We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel LBP
Ranked #54 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel has very good and convinience location: near metro station Sheung Wan, near SoHo, near Macao Ferry Terminal, near tram station.
Stuff is friendly and helpful.
We got free upgrade for business suit. The room is stylish and well equipment: two LCD TV, refrigerator, hair dryer, kettle, tea things, safety box (it was defective), nice bathroom, free wi-fi.
We glad that we made correct choice. Our anticipations were fulfilled.
LBP has a few rawbacks:
The quality of room cleaning was not satisfactorily all 9 days.
The 4/F lounge has too little tables for breakfast and not timely renewed of food.
And subjectively. I had my birthday, while staying at LBP, but noone from stuff congratulated me at any form. This is strange disinterest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polina-Artem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

I usually stay in one of the hotels along Nathan road or in the Tsim Sha Tsui area and I have found them to be quite impeccable (My Langham review from earlier this year >> http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d304490-r129178020-The_Langham_Hotel_Hongkong-Hong_Kong.html). Since I wasn't travelling with my parents this time, I had to look for a place that was "young-adult-price-friendly" and that's why I seeked out this hotel. From the airport, we took a taxi going here and the driver was not so familiar with the establishment (the ride cost about 300+ HKD). I honestly wasn't expecting much from LBP, having stayed in larger brand hotels, but was pleasantly surprised by the place. The location is quite good, though not central, the Sheung Wan area is interesting to explore and the MTR is a walkable distance from the hotel making the rest of the city very accessible. The room we had was of a comfortable size and ambience with a small living area, clean bathroom and bedroom space. Not much praises to be said about the breakfast or service, which were both adequate anyway. All in all, good location, great value for money, cannot say anything bad about the place, would book here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank gggoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location is super - Central is the best part of HK and the hotel is just step out of the buzzling Queens Central street. 3 minutes walk to the Holliwood street, great '208' bar and restaurant around the corner, 10 mins walk to the multiple bars and restaurants at escalator. 15 mins walk to central piers and IFC mall. Shops and laundry 30 sec walk, Macao ferry terminal 10 mins walk Staff is very helpful, at the same time self-confident, without any annoyance. Breakfast is simple, but very much home-like, tasty and fresh. Rooms are very clean, well-equipped and you can really settle like at home. The main part for me - bathroom and shower - are convenient. I definitely recommend!

The AC system is a bit loud, we turned it off to sleep well that is ok in October, but I am not sure whether it is ok in summer. At the same time in low-floors rooms you would hear the transport on the road, in high-floor rooms - the sound of other buildings' aircons if you open the windows. But this is HK - there are too many sounds in this city to be able to avoid them. I am still sure the hotel is the best option you can find in Central for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at LBP for 3 nights
Location is very good.

We payed for a standard room and got a free upgrade to an executive room (which has a bedroom + a living/dining area)

Our room was very modern and almost seemed like a luxury cruise ship.

- Bed was on the firm side with good linens and extra pillows
- Safe: yes
- Quiet: yes
- Amenenities: yes, really nice in a special display box
- TVs, (2) flat screens with plenty of premium channels
- WiFi: worked well in all areas of the hotel
- Aircon was almost too strong in the room (blower setting)

- Bathroom was compact, although the shower stall was a good size. I did stub my toe going into the bathroom a couple of times, as there is a raised lip
- Water temperature and pressure were good

- The kithcen area has a kettle, fridge, free water, utensils and bowls/plates, but oddly no micro-wave.

- The breakfast area is just adjacent to the lobby. Due to the small size, some people had to wait for tables sometimes. The breakfast is ok only. i.e. styrofoam plates, store bought slice bread, some tinned fruit plus one fresh fruit offering, eggs.

- There is a lending library with books and DVDs.

- Staff were friendly

What we liked:
- Cleanliness, security and sound-proofness.
- Location
- Value for the $

To improve:
- Add a micro-wave to the room
- Add more fresh fruit to the breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Took a taxi from the airport, the driver was confused of the location so have a map of where the hotel is located.
We went with our 2 kids (13 & 20) and booked 2 rooms. Rooms consisted of bedroom, bathroom and living room/kitchenette, perfect for our stay. Rooms clean and fantastic views.
Very convenient with the MTR. Get yourself a Octupus pass which is HKS 150 (50 deposit), which you swipe going in and out of the train station (same as the Oyster card in the UK). Makes it easier than always looking for small change plus the fares are cheaper.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and they supply you with maps and information. We went to Macau for the day and they gave us all the info. Wifi is available in rooms and breakfast area.
Would definitely stay there again as we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverstar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked a standard room but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an executive room. This meant a living area as well as a small kitchenette. Karl, who checked us in was very efficient and had maps ready for us to the nearby restaurant, bus stop to the airport and MTR station.
Rooms were fine and clean. While some may find it cramped, we were pleased with the extra living room space. 3 bottles of water were provided daily which came in handy.
Finding your way to the hotel may prove challenging, but we found our way with google maps direction in hand, and had no problems finding the tall blue building.
The other receptionist, Pepsi, was a gem, allowing us to leave our baggage at the hotel after check-out to do some last minute shopping.
The breakfast area is small and has limited seating. It was not a problem for us and there is actually an outdoor area where you can have your breakfast in the sun. Food for breakfast was a variety of fruits, sausages, scones, pancakes and orange juice, milk, coffee or tea. There’s even an entertainment room to watch DVD’s that they have.
You’ll need access cards to operate the lift and the room door separately; do not assume one card does it all.
Overall a good experience and would come back again for the service, cleanliness and strategic location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel LBP for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon trip. We got upgraded to a business suite, which was very roomy and comfortable. We caught a cab from the MTR which was cheap & an easy way to get to the hotel. The staff at the hotel are lovely and went out of their way on numerous occasions to assist us (such as discounted tickets to Ocean Park & dropping off an iron). We found the breakfast basic but absolutely fine. Only small problem we experienced a couple of mornings was finding a table/chairs to eat breakfast, but there was always the outside area which is lovely. You get what you pay for and if you're after a comfortable, clean, well located, boutique hotel with helpful staff, we couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 723 in Hong Kong
462 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £68 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing