We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Wanchai” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of V Wanchai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
V Wanchai Hotel
Ranked #176 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in Wanchai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked the V Wanchai as we wanted a hotel with kitchenette.

Upon arrival at midnight we found out that there was no portacot organised for our toddler! we were extremely disapponted and angry as I had specifically emailed and had received written confirmation back that there would be a portacot. Unfortunately the staff member was not helpful at all and said it would be arranged the next day. Not happy after a long flight with a toddler and having him sleep squished in between us.

The room was clean and spacious with a large bathroom (however we did have a larger room than family members staying at the same time). The kitchenette had a fridge, kettle and microwave but I would have liked a toaster.

I would not return on principal (due to the portacot) however the rest of the stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: We had 701 which was larger than most
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belmerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    56
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
35
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the V Wanchai on Jaffe Rd. Perfect location - really close to MTR, ferry, and lots of restaurants.
Room was very comfortable, quiet, and I loved the rain shower. Limited amenities at this hotel, but we didn't need anything more. Great value. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hucklecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I booked V Wanchai after reading a few reviews on travel websites including TripAdvisor. To my surprise the room was very spacious as per HK standards and served well with the room amenities. It's a newly built property and is being maintained well.
The single staff was prompt in helping us check in with a big smile. I am sure to come back again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Make sure you book the one on Jaffe Road, which is a great location. Hotels in the area go for up to double the rate that the V Wanchai charges. The hotel has good sized rooms with a small kitchenette (refrigerator and microwave). The larger rooms have a balcony. The hotel does not have the frills of a fancy lobby, concierge, exercise room, restaurant, etc. But the front desk staff during the day are helpful and can answer most questions. And there are tons of restaurants within 500 feet of the hotel. They have a laundry room with 2 washing machines and 2 dryers, which is great during the summer months when you have to change your clothes everyday due to the heat and humidity. Probably one of the best values in HK hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The V is a very small boutique hotel which is fine. It's personal for sure. The rooms were clean, modern and very quiet. It took me a few extra minutes to locate it because of the complicated streets. I was really close but actually had to call the hotel and say I couldn't find it and the front desk attendant actually walked down the street and got me which was really nice of him to do. The hotel is really close to the HK Exhibition Center, definitely within walking distance and also within walking distance to restaurants, bars and night clubs.. The price is average...not a great deal for the limited services they offer but the location somewhat makes up for it.

Room Tip: This V hotel is on Jaffe Road (there's 2 so make sure you know which one you're going to). J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very Nice and friendly staff, good location since I was their for Exhibition. Location is very good. Rooms are spacious and clean, wireless has great speed. Only drawback the breakfast is not on the property itself hence did not use this facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajaymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Booked this property late but found it an excellent choice for my trip to a trade show at the Hong Kong exhibition centre. I did not have any meals so cannot review the restaurant which I never actually saw. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the exhibition centre with access to the pedestrian overpass 100 metres from the door.

Satff were courteous and helpful. The room I was allocated is on the 5th floor and was very well equipped with a small kitchette, a good bathroom and a very good wifi connection. The room is large more like a small bedsit appartment. Bed, linen, towels etc. were all good. Large TV with DVD palyer & cable TV though you won't be coming for the TV channels! The rooms are air-conditioned and some on lower floors have a balcony.

There are plenty of shops & restaurants nearby and the Satr Ferry to the Kowloon side is a short walk also.

For anyone visit a show at the exhibition centre I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogmailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#145 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Fleming, Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong
#174 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#122 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kapok apartment
Kapok apartment
#189 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Wanchai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Wanchai Hotel

Property: V Wanchai Hotel
Address: No.180 Jaffe Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong 852, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — V Wanchai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V wanchai combines luxurious minimalism with warm home comfort. offering 25 studios and studios with terraced gardens with sizes from 500 to 800 sq. ft, V wanchai is conveniently located within walking distance from the hong kong exhibition and convention centre and the wanchai MTR Exit A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your V Wanchai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Wanchai Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing