We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the 21st floor during our two night stay in this hotel. The room was nice, though a tiny bit small. They have all the amenities expected from a four-star hotel. We liked the museum type area at their lobby area and the service was nice too. The front desk were all smiley during check-in and they accommodated us an hour later for checkout. Overall, it was a nice stay. Good value for money. MTR was just around the block so it wasn't very hard to locate.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room at the higher floors for better view of HK
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    281
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
141
339
72
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Madera is great. My wife and I arrived early (9am) and they let us check-in straight away and even upgraded us from a queen room to a king. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful in recommending places to go and things to see. Our room was a great size (I'd been warned that HK hotel rooms are small but this one wasn't) and the cleanliness and overall feel of the hotel was great. We got breakfast included but it's nothing exciting. It was just for convenience. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is my first time to stay here at the Madera, and it's overall a quite nice boutique hotel. The staff at the front desk is surprisingly nice and polite. I booked "Grand Deluxe Double" and I had been upgrade to the next category. But what they mean upgrade is on higher floor only, the room is actually the same, but better view.

Location: Just 3 mins walking distance to Jordan MTR Station & 15mins walking distance to Tsim Sha Tsui, and there are many local restaurants surrounding.

Room: Clean, simple, not too big but enough for me.There is a Jacuzzi button next to the bathtub, but unfortunately I still cannot work it out until I checkout. The design of the room is quite trendy EXCEPT the bathroom, the bathroom seems a little bit "older" then any other parts of the room. A bit noisy but I am already staying on the 25th floor. I was surprised when I saw the bed, it was a very wide king size bed, BUT, I realized that they only put 2 beds together, as you can feel the gap between 2 beds when sleeping in the middle of the bed.well.

Facilities: The Gym is equipped quite well with all new model machines; Try the Gamexpert if you like playing TV games, there is a 100 inches Screen there, every room are entitled to enjoy 2 hours of the playroom, but don't forget to make reservation at the Front desk.

Restaurant: there is no restaurant in the hotel, just a very small cafe, eating out is definitely better and you can eat like a local.

Also, there is a small museum in the hotel which is just next ti the reception, very interesting and local.

Room Tip: choose higher floor if possible, I am living on the 25th floor and can still hear some noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Acnatth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

every time i visit hong kong as i stay at this hotel, because staff are nice and polite, min walk to jordan station and also to lady market at night, in the morning if you don't like the hotel bread and juice for breakfast as you can walk to opposite the road to have local dim sum for breakfast or you can walk to lady market area to look for local food as they are reasonable price and good food as you can find a few restaurant there, dont forget to try the dessert at night at the lady market because is a famous dessert shop, during night time you will see the pax in front of the shop. Never try never know...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildChild18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked this hotel through Agoda. Didn't know that over the weekend that we arrived, Rugby 7 was scheduled in HK. No wonder most room rates were jacked up to ridiculous level! But we managed to secure a pretty decent rate of S$170/- net per night for our stay.

We took K1 shuttle bus from Kowloon Station, and chose to alight at Eaton Hotel. From Eaton, Madera is a short 5-minute walk.

Check-in was decent, & we chose to upgrade to higher floor rooms for an additional S$20 per night. Staffs were friendly and helpful with our inquiries.

Room was smaller than expected (guess we were conned by the professional pics!). But bathroom was very clean, and boasted a bathtub jacuzzi! View was slightly disappointing, as we were just looking out Eaton Hotel direction without any other attractive sights.

One thing that I liked about the hotel was its free provision of a PS4 / Xbox games for in-house guests! I tried GT6 because the hotel had installed 2 race-car simulators to enhance the experience! Wow!

The funny thing about the hotel was the establishment of a so-called museum just behind Lobby lifts, showcasing olden days' HK lives. Somehow, instead of being informative, the place gave us an eerie feeling when we stepped into it ... Hmm ...

By coincidence, we found out that the Chinese restaurant located just across the road, Sun Dau Kei, is a 1-star Michelin restaurant, serving one of the best Roasted Suckling Pig in HK! Reservation must be made in advance, as the place is always full house. We had half of the Suckling Pig for a mere S$20/- !!! What a bargain!

Room Tip: Each floor only has 4 rooms, and because of Chinese superstition, the number 4 is not used for all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayChuenSiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Madera Hotel for three days in March. The hotel is just off Nathan Road, very close to the Jordan subway station.
The hotel has a friendly atmosphere at the reception, seems like an international chain hotel. Very friendly and very quick check in.
We were given a little upgrade to a bigger room, but we had issues with the aircondition there so we moved to a room of the class we had booked. This room was slightly smaller but actually more quiet. Very clean, nice and comfortable bed but unfortunately a glass wall to the bathroom. Due to the fact that the room was very small, one had to lay on the bed while the other one had to use the toilet / shower - it felt like literally being next to the other person.
Apart from that the room had everything we expected (Minibar, aircon, etc), and there was a nice roof top teracce on top of the hotel with a nice little bar.
Checkout was also quick and staff was very friendly.
Would come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerhardFritsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Madera is a nice hotel. It is very modern, Hong Kong style. And, as in most of Hong Kong, you get what you pay for. The Madera isn't cheap, but it's also not near the high end of what you can pay in Hong Kong. So, if you have a couple hundred bucks, this is a decent place to stay.

The rooms are very modern and exceptionally clean and well serviced. My room didn't have much of a view at all, but it did have a separate bedroom and living area, which was nice, and there was a tremendous variety of lighting options, which was also very cool. Unfortunately, no desk!! This made it very difficult for me to work.

Breakfast is served in a little attached open-air cafe. It's nice but there's not really much. It's no buffet. You just have your pick of a couple items. A piece of fruit and some breads, basically. Fine with me.

The rooftop at the Madera is nice. It has excellent views of Kowloon and you can see Hong Kong fairly well. You can watch the sunset from up there as well. Nice and convenient. As far as the location of the hotel, it's great. You're near all sorts of things including the night market, and can easily take the train down into Hong Kong--no hassle.

This hotel was also very quiet. I didn't have much disturbance. However, there was definitely someone smoking in one of the adjoining rooms, which got into my room. Very unpleasant!

The fitness center is fine. A few spin machines and treadmills plus some free weights. Just what I needed. Not crowded at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
TUVE
#22 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing