We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Ranked #27 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“gem in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We love to stay in different hotel each time when we visit Hong Kong, and this time we were truly grateful that we picked Hotel Madera. It's a boutique hotel but our room was pretty spacious. Staffs were so nice and professional. Location-wise it's super convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acheng2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear acheng2k

Thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor I am very happy to know that we were able to deliver a service that made you want to stay more time with us. If you return to Hong Kong, remember: Hotel Madera Hong Kong. All the Best!

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    283
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
142
345
74
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I will stay here again.
The service in the lobby is the best I've ever had, and I've stayed in a huge number of hotels, mostly 3.5 to 5 star but averaging 4.5. The service here is just super friendly, welcoming, attentive and helpful. I will leave a tip. The rooftop bar is amazing, and the cafe on level 3 does a decent late. The rooms are clean and modern. The floors are probably overdue for a steam clean but I'm being harsh there. There's no in-house restaurant hence only a four star hotel but you're in the middle of Kowloon so it's not like there isn't much to choose from!
A+

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulsydaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear paulsydaus

Thank you very much for your comment in Trip Advisor I am very happy to know that we were able to deliver a service that made you want to stay more time with us. If you return to Hong Kong, remember: Hotel Madera Hong Kong. All the Best!

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here 3 nights, and booked 3 rooms for family vacation. They put us all on the same floor plus they were able to handle us all checking in at different times despite under one booking. They sent me a fruit platter and some toiletries as a present for my birthday as that was the reason for the family holiday. breakfast was sufficient but some may complain about the pricing, though the coffee was excellent. rooms were well kitted out and the free mini bar much welcomed even if it isn't replenished. bathrobes and slippers were fluffy, and cleaning is top notch. location is good as off a busy road but still two blocks to the Jordan MTR station. good cantonese restaurant right opposite. slight complaint is the toilet role holder falling out of the wall which was annoying and dangerous. Overall, i felt i had value for what i paid, and the rooms were very large compared to most standard rooms on an international level! We didn't use the gym, but had a go on the Xbox for 2-person racing which was a good laugh. the rooftop bar got a big thumbsup from the family, and drinks were so-so at about hkd70 a glass of wine.

Room Tip: twin rooms are larger than queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear adit3005

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Madera Hong Kong with the Trip Advisor community, it was a privilege being your host in Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is easy to get to from the Jordan MTR. The staff was great at check-in and through out our stay. The room was very clean and the bathroom very nice. There is soap-shampoo in dispensers in the bathtub but nothing in the shower which made it a little difficult to get soap in the shower. The free minibar had noodles, oreos, water, coke, and tea which was nice. The first night we tried to go into the bar on the rooftop but the two people working there said they were closed even though it was 7:15. We wanted to watch the light show. It was very weird, I will let it go as a language barrier. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Drew S

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Madera Hong Kong. Your feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services for our future guests and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with our amenities and facilities. The decor, furnishing and amenities were carefully selected to exacting standards. It is also very pleasing to hear your feedback on our associates, we are very proud of the level of service they provide. Our associates are very astute and work tirelessly to provide friendly and professional service.

I am however concerned to learn of your challenges during your recent stay with us. We are taking immediate steps to address the deficiencies with our associates and want to assure you that these types of occurrences are rare and do not reflect the level of service we aspire to.

Once again, thank again you for taking the time to share your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location is just perfect for a short stay in Hong Kong – right on the Nathan Road. Everything is within 5 minutes’ walk: shopping, hundreds of restaurants, night market, subway station. By subway from there you can reach any attraction destination within 20 mins or so. For couples or family travelers it is good because it is a small and quiet hotel – there are no crowds of tourist groups in the lobby to walk through. Facilities are basic, but very good quality. The room is spacious enough. See also my room tip.

Room Tip: Breakfast is often not included in the basic accommodation rate in Hong Kong. In Madera there is eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Pavel K

I was delighted to read your kind words about our hotel, its location and quality of our room and facilities. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and you took the time to write a review and share your experience. Your willingness to offer feedback is greatly appreciated.

Should you be returning to Hong Kong with friends, family or any reason we hope you think of us at Hotel Madera Hong Kong.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you head in our direction.

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel located on Nathan road, a perfect locations for night market ( cheap shopping destination ). Room has nice design, with comfortable bed and jacuzzi bathtub, They also gave snacks for free for first night. One interesting fact is there are chinese food restaurant named Xin Dau Ji just in front of this hotel, they made super delicious suckling pig, its a must try when you visit hongkong.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mikhael M

It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with our amenities and facilities. The decor, furnishing and amenities were carefully selected to exacting standards.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Madera Hong Kong. We appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Please keep us in mind when you return to Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I just had an incredible trip to Hong Kong and this was in part due to the outstanding accommodations at Hotel Madera. It is conveniently located in Kowloon, about two short blocks from the Jordan TST station. The best part of the hotel is the gorgeous rooftop bar. They have happy hour prices for already inexpensive drinks when taking in the views. The third floor cafe is also very nice, and a good way to have a basic breakfast and tea before starting your day. The staff were very personable and their english was good. Esther and Iaren were my personal favorites and they gave me lots of inside tips about the area and Hong Kong in general. The only thing to perhaps improve would be to add more variety to the music played in the cafe and in the lobby/hallways/elevator. I'm not sure if they noticed, but it seemed like the same ~8 songs played on repeat the whole time I was there. A minor issue however, and overall the hotel was outstanding.

Room Tip: South facing rooms likely have a much better view (mine was north facing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin Y, Hotel Manager at Hotel Madera Hong Kong, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Den P

Thank you for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed yourselves here. Your kind words about Esther and Iaren are deeply appreciated.

Our team loves to read of visitor who is so pleasantly surprised to discover our unique hotel in the heart of downtown Hong Kong! We have to agree that our perfect location, gorgeous Horizonte Lounge and history-filled Café 1997. Most of all, we appreciate your acknowledgement of our "personable service", as it makes us very proud of what we do.

Thank you again for your positive review and for choosing Hotel Madera Hong Kong, and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

All the best from all of us at Hotel Madera Hong Kong.

Yousr sincerely

Alvin Yim
Hotel Manager
hotelmanager@madera.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
TUVE
#24 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing