We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, and excellent service”
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LBP
Ranked #59 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Booked under their promotional "Family Package" and got 2 tickets to ocean park, 2 all day MTR passes, etc. Got upgraded to their business suite which is a lot more spacious compared to other hotels in Hong Kong. When checked in to the room, the restroom smelled because of the "salted water" flushing the toilet?? However, Carol Kwok from the front desk took care of us and immediately switched us to another suite. Rooms are newly remodeled and in excellent condition. I love the bath amenities box (all the things you need) including shampoo, conditioner, lotions, shaving kits,etc are from a more upscale brand called "London O". In addition, they have organic tea in the room. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at the lobby and afternoon snacks. The only negative was that one evening around 6pm, there was no hot water (maybe due to a thunderstorm). It took them a while to fix it. Location is excellent, 10 minutes walk to the Sheng Wan MTR station and there are buses and mini buses all around the hotel. All in all, I am really impressed with their service especially from Carol. I'm not sure if she is the manager. However, if you have any issues, I believe she will definitely help you with it. Will come back again for my next visit.

Room Tip: Go to their website and see if they have any current promotion, we got 2 free ocean park tickets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great little boutique hotel in Sheung Wan, not too far from the MTR (would not recommend taking luggage on this walk as there is a lot of foot traffic to contend with, just get a taxi from/to HK station for airport express, it's cheap!)

We got a free upgrade to a business suite which was much appreciated! Plenty of room to spread your luggage out - shower/bathroom facilities were also of a good quality. The bed was a little small, if you are close to 6ft your feet will be hanging off the end!

Breakfast was nice, although the dining area does not have much room, so if everyone in the hotel decides to go for breakfast at once, you might have to stand up :)

Free WiFi was really good too, nice and fast, staff were really friendly, even helping us catch a taxi when we checked out - thanks Pepsi!

Would stay here again if they keep their prices where they are.

Room Tip: Get the business suite if you like a little more space than the average HK hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We picked this boutique hotel due to its location near by the University of Hong Kong. The rooms are modern, the Wifi is great with firm mattresses. The rooftop is a great place to sit out and have a full breakfast (though the menu is limited and repetitive) and evening have snacks and drinks for you to refresh yourself. The reception and service persons make it a point to help you - we wanted a late checkout and they arranged for us to keep our suitcases safely and collect them later. Locationally, right opposite the bus stop, 3 minutes from the tram station and 5 minutes walk to Sheun Wan MTR. Holloywwod Road with its great antiques and the Ma Moon temple is a leisurely walk nearby. Only if the glass bathrooms had opaque film and a latch..but for its price, location and service, a great stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed was in the front and faced the street with lots of buses and traffic..suggest sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Accomodation in HK is always hideously high and has been rocketing over the years. This is a new hotel in western area of HK island, not that centrally located, but well, HK island is of that size, it cannot be too inconvenient. We got upgraded to a suite, you cannot expect too much of a HK hotel because the size must be small considering the city's limited living space, but the suite is quite well-equiped, a bedroom and a living room with fridge and sink and cupboards and a small dining table, TV-set and sofa. Quite decent. The only shortcoming is that the water flows a bit slowly in the shower. Breakfast is basic but ok, and included in the fare.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Hotel LBP was exactly what I wanted for my stay in Hong Kong. It was close enough to walk everywhere (or transport was very close by) but quiet so sleep at night came easy. The room was very well equipped and everything I needed was in there. The rooms are also of a good size (being in HK) and the shower was great after a long day of walking around. There are some great little coffee shops close by and restaurants for dinner etc are only a walk away. Breakfast is basic but all that you needed to start the day off. The free snacks and drinks are great too. I found the staff helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Some staffs are freindly but others don't really care. Nice room, okay location, free internet which is a life saver. Overall very good for the value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmtl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is located quite a walk from the Sheung Wan MTR station. Tiresome if you are going to be ladden with heavy bags of shopping. So it may be more convenient to hitch a ride on the trams or buses, which stop a block or so behind the hotel. The suites have a decent size, good layout and nice decor. Still a bit of a squeeze here and there, but fine for a couple. Bathroom amenities like shampoo, hair rinse and body wash are of good quality, and come in adequate 60ml containers refreshed every day. You get a big bottle of water and two small ones with compliments daily, adequate for making tea in-room (sadly no instant coffee packs, sugar or milkmare supplied; only peppermint and camomile tea packs). The hotel is generous with an open pantry when you can help yourself freely to sodas, snacks, fruits, Nespresso coffee and a small continental breakfast every day. There is also a small selection of DVDs, CDs and books you can borrow without having to sign in and out. The free usage of two laptops in the pantry is also much welcome. Overall, service staff are efficient and cordial. Don't expect any warmth or personality from them. A pity, because that may have induced us to return more assuredly, rather than contemplate trying the somewhat similar but 50% cheaper 60 West located at the tram stops behind (although the latter took a whole week to respond to our enquiries and was thus passed over this time).

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank floppybunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#28 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 727 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £76 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing