We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms, good location but will never recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Day and Night Hotel
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family and I stayed in this hotel last September. The rooms are new but very small. The toilet is very small, so when you take shower the whole place will be wet. When i requested for additional pillow and blanket, I had to call 4-5 times before it gets delivered. Yes, tea, hot water and microwave are available but you will never use them as it is very dirty. You can even see their staff sleeping on the walk way. The location is good as it's close to the train stations however i don't feel safe. Too many Pakistani and Bangladeshi scalpers on the ground floor. It looks like a public market with all the stalls selling Indian food, phone cards etc. You have to que for a long time as the lift are very small. We are actually taking which ever lift is available and use the back stairs but it is very dirty and so smelly. If you are looking for a cheap hotel or if you are on a budget trip, do not stay in this hotel if you do not want to get disappointed. We even got stranded for 2 days because of the typhoon but we didn't go back to this hotel and booked another hotel which is much better and also located in Nathan road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellar_13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The rooms are kept clean and tidy by jen, who was very nice. John, the Manager was very acomodating as well. I love that it has free tea, hot water, and microwave. The hotel is at Chungking Mansions, which is at the heart of Nathan Road, its actually walking distance to almost everywhere. If you're going to Hongkong and youre on a budget, i definitely recommend Day and Night!

Room Tip: choose rooms on the 10th floor, plus my friend and i booked the triple bedroom so that we can have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed in Day & Night Hotel for 3 nights. I would have said that it was a pretty good experience if I hadn't met some of their employee (or boss).

The first day, I arrived early in the morning so I asked for an early check-in. They told me that it was possible, but the room was in another floor because the one I payed for was still occupied. As the boss owns several guesthouses in the same building, he putted me in "Singh Guesthouse". I accepted and I took that room.

After two nights here, I asked to visit the room I was supposed to have at the beginning (the room I actually payed for!) in Day & Night Hotel. I found that this room was much bigger, much newer, and much better equipped that the one I had. Naturally, I asked to change to that room as it was available... Surprise! The employee (maybe he is one of the bosses) asked me to ad 50HK$ per night to have this one! I tried to negotiate to get what I had paid for, but he didn't accept any of my arguments. Moreover he has been quite disagreeable (not far from rude!) with me and all the other customers who tried to obtain anything from him such as a receipt... which he refuses to give for “god knows” which reason.

To conclude, the rooms are small but seems to be pretty nice, even if I didn't even sleep in one of them! The price is quite cheap for Hong Kong standard (as long as they don't ask you to pay more than you already did). Unfortunately, I remain a bit disapointed because of this lack of service and professionalism. I finished my Hong Kong journey in another hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris4487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked the hotel through internet from 4-9 August 2013. Due to emergency situation I have to delay our arrival and my wife and son went earlier than me. The flight was so late they showed around 23.00hrs midnight.

When she showed the payment receipt on her cell phone, the man on the front desk borrowed her phone cell, browsing curiously for quite a long time looking for something as if he was suspicious of the booking confirmation showed to him.

So there were my wife and son. An alien woman with a teenage son, perplexed in the middle of the night in a foreign city. And the man on the front desk showing no mercy told her that she was late and no room for her...

Later I found out the hotel policy written at the bottom of the booking receipt:
"This booking is Non-Refundable and cannot be amended or modified. Failure to arrive at your hotel will be treated as a No-Show and no refund will be given (Hotel policy)"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank irwanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Ultra-small rooms - bed and narrow passage - store your suitcase under the bed and pack it on the bed - no other way to do this. But in the same time: room has all you need - a/c, fan, tv, sconce, hairdryer, private shower. Also this property has good wifi in all rooms, microwave oven, hot water dispenser on the reception.
Very good location near the shopping malls and 2min walk from subway station. Bus stop for bus N21 (from/to HKIA) is right in front of hotel.
What's to say more? Yeah, There is long queues to elevators in the building. They require key-deposit on check-in (about HKD20), but no one will return you this money if you will check-out in the night :)
Anyway, good value for the money for those who need to stay in HK for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Hotel is pretty decent in this price range. supportive staff but rooms as per booking was not honoured on arrival causing inconvenience.
very close to malls and central and so is the primary choice for all travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AravindhMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had read several reviews about this place before staying so had a pretty good idea of what to expect. Most of what you read is true...the place is very difficult to find as it's on the 9th floor above a market. The market is full of leering men that would be a bit creepy if I was travelling solo. The door to the hotel didn't even have a sign when we got there so you think you're ringing someone's apartment. The rooms are really clean and surprisingly have pretty much everything you need...except space! My boyfriend kept knocking things of the nightstand as there's no room between them. The bathroom is TINY! If you are of any size at all, you would have a very hard time maneuvering in there. The staff aren't overly cold but make it seem like they're going out of their way to do anything extra. The major plus of this place is its location in the city. It's an easy walk to pretty much everything we wanted to see. I would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenellephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Days Hotel
Days Hotel
#84 of 164 in Hong Kong
25 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#68 of 164 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Beepackers Hostel
Beepackers Hostel
#48 of 164 in Hong Kong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
#16 of 164 in Hong Kong
115 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#4 of 164 in Hong Kong
430 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Homy Inn
Homy Inn
#24 of 164 in Hong Kong
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day and Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day and Night Hotel

Address: Flat D8, E2, 10 Floor, Block D, Chungking Mansion Building, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £12 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Day and Night Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is a part of the China of Dhillon Hotels Hong Kong Ltd. And is located at the heart of the city center and is catering to a lot of tourists and backpackers from Europe, America, Australia, Canada and rest of the world. We have single bed rooms for one to two persons and twin bedrooms for two to four people. We have facilities you can compare with any hotel. Our guesthouse is equipped with the latest CCTV surveillance systems and safe deposit box to ensure your belongings are safe all the time during your stay. Our guest house is renovated recently and the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Our rooms are of superior quality with en-suite shower and toilet, hot and cold water 24 hours a day. Each room has a air conditioning, telephone for free local calls and remote control colored TV English and other regional channels. We have installed the latest High Speed Wi-Fi broadband to all our rooms and the lobby. We also have a business desk at the reception for fax, printouts, photocopy, scanning services. We can also arrange China Visa's in 24 hours and make travel arrangements during your stay in Hong Kong. Please feel free to approach our staff anytime and will find that our staff is friendly, hospitable and speak fluent English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Day and Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Day And Night Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing