We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit shady”
Review of Marco Polo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Hostel
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were as "clean" as it could be, we had trouble with the shower and the check in process was terrible. The "hostel manager" became very aggressive when I expressed the concern of only staying 1 night instead of 2. Wouldn't really recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sarsiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

It is horrible. We had a bad experience here ! The room in reality looked totally different than in pictures.It was terrible! And we couldn't sleep in that room as it was fool of big cockroaches (the size of it was like a half of hand's finger!!!). It even didn't look like hostel at all. Everything was not clear. Shower was like one feet from closet so you actually couldn't have a shower. What is more, that building was fool of strange people from India, Pakistan, Africa, etc. It was frightening... We were scared to walk here alone. Don't trust that people and never go to Chung King Mansion !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jovitatatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

First of all, I've send to Marco Polo Hostel 3 times an email to ask them if it will be not a problem that we arrived in the middle of the night.
No response.
So, we've arrived in the middle of the night.
We went to Block C, Floor 15.
First, we couldn't find the reception. After, we've found the reception, a man was talking to us, very rude.
He asked what we want. I've showed him my reservation. We've paid also the rest of the amount of the room.And suddenly, he was gone, murmuring he was go somewhere else to get the key.
We were waiting for more than 20 minutes.
It gave us a very "strange" and unsafe feeling because he was gone with our money.
Than he came back, with another man.
The other man asked us, also very rude, why we want to check in in the middle of the night.
I've told him that I've send 3 emails to ask if it will be ok to check in late.
(I'm working also in a resort and people can check in 24 H/Day).
We've asked also for the receipt of the payment and our change money.
"Tomorrow" was the answer, very rude again.
But we demanded again and again and again.
Than he threw the receipt and the money on the floor, in the front of us.
We traveling a lot but this is the first time that people reacting like this.
The other man, still very rude, asked us to follow him.
But we didn't trust them anymore.
We asked our money back.
He threw it again.
We've took our money and RUNAWAY from this very rude and ugly place!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stay at this hotel for my first time. And to me,this hotel feel suck!!!
1) Cockroaches infestation is damn serious. You can see the cockroaches crawling on the floor and the bathroom.
2) The receptionist is really rude. I request to change room on the next day but I get scolded by the receptionist + get a more worse room.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank STLC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I am currently staying at the Marco Polo hostel, one of an number of hotels in the same building run by the same company (so don't be surprised if your room is on a floor with a different hotel name!)

I arrived late at night (midnight), and being my first time in Hong Kong, I was a little unsure of the place as it seemed a little unsafe at first glance

However, upon going to the end of the shops, to block C and then to floor 15, I was greeted by "you must be Derek", which was good customer service!

My room was lower down in the tower block (floor 6) with a security door to the block of rooms, and then of course a separate lock to my room.

The room is very small, as I was expecting (don't leave bad reviews simply on room size...they are SMALL!), but looked recently refurbished, and had own en-suite (small) bathroom and shower, aircon, fan and ventilation. Bed was firm (which I found very comfortable even with JetLag) and slept well. Room, sheets and shower very clean which is most important.

Reviews will talk about the many nationalities "hanging around" in the building, but coming from a city of many cultures (Manchester, UK) I did not feel unsafe upon arrival.

If you want traditional hotel style and service, then I recommend you stay somewhere else. But if you just need a clean, comfortable room for the night, in a good location, at really good prices, I would recommend the Marco Polo Hostel.

And I would stay here again if I visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DigglerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank 昌宏 西
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 特にありませんでした。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 372ひさこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#56 of 161 in Hong Kong
18 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#22 of 161 in Hong Kong
164 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Reliance Inn
New Reliance Inn
#63 of 161 in Hong Kong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Days Hotel
Days Hotel
#73 of 161 in Hong Kong
24 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Tokyo Hostel
New Tokyo Hostel
#99 of 264 in Hong Kong
13 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super 7 Hostel
Super 7 Hostel
#57 of 161 in Hong Kong
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hostel

Address: Flat C6, Floor 15, Block C, Chung King Mansion,Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £19 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco Polo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing