We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, budeget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #478 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel should one or two star hotel, dependign on your level of expectation.I did not like this hotel.

A few good points:
- the location is neat time square bilding, so you can access to range of cheap to high priced restauaurants in the mall, and to many cenral activities. But you need to walk 10 min thorugh crowded streets and narrow, busy traffic lights to get there.
- The hotel staff was friendly and responsive to complaints.
- Wi-Fi is free. But it disconnects after 10 -15 min, and you need to reconnect.

Bad points
- I did not expect much about this hotel because of ite relatively low price, but I assumed that it would be clean. But it was not clean. In particular, bathroom was not clean and it had green, black molds on the sink. And dirty handles of bathroom cabinet... On the room floor, there were hairs and dusts in the corner.
-The room furnitures were cheap, old, scratched, and unpleasant to look at.
- The hotel must be old, and the rooms were not well maintained over the years.
-The room is very small, and bed mattress was really basic.
-There is air conditioning on the ceiling. When it was on, I could see there were lots of dusts on the air vents. I turned it off not to enhale the dusts.Fortunately, it was rainy and cloudy, I did not need it.
- There is one very small restaurant. But seeing the condition of room, I lost my appetite to eat there.

I think there are better hotels in HK at the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlee5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Worst "4 stars' ever, dirty, the mattes was hard. The bathroom leaked. The roo looked outdated, the tv was poorly installed.

i really did not like it. I compare it with Crown plaza, and the difference is abismal.

Best

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeObando1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here with my parents and younger brother for six nights and I have to say I have had a pleasant stay in vela. Upon check in the staffs were friendly and we didn't need to wait for long time. Room wise, it was clean with free wifi (albeit a little slow, it was still usable), two bottles of small drinking water&mini bar which was replenished daily. The downside I would say was that I could hear my neighbour when they were about to enter their room and the double beds in my room wasn't really double bed but more like super single but it didn't cause us much problem as it fits two normal/thin people perfectly well. In terms of location u still need to walk for a while to get to the mtr station but it was very bearable distance. Shopping area was also just within walking distance. Overall vela was quite of a prime choice to stay in as the price was very reasonable as well. Oh yea, and there's a convenience store down the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessedchild9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Vela for two nights.

Upon check-in, we almost missed the entrance because it was at the back of the hotel and there was not enough, or even no lighting at all. Taxis were only allowed to pick up or drop off at the back !! Very inconvenient when you travel with one big & one small suitcases.

Staff were unfriendly. Room was dark, old, dated, gave us an unclean & creepy feeling !! Boxes of bottled water/linens were found lying around the corridor right outside our room, blocking the fire exit. This made us worry about our safety in case of fire and wondered whether we should stop using their towels !! The so-called pantry at the end of the corridor was just partitioned off by a 'curtain', which we dared not put our heads thru in case we found something awful !!

We didn't find many staff around during our entire stay, either on guest floor or at the tiny little reception. Again, this made us wonder about our safety inside the hotel !!

The location might be the selling point of this hotel. But again with so many other options available, I definitely would never return unless they have a complete make-over !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Considering there are so many places to stay in Hong Kong, you'll be better off avoiding this hotel. The hotel facilities itself are pretty generic, and the only really positive thing about it is it's location (close to the MTR and shopping and dining areas.

Service from the front desk staff is VERY average, mostly inconsistent depending on who is there.

WiFi in the rooms are a joke. You need to do your emails in the small lobby.

There's also some sort of "night club" on the 3rd floor so you get to see a lot of dodgy looking people in the lobby and elevators.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leadfaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Chose this after bad night in cheap digs across the harbour, well worth the $115USD a night given it's 3 stars, cheap as I stayed 5 nights. Not close to the train at Causeway Bay even though the entry is close by in Times Square, since you walk another 5-10 mins underground. Wan Chai station is a little further. But I used the trams and it was great.
The rooms are average size, comfy bed, great toilet and shower, friendly staff, safe in the room, free minibar (not alcohol). Cafe/restaurant downstairs. They offer airport transfer for $150 but you have to walk 5 mins to the collection point. Heavy smokers smell in the exit stairwells but nothing in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Vela for three nights (11th floor, room 1111). For our family (2+3), we had a room with two double beds. There were no babycots available. Even though the beds were tough and not wide enough for double bed, we managed to sleep, but not as good as we had hoped. Walls were pretty thin. The traffic noises did not bother that high up. The view was great. Minibar was free (water, cookies, nuts) and breakfast (plate where were toast, scrambled eggs, half a tomato, potato and sausage plus coffee/tee and orange juice) included to roomprice. There was a taxi stand next to the hotel and subway station quite near (about 10 minutes walk). The room and hotel was three star quality, for the price ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMVfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#459 of 723 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#507 of 723 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#178 of 723 in Hong Kong
587 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#213 of 723 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#140 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: No.84-86 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £57 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vela Hong Kong Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing