We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly on Victoria
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$399
US$379
Conrad
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$235
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$157
US$123
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$529
US$463
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$79
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
661
685
121
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
685
121
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstin haucauseway bayair purifierpacific coffeemtr stationhandy phonepocket wifiexecutive roomconvenient locationboutique hotelrooms are smalllocal callsminute walkbus stopfree smartphoneexcellent locationenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

stayed in Feb'13 for 4 days.
this is a good boutique hotel as per the honkong standards.
Cons:
small rooms
too small bath room (actually it is just a shower cabin) and toilet is tucked away behind the door on left side.
not advised for honeymooners
the A/C fan makes too much noise in the executive room.

Pros: the neighborhood is quite and nice
juice shop on the opposite corner of the street.
very near to Metro station and bus stop

the guys at front desk are young and are still leaning. my check-in took long and the room was not ready and i had to wait for a while.

Room Tip: ask for room with less Air-conditioner noise
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Worldtraveller2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

It's good knowing that you liked our hotel location and found it a convenient area for your trip.

Thanks for your comment regarding the check-in efficiency, and on the other hand we are sorry that your stay were affected due to the noise generated from the room's A/C fan. Please rest assured that this is not our usual condition, and we will pay extra effort in monitoring each guest room to ensure all of our guests could enjoy the most comfortable environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked 2 rooms for our family trip, but on the last few days before the trip we had to make changes on our itinerary, e-mailed them about my situation and they gladly helped fix my booking.
The Hotel is clean and very accessible to very good but affordable noodle houses and very accessible to the MTR (5 min walk with my 5 year old daughter).
The staff is courteous and willing to help, we asked what to ride going to a certain place only accessible by bus and they gladly pointed out where, what time and what stop to go off. Those extra personal touches are very appreciated.
Rooms are clean, bathroom is sanitized and a staff you can trust, we forgot to keep our laptop and gadgets inside the safe but when we came back everything was there all accounted for and neatly placed on the side table.
Will definitely stay at Butterfly on Victoria again on our next trip. The room size is just right, not too small and not too big (you don't need a big room unless your gonna go ballroom dancing in it), the location is peaceful and very accessible to everything you need.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room, it's more spacious
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Verano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for staying at Butterfly on Victoria. We hope you had a splendid trip and that you had fun traveling around the city. We are pleased that our guest services team has impressed you much, this is definitely encouraging! Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I picked this hotel because of its location and price, the room we had was small as expected, but OK because we spent most of our time outside anyway. My biggest complaint was the lack of enforcement to ensure a smoke-free environment. We were given a non smoking room on a non smoking floor, imagine the surprise we got when the elevator door opened to five people smoking in the hallway outside our room (a definite fire hazard, to say the least). We went into our smoke-filled room and called the front desk. Someone did come and told the offenders not to smoke, but they all went inside one room and continued to smoke anyway. I called the front desk again and I was told there's nothing more they could do. (Ever heard of a penalty/surcharge for cleaning and deodorizing ?) We asked to change rooms and was told the hotel was full. Needless to say, we had our worst night trying to sleep in our smoky room. I will not stay in this hotel again unless they can enforce one simple rule - No smoking means no smoking !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry to such an unpleasant experience you had. At Butterfly on Victoria, our guest services team strives to provide the best accommodations for all of our guests which in your case, we have fallen short on our mission. Please accept our sincere apology for that.

Comfort is basic yet the most important aspect we offer our guests. After reviewing the situation, we admit there are room of improvement for us on handling and resolving the issue.We truly hope you would consider to stay with us again for a much improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I searched through a lot of hotels around Hong Kong before we finally decided to stay in Butterfly on Victoria. We had to consider the distance of the hotel from the MTR station, surrounding restaurants and shops and also how the neighborhood looked like since we will be travelling with a 5 year old. Thanks to Google maps and it's street views, we were able to scout the location of this hotel before we actually reserved our room. And Butterfly on Victoria had all of the requirements we needed for our stay in HK.

True enough it was easy to find, upon arriving in Hong Kong, it only took us about 30 mins. to reach the hotel via MTR. From Exit A of Tin Hau, it took us around 8 to 10 mins. walk to reach the hotel lobby (and it will actually take you a lot faster if you don't have a child with you.)

This hotel offers the most transportation options as well, you can take the bus, the tram or taxi, all of these have stations near the hotel.

For Dining, they have a lot! From noodle and dimsum houses, small food kiosks, a bakery, McDonalds and 7/11, all of these were just lined around the block.

The neighborhood was pretty safe, we didn't feel awkward walking around at night. Lots of food shops were still open even if it was late already.

Noise level, you can sometimes hear the vehicles that pass by but it was tolerable since we were at the 12th floor.

The hotel interior was really nice. Modern and very clean, the air smells good too. Good job for the maintenance staff of the hotel.

The room was spacious, I was expecting it to be small but I think the space is just right if you're just staying for a few days. My daughter loved the little butterflies on the bed, nice touch to welcome the guests.

The only problem we had in our room (1207) was the door of our shower area, a little water would spill out every time we shower because the lower rubber seal of the shower door is missing. (You guys need to replace that or else you'll get complaints from your future guests.)

But that didn't ruin our stay, we slept well and truly enjoyed staying in this hotel. We would always come home to find our room clean with fresh new towels and toiletries.

The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. They even allowed us to have an early check-in. We will definitely come back when we visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applejack598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks so much for your detailed and positive review! We are very pleased to hear your great words about our hotel and guest services team, on the other hand we will also pay attention on the shortcomings you've mentioned regarding your guest room's shower area.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The location of the hotel is very good. It is in decent condition, and kept clean. The service was very good. I saw all the reviews here about the small hotel rooms, but they still didn't prepare me for the microscopic size of my room. I'm glad I got the larger deluxe room, I still felt cramped, and would have liked to see their superior rooms because I'm curious how you can physically make a room smaller than mine. I guess that is Hong Kong - high prices, space is limited.

Room Tip: Get a superior room at your own peril
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for choosing Butterfly on Victoria. As you have mentioned, space is quite compacted in a city like Hong Kong. Hence, we do put in a lot of effort to maximize our room layouts for the comforts of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews