We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Madera Hotel for three days in March. The hotel is just off Nathan Road, very close to the Jordan subway station.
The hotel has a friendly atmosphere at the reception, seems like an international chain hotel. Very friendly and very quick check in.
We were given a little upgrade to a bigger room, but we had issues with the aircondition there so we moved to a room of the class we had booked. This room was slightly smaller but actually more quiet. Very clean, nice and comfortable bed but unfortunately a glass wall to the bathroom. Due to the fact that the room was very small, one had to lay on the bed while the other one had to use the toilet / shower - it felt like literally being next to the other person.
Apart from that the room had everything we expected (Minibar, aircon, etc), and there was a nice roof top teracce on top of the hotel with a nice little bar.
Checkout was also quick and staff was very friendly.
Would come again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerhardFritsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Madera Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Madera is a nice hotel. It is very modern, Hong Kong style. And, as in most of Hong Kong, you get what you pay for. The Madera isn't cheap, but it's also not near the high end of what you can pay in Hong Kong. So, if you have a couple hundred bucks, this is a decent place to stay.

The rooms are very modern and exceptionally clean and well serviced. My room didn't have much of a view at all, but it did have a separate bedroom and living area, which was nice, and there was a tremendous variety of lighting options, which was also very cool. Unfortunately, no desk!! This made it very difficult for me to work.

Breakfast is served in a little attached open-air cafe. It's nice but there's not really much. It's no buffet. You just have your pick of a couple items. A piece of fruit and some breads, basically. Fine with me.

The rooftop at the Madera is nice. It has excellent views of Kowloon and you can see Hong Kong fairly well. You can watch the sunset from up there as well. Nice and convenient. As far as the location of the hotel, it's great. You're near all sorts of things including the night market, and can easily take the train down into Hong Kong--no hassle.

This hotel was also very quiet. I didn't have much disturbance. However, there was definitely someone smoking in one of the adjoining rooms, which got into my room. Very unpleasant!

The fitness center is fine. A few spin machines and treadmills plus some free weights. Just what I needed. Not crowded at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Second stay at the hotel. Check in was a breeze with friendly staff welcoming me back after knowing that it was not my first visit.

Location was superb as usual and room was big, comfortable and stylish for HK standards. Game room was fun.

For those not intending to take cab from airport, you can easily travel from HK Airport to the hotel by Airport Bus A22 for HK$39. Alight at fourth stop "Chi Wo Street, Jordan Road" and it is an effortless level ground 3min walk to the hotel.

A little disappointing with the housekeeping this round. Rooms were not properly cleaned and tissues and toilet rolls not replenished.

Overall a good, new, stylish hotel with reasonable rates and good location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SQbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very handy location close to MTR and best coffee downstairs in the Cafe! Just a short stroll to the night markets. Rooms a bit small but very clean and honest little hotel. Hong Kong history museum downstairs was good to see also

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lplegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel was very conveniently located next to the MTR and right smacked in the city center. Room was spacious and I liked the design. Free drinks in mini bar. Free WiFi. Staff was very patient, helpful and friendly to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonviktorovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Madera is conveniently located near Jordan station exit B (2 minute walk).

Rooms are quite spacious by Hong Kong standards and housekeeping is very efficient. We left our room at 9am and when we came back at 10.30am our room was made up.

The bathrooms are also very pleasant and spacious. The provided amenities are great.

We visited the games room twice and we were quite impressed with the setup.

Overall a very enjoyable accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTibbsMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

For the very decebt price, this hotel has never disappointed me. Service is very hospitable and knowledgable if you need directions; decor is boutique style, yet modest. Nice bath amenities and free mini bar (i believe only for the first night? Not sure as i never stay more than 1 night each visit) (please Madera, do not raise your prices, i wish to remain a longtime client!)

I look forward to having my morning coffee in the 3rd floor library café - so British and cute!

I also love the rooftop terrace, if you can catch a "pink" sunset, you will never forget it!

Many times, ive been upgraded

3  Thank Heart12345
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,952 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
536 reviews
TUVE
#24 of 721 in Hong Kong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £89 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing