We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the favorable reviews were accurate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Copying my review from Orbitz:

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Madera Hotel in early May. Our double room was very comfortable with nice lighting, furnishing, and temperature control. Space was definitely satisfactory. The bed was a pleasant firm, the pillows were soft, and the sheets and blanket were cozy. Complimentary snacks and drinks in the room were very welcome.

The curtains do a very good job of keeping out the daylight when we wanted to sleep in. The front desk will call in the afternoon if you still have your Do Not Disturb sign on, and you can tell them when you want housekeeping to clean your room, if at all.

Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion are replaced in the sink drawer every day. We didn't use the jacuzzi tub, but the other complaints about the shower handset were valid. The handset is not affixed well to the wall, but it is only a minor issue.

We were on the 8th floor facing Cheong Lok street and there was no noise at all from outside. Only some noise as other guests passed our room in the hallway. An umbrella, electronic scale, bathrobes, and slippers are all provided. The free Wifi is serviceable.

Staff are polite and not intrusive. They don't have anyone to bring your bags to your room, but I prefer that anyway. We didn't eat at the cafe and we never went to the rooftop bar. I used the gym once and it was nice, but small. Dumbbells up to about 50 lbs. were a bit unwieldy, but were fine. Adjustable bench was good. Small number of cardio machines and only 1 elliptical. Towels and a water cooler are available. All machines are new.

Overall, we really liked our stay at the Madera Hotel. It has only been open for a year and the building is completely new/renovated (used to be residential building). Great value for the money. It is on a convenient location just off of Nathan Rd. and is a couple small blocks from the Jordan MTR station. A21 airport bus stop is similarly close by. There is a Wellcome store across the street (Nathan), but getting to it is a bit more work since you need to walk a block or two to cross.

I would stay again next time I visit Hong Kong.
(Going to HK in July, but will not be staying at Madera because I could not get as good a deal.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Really a gem in a great location. Spent 3 nights here recently on a recent stopover. First time to Hong Kong and this was a excellent home base. In the heart of a great shopping area with restaurants and shops for every taste. Very friendly and helpful staff from the front desk lobby to the rooftop bar.
Very convenient to MTR or a quick taxi ride to Kowloon Station. Every convenience a traveler may need either onsite or very nearby.
Loved the modern style and technology of the room.
Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had a 2 night stopover in Hong Kong, so needed a clean, affordable, efficient hotel located near all the key sights,but with easy airport access. This fitted the bill perfectly. The staff were helpful, while the 28th floor room had a superb view the city. The A21 bus to the airport stops within 2 minutes walk of the hotel, while you are close to all the markets and within easy reach of Tsim Sha Tsiu or Jordan MTR. Free wi-fi worked well and my partner enthused about how comfortable the bed was. Following previous recommendations, we had breakfast at one the many local places, so cannot comment on the hotel offering. The rooftop bar has a nice view, but is nothing special and certainly overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olafski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were welcome by heavy rainfall when we reached the hotel in the afternoon. We were wet n feel cold, when we check-in. However the staff save the hustle, upgrade our room and let us check-in the room fast.We had a enjoyable washout with the jacuzzi and short rest with the comfortable bed.After the good rest, we start our night with shopping.During the 2 nights stayed, we going thru why we said Madera makes our stay great. Good services, helpful staff ensure we get to the right place where we want to go.The room well designed, air con great so is the bath room.Followed by the hotel location, which is well located. We just take a few mins walk to the Jordan mtr and conveniently we can either travel down to Hong Kong island or move up to mongko. We really spent great time here and next trip we will still choose Madera as our prior choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel806606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in two rooms. One with twins for our 19 & 21 year old children and another with a double bed. The rooms are neat and clean, but a little cramped (it is Hong Kong). The hotel is conveniently located near MTR station, the wi-fi is free, there is a small exercise room, and a few drinks and snacks are provided for free in the minibar. The only negative to this hotel is the wall between the bathroom and main room. It is made of frosted glass, but the bottom 12 inches or so is clear glass, very strange. Even after being married over 30 years, I wasn't keen on using the facilities with my spouse sitting on the bed on the opposite side of the wall. I can't imagine how awkward it would be for friends traveling together!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, you'll be surprised with the small lobby, small reception area. But the hotel managed my arrival well and handled every request without any complaints. Room was just right. Booked 3 rooms of which one was a Deluxe Twin room which came with 2 separate showers. Bath tub even came with jacuzzi.

The hotel made me feel safe there as going up the lift, you can only go to your assigned floor and no other floors. They even have a floor dedicated to females i.e. no males allowed

Location was good. Very near to Jordan MTR. Lots of good food around especially at Peakes Street where you'll be able to find the delicious Mak Man Kee Wantan noodle, Australia Dairy House and in front of hotel Xin Dao Ji with its very delicious roasted suckling pig.

The Airport Express Bus to Kowloon stops in front of Eaton Hotel which is only a short 5 min walk away.

I'll definitely be coming back again for my next visit to HK.

Room Tip: Choose high floor and if possible get a room with separate shower. Mini bar comes free during the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

New hotel, comfortable clean & quiet. Close to mtr station and a good range of restaurants. Nicely designed rooms, decent sized tv. Staff really pleasant & helpful. Great air conditioning, a must for HK in June!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-ho_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
TUVE
#35 of 726 in Hong Kong
333 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#41 of 726 in Hong Kong
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,044 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £92 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing