We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #34 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was an excellent choice for us representing great value for money, excellent room facilities and access to everything without the noise. We were upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor with breathtaking views over the city towards Lion Rock. We sat watching the lights come on for ages, just taking in the city. Service was excellent, reception particularly so.

The room was huge with an amazingly comfortable bed and a wall full of windows. It was close to Nathan Road which made getting into Kowloon easy. It was close enough to walk.

Room service was excellent. The room was spotless. Loads of electronic switches to operate almost everthing in the room. It took a bit of working to get all of the lights how we wanted them to view the city. But we succeded!

Security was excellent as there was only acess by lift and you needed the key to activate getting to your floor.

Being this high it was quiet and we slept well.

This is a modern hotel which is proud of its designer touches. The plan decoration was a touch of green in a consumer led city.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down. The choice was limited and there was no switching between what was on offer. A pity as this could easily have been accommodated without having to radicall change what they offered. We were arare of this from trip reviews before we booked so can't reall complain about it or knock the score down.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: High is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller99Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

A great choice for people who are not after a global brand but a nice room at a good location. the hotel is thoughtfully well designed and i was upgraded to a suite. the only down side the onsite restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived at this hotel at 11 am after an extremely long flight. I noted that some people were not able to check in as the normal check in time is 2 pm. However, when I mentioned that we had been up for 36 hours I was asked to give them a few minutes as they would find something for me. This was intuitive and considerate on their part.

This hotel is just off Nathan road on a quiet little street. There is free wifi, a delightful bar on the top floor which has a splendid view. You can see the nightly laser show. Happy hour is between 5 - 9 pm. There is no restaurant - but the coffee shop on the third floor is cozy and very pleasant with over stuffed sofas. For eating there are at least 5 restaurants across the street.

We left our bags in storage as we had to make a trip into China. Upon our return our bags were waiting for us and we were upgraded to the 28th/29th floor. This is their deluxe suite which is spread out over two floors with a magnificent view. This hotel is extremely well maintained. The beds are not the hard beds one finds Asia, but most comfortable with down pillows and comforter. The bathrooms are modern.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

There are so many hotel choices in Hong Kong, but we saw this deal on Expedia and went for it (also read some positive reviews ahead of time). We were impressed with how conveniently located the hotel is and how modern/clean it was as well. We were upgraded to a room on the 26th floor, which was nice. It was very quiet - like our own private oasis in a busy downtown centre. The room was very clean, had lots of nice little extras (music in the bathroom, minibar inclusions, free wifi, etc.) There is also a great view from the rooftop deck (although we did not manage to get any service there, so enjoyed the view and went elsewhere for drinks). Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Madera Hotel is an excellent HQ to explore Kowloon (the continental side of Hong Kong). Just next to Nathan Road, the location is perfect...you can get to Temple Street (Night Market) in 4 min, and the Jordan tube station (MTR as they call it in Hong Kong) is just around the corner.
If you into bars and lively restaurants, Knutsford Terrace is just 10 min walking down Nathan Street...it´s a great place to grab dinner and have a drink!
The hotel is nicely renewed and with great design. Room is average size and very comfortable. The staff is very nice and competent.

On the down size, the queen bed could be a little larger...but it gets the job done.

Room Tip: To get a room with a view, you need to stay on the top floors. I stayed in the 10th floor and all i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marquito-Carlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed in hotel madera for 3 nights in hypoallergic room in lvl 1th family...it was wonderful experience. the staff were helpful and fluent in english..room service was very good, breakfaswas also good. the gym is 24hrs and wifi is free and good bandwidth, with iphone,PC and tablet connected, we could not feel any issues.
Location is next to jorden MTR, if you are not taking taxi, this is an easy mode of travel in hong kong.
we missed to try family room there, as its at higher level and better view.
only shortcoming, was the gamexpert room was always occupied and thats the only recreation for children, which we missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ks1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotel is well situated; less than 5minutes walk to Jordan MTR.

Room is of comfortable size.

Breakfast spread was disappointing. They serve you a choice of bread and two drinks (hot and cold) only.

Receptionists were not friendly.

Will stay again given the value and location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnowkeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,191 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
TUVE
#33 of 729 in Hong Kong
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#31 of 729 in Hong Kong
902 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#46 of 729 in Hong Kong
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £81 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing