We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think again.”
Review of Canada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canada Hotel
Ranked #45 of 247 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
SIN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Think again.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Good location. Just 2-minute walk from TST mtr station. Room is clean enough, equipped with wifi, hot water, aircon and TV. The overall room condition and service of the hotel is reasonable.

However, this is Chung King Mansions, be prepared to experience a little "forgotten corner" of the city. With only one slow moving elevator serving the 15th floor, it is not uncommon to have to stand in line at the "lobby" waiting, then to sardine pack yourself into the elevator every evening - which all these might not be the best things to expect after a long day out. Stairwell is dark and dirty, hence, taking the stairs might not be the best alternative. So, do think again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Ale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    42
    42
    15
    28
See reviews for
27
48
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Location is excellent! Closed to the most interesting sight, shopping, public transport and etc.
The room is really tiny but clean, hot water is available, wifi is available. A very small hotel located in the 15th floor. Hotel is small; guest can use a refrigerator in the corridor and cooler with cold and hot water for tea or coffee.

Room Tip: To get the hotel, use first lift on the left in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were looking for a guesthouse/hotel in Hong Kong and we chose the Canada Hotel because it seemed good and the price was in our budget. We spent 2 nights there and honestly, this is the perfect place if you are looking for something at a very good price and very well situated. It is definitely the best value for money in Hong Kong.

- Room : very small (around 7 sqm), not enough space to walk or to open a big piece of luggage but it's ok for small/medium pieces of luggage and for backpacks (there is enough space under the bed to store your backpack/luggage there). Apart from the fact that the room is really tiny, it's however very clean and very well built. Clever use of the space ! Private tiny bathroom/toilet but again, very clean. Towels, shampoo, bath gel, toothbrush, toothpaste, toilet paper furnished. There is also a landline telephone which you can use FOR FREE (in your room) to call any number in Hong Kong (NOT international calls). Equipped with A/C and fan. There is a window but with a view in a shaft so there is no natural daylight (not a problem for us because the room is meant to be used for sleeping and not spending our day in there. Maybe they have rooms with natural daylight but we didn't). There is also a TV (but we didn't use it). There are many plugs too (if you are laptop/mobile users) which is very convenient. However, there is only a small mirror in the bathroom which you can only see your face in. The mattress is really hard (some people might like it, or not). Daily housekeeping.

- Hotel : it's very safe. You have 1 secured main door to access the reception and then your private door to your room so you have a key for the room and a magnetic card for the main door.

- Internet connection : wifi connection works perfectly and is free.

- Staff : very nice, helpful and charming. We arrived earlier than the check-in time but still, we had our room straight away. I also had the chance to meet the owner who is very nice and kind.

- Building : is not very new but, I guess, like many buildings in HK. However, the hotel part is very clean and well kept. They recently have extended their number of rooms in another building close by to the original one (where we actually stayed). We saw both parts of the hotel and they were both clean.

- Situation : right in the heart of a great shopping/restaurants area so it's very well situated.

- Access : really easy to find (you just need to ask anybody around, they will indicate you if you have difficulties to find it). However, the only "problem" is the lift which is very small and there is quite often a long queue to have access to it ... Also, it works only from 6.00 (or 7.00) AM until 10.00 PM but there is a spare one in use 24/7.

- Overall opinion : we would really go back there again !!! Honestly, we were happy to spend less money in our hotel room, having a great quality of comfort considering the situation too and enjoy HK during our stay ! I really recommend this place !

Room Tip: Maybe you can try asking if they have rooms with natural daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I booked in this guest house for 14 nights, that was my first mistake. I really didn't know what's about and I think now that if you stay in this kind of guest house, stay only 3 or 4 nights, NOT MORE ! After 4 days we had to live HK. So we ask to talk to the owner to see if it was possible to not charge any amount like write in the contract. It was impossible to see him, and the only person we could talk with was the receptionist who didn't want to handle these problems. So we ask to this person to call the owner and see with him if it was ok. And he said "Yeah it's ok and you will see the owner at 6pm" and then "Ok, you'll see the owner tomorow" and day after day he said to us that we wouldn't pay nothing more... That we needed to know to buy tickets. But, just before we live, we learn that the owner charge all the amount ! Then, because it was not possible to see him face to face, I ask the receptionist to call him that I could talk to him, incredible ! And he just began to be mad of me just because I ask him to not take all the amount !!! He said that i was stupid person and not a good person... But what kind of good owner cannot be here personnaly for his clients ??
So the only things I have to tell you about this kind of guest house, if you can, prefer to pay little bit more with a real hostel witch doesn't thieve you ! Seriously.
I think this guest house is like all you can see at the same price. There are all thiefs !
And for this hotel, it's absoloutely not canadians like I thought when I book ! And I don't talk about the building etc...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#274 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Australian Guesthouse
Australian Guesthouse
#50 of 247 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Asia Inn
Asia Inn
#16 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Inn Spirit
Inn Spirit
#1 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ashoka Guest House
Ashoka Guest House
#72 of 247 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Hoho Hostel
#8 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Hotel

Property: Canada Hotel
Address: Flat A6, Block A,15/F,Chung King Mansions,38-44 Nathan Road,Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing