We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favourite Chinese Restaurant ”
Review of The Chairman

The Chairman
Ranked #139 of 15,375 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Description: Cantonese cuisine is light and delicate, and strives to bring out the original flavors of food. The foremost element of good food is the use of the finest and freshest ingredients. To us, local produce is an excellent choice. Chickens and pigs are raised locally in the New Territories. They taste great because they are fed with good quality forage and slaughtered daily. A number of old-style condiment stores continue to adopt traditional ways to produce superb first extract soy sauce in its purest and freshest form, and hand craft beancurd sheets with strong bean taste. A small number of local fishermen are persistently sailing out during the early hours to the South China Sea to catch live fishes and shrimps. In places like Yuen Long, there are a substantial number of vegetable farmers working diligently on their fields. At The Chairman, we have all along tried our best to acquire these freshest among the freshest ingredients, although their prices are slightly higher.
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

omg!

traditional guangdong cuisine! their food are very fresh! the first time i finish whole fish bullhead thing! it is very tasty, the sauce is delighted the whole thing!!!

and crab dish!!!! with the Chinese noodle thing!!! i miss it everyday!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ysysssysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

Nice traditional Cantonese food.
A little hard to find though as no really English signs.
The Pigeon was really tender.
Good interior and friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kevinbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

We arrived at 1:59 pm and were turned away because the kitchen closes at 2 pm. This would have been understandable but I was very surprised by how rude the host was to us. If this is representative of their customer service I would not be interested in dining here in the future.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Had a great meal on the set menu. Most dishes are good and the crab is outstanding.
However the service is traditional style and food is a bit on the very high side.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobBobGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

We requested a tasting menu and saved us the headache of ordering. The seafoods tonight were all cooked to perfection in terms of “time spent” in the wok or steamer.

—Peppercorn soy baby squid was tender and I could taste the intense peppercorn oil.
—The fried tofu was too salty for me. The idea was great though combining salted fish w fermented tofu.
—The flipper lobster was cooked perfectly and the crab roe/shrimp oil added extra layers of flavor to the sweetness of the meat.
—The steamed crab (signature dish) was of good size and swimming fresh. The meat was sweet and firm. I wish it could have just a tiny bit more Shaoxing wine. The flat rice noodle was good but could be a bit thinner. It was not as silky as expected.
—The steamed fish head was perfectly seasoned with the chili paste and it was mildly hot. Again swimming fresh!
—Smoked duck had a strong fragrance of the camphor wood and the seasoning was just right. Meat was tender and I wish the skin was crispy.
—I think the braised spare ribs was the best dish of the night. There was a good balance between the tartness from the vinegar and the saltiness from the preserved plum. The sauce was just thick enough to coat the spare ribs. Not easy to do. The outside was crisp while the inside was tender and juicy !!
— The bean curd and vegetables was good.

Service - attentive but not intrusive
Ambience - average

Is it worthy being top 50 restaurants in Asia? I have reservation. The meal was great but not the most memorable... there are a couple of Cantonese restaurants which I think are better in my humble opinion.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank vivtsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chairman also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Chairman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.