We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Sheung Wan district”
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel LBP
Ranked #57 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Sheung Wan district”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hotel LBP is a relatively new hotel not too far from the Sheung Wan metro station. Everything has been designed with attention to detail and there is a kind of clean "European industrial" feel to the generally black, gray and white color scheme. For Hong Kong standards, the room was reasonably-sized and designed to make the most out of the space. A bonus is that breakfast is included, nothing fancy, but enough. There is also a small balcony outside of the small breakfast area. The staff was very gracious and helpful. I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetalRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    485
    95
    15
    4
See reviews for
204
503
121
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location in Sheung Wan. I think it has very recently opened which explains why some of the staff weren't as efficient as they could have been. But this will no doubt work itself out over time and overall we were very pleased.

The room was clean, comfortable and roomy - which is a huge luxury in Hong Kong!

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from Queen's Road. They are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Great_Stuartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A lovely new hotel in Sheung Wan. About 10 mins walking distance from the nearest Metro station. Locate between the 4th and 20th floors of a commercial building - the hotel has everything to boast for. A small coffee shop which serves amazing hot breakfasts every morning to free wi-fi in each guest room. The staff is very polite and accommodating. Initially I thought the price was high but it is really good value for money at around USD 120/night inclusive of taxes. They do not have a room service restaurant but the location is filled with them around. There is a super market, chemist, photo lab, metro and the main busy downtown street is just around the corner as well so there is nothing to complain about.

The rooms are nice, moderately sized, fitted with amazing toiletries, hair dryer, lcd tv and a very good view of the sea from some rooms. Almost everything you can ask for in a good hotel. If not for the location and if they had their own building, this hotel would easily be charging double the rates. Highly recommended if you do not mind walking 10 to 15 mins every day to the metro station.

Room Tip: Try asking for a sea view room. It is really amazing from the 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal_Narang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is quite nice. It's a short walk to the Sheung Wan station on the Island Line and a HKD20-25 ride from Central/Lan Kwai Fong area.

Overall, the rooms are very clean and newly renovated - looks like they have a corporate discount at Ikea and/or West Elm. The beds are firm and rooms are pretty well insulated against noise. The bathrooms are compact but very efficient. Water takes a minute to warm-up, but it'll get firey hot if you like an especially toasty shower.

My complaints are few if any. The hotel shares the building with other offices, so you have to go thru a general entryway to get to the lobby on the 4th Floor which can be a little confusing, especially when you're meeting people in the "lobby". The immediate neighborhood is nice and safe, but you have to walk a few minutes to get a coffee, sandwich, dinner, etc. Therefore, you are very CLOSE to the happening neighborhood of SoHo/Lan Kwai Fong, but you're *in* said neighborhoods. I paid over $1100 for a single for four (4) nights during the New Year holiday, which I thought was a bit much to be very-close-but-not-in-the-neighborhood I was partying in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnyterambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Two of us stayed in a Business Suite for three nights. So glad we did this instead of getting a regular room, as even this was on the small side. Still, it was nice to have a separate space with a small dining table and a kitchen area. The kitchenette could have done with a microwave, there was certainly enough space for it.

The bedroom had excellent black-out curtains, which I wish was standard in every hotel room, but isn't always. The bed was nice and firm. The layout in the bedroom was slightly odd, as the bedroom door opened onto the closet door, and they were always clashing. The full length mirror in the bedroom closet was smoked and dark, so although it looked nice, you couldn't really use it for make-up or getting dressed as you could hardly see in it.

The bathroom was tiny and functional, with frosted glass windows and doors. A bit of a gap in the door. I'm not sure how comfortable I would be sharing this room with someone I wasn't very familiar with. The rain shower wasn't powerful enough which was a shame, and the drain was on the side of the wall instead of on the floor, so the water wouldn't drain properly.

I'm putting pictures up of their nice comfortable breakfast room which had a simple but effective spread of fruit, toast, tea, and coffee.

Overall, the room was well sound proofed, which is a big deal to me.

The best thing for me was that you could walk to the MTR quite easily. It took about seven minutes to walk there. I timed it one morning.

However, if you're the type who gets totally bored waiting for the elevators to arrive, then don't stay here! We're usually quite patient, but because this hotel is in a mixed-use building (there were offices and residences, I think), we waited quite often, and quite long for the elevators. Not a deal breaker, but something to consider.

They had free wifi in the rooms, which we used.

Oh, and they provided complimentary Hampstead Tea bags from London, which are organic and fairtrade. We got chamomile, peppermint, and ginger and lemon. I know it sounds lame, but I love getting the same type of tea that I drink at home!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyuan, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I selected this hotel mostly because it was a busy weekend, and this was by far the best price I could find. I was very pleased, though it will not be the place for everyone.

Cons:
-Rooms are very small--hardly any place to put a suitcase.
-Shower entry is small--a very large person might not be able to get into it due to narrow entry.
-Lobby is on fourth floor, hotel are on a few floors of high-rise--not your typical hotel layout.
-No MTR (metro) close, though I think new stations are being built, and there is a tram and buses nearby
-Taxi drivers not so sure of location
-Wait for elevator could be long

Pros:
-My room overlooked a garden--not another building! (This is kind of a big deal in Hong Kong)
-Very clean, modern room. Small, but upscale
-Nice extras--a box of quality shampoo, conditioner, etc.
-Boutique feel, small but upscale
-Free wifi
-Great neighborhood
-Check-in service was outstanding. Generally good service.
-Really feel like you are in Hong Kong--locals live and work in this building
-Free (though simple) breakfast. Nice deck.
-Nice, comfortable bed.

I really like the area, which is now my favorite to stay in Hong Kong. Hollywood Road is the oldest road in Hong Kong, and has lots of antique shops and Western bars and cafes. It is a nice walk to soho and not far from the harbour and Sun Yat-sen park. Hollywood park across the street is small, but very nice.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel. Another guest complained about the shower not draining properly and also was having trouble with the key card not working on the elevator. I don't think I would have wanted to share my small room with anyone, but as a solo traveler it was almost perfect--if only there was a suitcase stand.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is well run. Friendly and enthusiastic staff. The hotel was clean throughout, but there is an odor from the flush water of the toilet that went away after 30 minutes. We just turn the bathroom exhaust fan on for awhile after we flushed the toilet-not a big deal. The arrangement of the room was well designed and the room was well built. The bedding was comfortable. However the room was small. We had a deluxe room with king size bed. When I sit at the desk, there is no space for my wife to walk through. There is no dinning in this hotel, but it offers continental breakfast only. The location of this hotel is good. It locates in the western district, but within 10 to 15 minutes walk from Central. Compares to the price of the other hotel, this one offers good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Property: Hotel LBP
Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing