We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, strategic and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #35 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I chanced across Hotel Madera while searching for a hotel near Jordon MTR station. Admittedly, the hotel website was not particularly impressive but it was functional. The value-for-money pricing was enough to tempt me to try out this new hotel, something different from my usual haunt in HK, which is also nearby.

The experience turned out to be great! Especially for a newbie hotel in HK where competition is keen. First and foremost, I'm most impressed by the size and layout of the room. For a HK hotel, its considered HUGE...with lots of space to strew your shopping about. There was also ample wardrobe and luggage space to store everything neatly. The room had mood lighting and strategically placed switches and aircon controls, so much so you can control everything from the comfort of your own bed. The bathtub had a built-in jacuzzi for those who have the time to try but the translucent bathroom is not for the faint-hearted or the bashfuls.

Secondly, the hotel is located on Cheung Lok Street, a mere 2 streets away from the MTR exit - you can't get lost. Even better, the hotel is located directly opposite the much vaulted supper joint - 新斗记, which is opened from 6pm to 2am. Very convenient for a late-night supper after a whole day of shopping. On the next street is a famed congee place - Nathan Congee. Unassuming shopfront but heavenly creamy porridge - perfect for breakfast. And that takes care of the 2 main meals of the day.

Finally, the hotel has some nice touch - free mini bar! Slightly gimmicky for some but pretty fun and handy too! And a nostalgic gym for those are interested.

Tip on room selection - seems like room charges are a bit higher for rooms on the18th floor and above for the view. We got a room on the 18th floor and the view was nothing to shout about so you might not want to pay extra for this.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had read lots of reviews on Hong Kong hotel rooms being small in size but we found the room more than spacious. We had a room on the 5th floor which had a separate bathroom & area with closet & space to store our luggage. Fridge comes complete with complimentary mini bar which we felt was a really nice touch. It included soft drink, beer, packet of chips & some cookies. The room itself was modern & spacious, housekeeping were wonderful & kept the room immaculate. My favourite was coming home to all my shoes lined up! The bathroom includes a jacuzzi which was really nice after a long day of walking. Hotel itself is in a great location & within 5 mins walk to the Jordan train station. We found the public transport really easy to navigate around on. Rooftop bar at the hotel is a must at night to watch the laser show at 8pm each night. Rooftop bar does buy 1 drink get your 2nd drink free. View from the rooftop was amazing. Hotel staff were very helpful & spoke reasonable English. We really enjoyed our stay here & would definitely stay here again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Try & ask for a room higher up as we did get a small amount of noise from the street late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K2DaMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for a week and were overwhelmed by the hotel services.
Clean & friendly environment. Just 2 blocks away from the Jordan MRT station.
Room spaces considered big as for Hong Kong standard.We like to hang out at their 29th floor Panorama Lounge, great night view.
Excellent & friendly services by the hotel front desk and the bell boy name Gary.
Wifi speed is great.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tprado3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very artfully designed hotel and rooms with great individuality at a great location in Kowloon. Space in Hong Kong hotels is often tight but the designers have really done an exceptional job of making rooms comfortable, fun and welcoming as well as stylish. Great staff support who are very helpful. There is an interesting "museum" of the sixties off the lobby and a nice gym. It's right off Nathan Road and the Temple Street night market is only 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We got a free upgrade upon arrival which is always nice having used the A21 bus from the airport which was very efficient. This was a very short walk from the bus stop on Nathan road. Clean modern 26th floor room and very close to Jordan station - sub 100m. All in all a good choice if you want to be in the TST area of Hong Kong. We got a taxi to Kowloon station for the Airport Express train when we left (was $21.5). The receptionists organised a taxi and were very friendly overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred237237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Room: Modern and pretty large with many facilities inside. I really love the Jacuzzi tub.

Staff: The Receptionists were very helpful and friendly, also speaking good English

Just 100 m. To MTR Jordan Station

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knmp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked quite last minute and arranged for a nice room, upon arrival we were upgraded to the penthouse! It was amazing, great views over the city on two levels, the roof top bar is nice to, not huge so really intimate and great for a drink to unwind at the end of the evening. Breakfast wasn't included but we had breakfast in the hotel, it needs a lot of work, I wouldn't recommend it, however the staff were great and very helpful so everything else more than made up for it, would defiantly stay again, it is a great location to be near everything to!

Room Tip: Have breakfast somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
TUVE
#33 of 729 in Hong Kong
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#32 of 729 in Hong Kong
890 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,425 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#47 of 729 in Hong Kong
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £81 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing