We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Rostock, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice and perfect location”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I spent 5 nights in October 2013 at this Hotel. Acctually this Hotel is nice and fulfills European Standard. It has a awesome terrasse located on the roof with a spectacular view above Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. The drinks are a bit too expensive, but this counts also for mainly all bars....since the last ten years all costs at HKG were rising extraordinary.

The next subway is in only 5 min walking distance. And at Kowloon Station (5 min by cab) there is a remote check-in counter for all airlines. Next to the entrance is a Money Exchange Office with fair exchange courses.

The only two issues what I had with the Hotel were:
-no breakfast offered
-air condition in the room was smelling for fauly water

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaysleeperBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    309
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
152
372
84
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
international
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Hotel Madera, late October 2013. This hotel is really a little gem, great location --- right off Nathan Road, 3 minutes walk from Jordan MTR Station, easy connections to most everywhere. Hotel staff (Colin, Edmund, others) were fantastic, very attentive and helpful. They really went above and beyond to provide super customer service, booked meals and events, always pleasant and ready to assist. The room was very efficiently laid-out, we didn't feel particularly squeezed by the dimensions. Everything was in perfect shape, clean, no problems. Comfortable beds/pillows, jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed the great nighttime view from the rooftop bar. Price was very reasonable for HK and we would stay again anytime. This little gem has a 2013 TripAdvisor award sitting on the reception counter, and if our stay was any indication, it is well-deserved. Kudos to the management and staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rttyler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Booked this hotel with GF, for three nights after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. As a light sleeper I was a little concerned about the potential noise issue in this area. Our room was on the 20th floor and I have to say I was just amazed how quiet it was. The bed and bedding were just so relaxing - perfect when returning after a busy tiring day at the theme parks. Cleanliness in this Hotel is impeccable - loved the Gallery on 1st floor & Cafe Library. Rooftop Terrace offers a brilliant evening cityscape view.Jordan MTR is perfectly located just very near - which made life very easy not having to walk too far. Another great area nearby across Nathan Road is Temple Street night market offering all sorts of goodies.Along Temple Street you will find many small restaurants & great live seafood on display in buckets. Just choose & they cook to your preference. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper choose a room on upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I chanced across Hotel Madera while searching for a hotel near Jordon MTR station. Admittedly, the hotel website was not particularly impressive but it was functional. The value-for-money pricing was enough to tempt me to try out this new hotel, something different from my usual haunt in HK, which is also nearby.

The experience turned out to be great! Especially for a newbie hotel in HK where competition is keen. First and foremost, I'm most impressed by the size and layout of the room. For a HK hotel, its considered HUGE...with lots of space to strew your shopping about. There was also ample wardrobe and luggage space to store everything neatly. The room had mood lighting and strategically placed switches and aircon controls, so much so you can control everything from the comfort of your own bed. The bathtub had a built-in jacuzzi for those who have the time to try but the translucent bathroom is not for the faint-hearted or the bashfuls.

Secondly, the hotel is located on Cheung Lok Street, a mere 2 streets away from the MTR exit - you can't get lost. Even better, the hotel is located directly opposite the much vaulted supper joint - 新斗记, which is opened from 6pm to 2am. Very convenient for a late-night supper after a whole day of shopping. On the next street is a famed congee place - Nathan Congee. Unassuming shopfront but heavenly creamy porridge - perfect for breakfast. And that takes care of the 2 main meals of the day.

Finally, the hotel has some nice touch - free mini bar! Slightly gimmicky for some but pretty fun and handy too! And a nostalgic gym for those are interested.

Tip on room selection - seems like room charges are a bit higher for rooms on the18th floor and above for the view. We got a room on the 18th floor and the view was nothing to shout about so you might not want to pay extra for this.

Have fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had read lots of reviews on Hong Kong hotel rooms being small in size but we found the room more than spacious. We had a room on the 5th floor which had a separate bathroom & area with closet & space to store our luggage. Fridge comes complete with complimentary mini bar which we felt was a really nice touch. It included soft drink, beer, packet of chips & some cookies. The room itself was modern & spacious, housekeeping were wonderful & kept the room immaculate. My favourite was coming home to all my shoes lined up! The bathroom includes a jacuzzi which was really nice after a long day of walking. Hotel itself is in a great location & within 5 mins walk to the Jordan train station. We found the public transport really easy to navigate around on. Rooftop bar at the hotel is a must at night to watch the laser show at 8pm each night. Rooftop bar does buy 1 drink get your 2nd drink free. View from the rooftop was amazing. Hotel staff were very helpful & spoke reasonable English. We really enjoyed our stay here & would definitely stay here again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Try & ask for a room higher up as we did get a small amount of noise from the street late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2DaMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for a week and were overwhelmed by the hotel services.
Clean & friendly environment. Just 2 blocks away from the Jordan MRT station.
Room spaces considered big as for Hong Kong standard.We like to hang out at their 29th floor Panorama Lounge, great night view.
Excellent & friendly services by the hotel front desk and the bell boy name Gary.
Wifi speed is great.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tprado3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very artfully designed hotel and rooms with great individuality at a great location in Kowloon. Space in Hong Kong hotels is often tight but the designers have really done an exceptional job of making rooms comfortable, fun and welcoming as well as stylish. Great staff support who are very helpful. There is an interesting "museum" of the sixties off the lobby and a nice gym. It's right off Nathan Road and the Temple Street night market is only 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,913 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,467 reviews
TUVE
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing