We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant gem just away from the bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Checked in today and have been exceptionally impressed.

I received a room upgrade from the King Suite to the penthouse suite with two levels. Terrific view looking back over Kowloon towards the Harbour. The little touches like energy saving lighting (with 'mood' setting), B&O & Sony appliances everywhere and an actually useful kitchenette which is hidden away behind bi-fold doors are all around terrific.

Can't talk up the room more! Overall the hotel is pretty chill, check-in took no more than 3 or 4 minutes. The panorama lounge bar is a bit too swanky or me but it's got a great view. The cafe is much more my style, but lacks some holiday beverages (namely anything with alcohol in it...).

Just disappointed I didn't book for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seqo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

We went to Hongkong for my birthday celebration and stayed here because the YMCA was full. I'm glad we did, because this hotel is a jem, especially for an expensive area. It's right near the Jordan MRT and, just after a turn in the corner, you'll be right on Nathan Road. Take the airport bus A21 to get here at the cheapest rate -- 33 hkd only per person. The staff was very accomodating and very polite. The breakfast isn't much but enough just to fire up your system in the morning. Love the pipe-in music in the bathroom too! It makes for a relaxing shower, especially when your feet ache after a long day out in HK. You won't go wrong with this place!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I love the style and colour of the room, very modern and comfortable. Room size is reasonable and has everything, security safe, pillow menu, wifi, kettle for coffee and instant noodles, bathroom is well equiped and has mood music. I really liked the buttons for the lights which tells you what each button is for so you don't spend heaps of time trying to work things out. I requested for a late check in (at 1am in the morning) which wasn't an issue and, in fact, the front desk worked out who I was as I entred which made me feel really VIP. Complimentry 1st round on the mini bar! Jordan MTR station within mins walk, heaps of bus options on Nathan Road virtually at your doorstep. In summary, will return and will recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qldbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I am deeply impressed with the Madera Hotel after staying there for 3 nites. Being a frequent visitor to HK, I reckon the stay at Madera is listed as one of my best experiences with HK hotels.

Every staff I encountered in the hotel is friendly and helpful. I am deeply impressed with the advice they offered me whenever i have any queries. From the extremely helpful bellboy(forgot his name, the guy without the glasses) to the friendly counter staff and manager, well done.

I also enjoy the complimentry breakfast and mini bar. Very nice gesture fom the hotel. The gallery is also an unforgetable experience.

My only complaint is the carpet in my room, it virtually shed hair everyday thus causing alot of lumps of hair on the carpet. Other than that, this is a hotel with good location & excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dominic_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on business. Brand new hotel in Jordan - very close to MTR, so very easy to get around.

Rooms are small (as are an awful lot of hotel rooms in HK), but comfortable. I was very kindly upgraded to a larger room after 3 nights.

To be honest, I would have given this hotel a 4 star rating - but one thing changed this - the Staff are superb! I was greeted by name all the time (including remembering my room number) - they helped me out with everything from ordering food to my room, to restaurant recommendations (which were spot on) to transport.
One gentleman in particular (and I forgot his name I am sorry to say) was always there for me and amazed me with his level of service.

Price was extremely competitive for this time of year in HK.

Would come back, mainly for the service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed further up Nathan Road this trip to Hong Kong, because Tsim Sha Tsui hotels were either fully booked or charging usurious rates for the Canton Fair. One station further up the MRT red line--Jordan--and there is this gem of a hotel, The Madera. Small rooms, typical of HK, but uber-stylishly fitted out. Tres chic. And great value for HK, IMO. A lovely library-like-cafe on the third floor for coffee and pastries. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The two down-sides were (1) you can't open the windows and have to rely on the air-con (but this is typical in high-rise HK hotels) and (2) the room had a stronger than desirable scent of air-freshener. I suspect that the previous guest had smoked or eaten durian in the room. Neither were irritating enough to prevent me staying again - I'll definitely choose the Madera over more expensive Tsim Sha Tsui options next time again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenS836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Perfectly located: 3 min walking to Jordan MTR station, around the corner from Nathan street (Kowloon Tsim Sha Tsui disctrict) with easy access distance to shops, malls, restaurants. About 30 min walking from the river promenade, museums and star ferry terminal.
Best service: hotel's team is friendly and eager to help/assist in any matter, print boarding pass etc.
A modern hotel, perfectly designed and executed to accomodate the modern traveler's needs - ample space to work & charge your cell phone, laptop etc.; first free refill of the minibar, wonderful layout of room and attention to small details - such as scales...
would definately revisit!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antiquesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
TUVE
#34 of 727 in Hong Kong
346 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#32 of 727 in Hong Kong
857 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,094 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#45 of 727 in Hong Kong
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £85 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing