sleep 4 people there.
The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom. It is full glass walls with very little frosting. We travelled together with friends so the guys have to go out when the girls were showering.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked this hotel to be close to the Wan Chai party district. It's about a 10-15min walk from the MTR station Wan Chai. The online booking site we used said that only 1 twin room was available. We'd rather have a double room, but since the info claimed the room had two double beds, we booked the room.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were upgraded for free to a double room with a queen sized bed. It turned out to be the largest room on the floor.

When we went up to the room, indeed it was spacious and also very clean. It had a small kitchen with two sinks, a microwave and a watercooker. The bathroom was also large and had a toilet, sink and shower. The sink was strangely small for the size of the bathroom. For some reason, they had also left out a place to hang towels close to the sink, so they were put above the toilet. Because the sink is so small, there was also little space to put toiletries. So we put most of our stuff in the kitchen.
The queen sized bed was very comfortable. There was an alarm clock with an iPod/iPhone dock.
In the back of the room, a desk was placed which was equiped with a wired internet connection. A cable was present, so I had brought my own for nothing.
The mini-bar has a few drinks (two ice tea, a sprite and a coke zero), which we used for free.
And finally, one could enjoy a cup of tea on the small balcony, having a clean table and chairs.

We found the room immediately very comfortable. Since we were a little tired, we rested there for a while and had a couple of the soft drink from the mini-bar. We went out relaxed.

Our room looked out on the horse-race track, which unfortunately also means you're at the same side as the highway that runs beneath the hotel. The hotel was the first I'd seen in Hong Kong that uses double glass, but the window frames are not of very high quality. So a lot of the traffic noise enters the room through those frames. When you're waking up from a night in Wan Chai, this can be a bit though. There was also some noise from housekeeping being in the hallway to clean the other rooms. It's a shame that the hotel chose to cut cost on the door and window frames, because without the noise our stay would have been perfect.

Concluding, we were rather satisfied with our stay there. A few details can be improved and the rooms should definitely be made more sound proof. Would I stay in the hotel again? I think I'd try to find a similar quality hotel in a less noisy place...

Room Tip: The room with the racecourse view are the rooms on the highway side, so I would guess room at the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChinaTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#459 of 718 in Hong Kong
404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#508 of 718 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#181 of 718 in Hong Kong
582 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,410 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: No.84-86 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vela Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing