We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Butterfly on Victoria
Ranked #63 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Room is small but space is well used, travelled solo so no problem with the small space. Pretty standard for HK to have small sized rooms.

Staff at reception is friendly and location is only metres away from Tin Hau station. Lots of restaurants and even a coffee cafe down the road. Value for your money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank chunangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are glad that you liked our hotel location and friendly guest services team. Thanks a lot for your review and we hope to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    568
    107
    21
    19
See reviews for
231
399
186
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Butterfly is not an outstanding hotel, but every bit as good as its competitors in the price range. The rooms are small, but adequate. Good TV but could do with more channels. WIFI is good. Good shower and bathroom.

What makes the Butterfly better than the rest, is the quality of the staff and the level of service. Nothing is too much trouble. Yes, the usual smiling faces, but I get the feeling that they mean it. The treatment by the staff is what makes me want to return to this hotel in the future.

Dave

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for recognizing the quality of our guest services team. The way you were impressed is exactly what we always strive to achieve. We will definitely keep up our good work and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very good hotel for a solo traveller. A nice, but cosy small too, very suitable for 1 person. The room had excellent wifi, very reliable and good speed. There were also complimentary bottles of water, which they restocked daily. The rooms and the hotel in it's entirely was very clean and the staff very friendly.
The location was also perfect. The MTR is right around the corner, making it very easy to access by public transport. Victoria Park is also close by and Causeway Bay is within walking distance.

The hotel was very relaxing and I will definitly consider this hotel again when i visit Hong Kong the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0es0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It's our honor to have impressed you so much during your stay. Thank you especially for your encouraging words about our guest services and hotel quality, we can't wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina Sk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Its in a great location because its so close to the mrt station. The rooms are small but clean. I would stay there again but probably won't because next time I will stay in tst. It's a ways away from causeway bah but with the mrt station it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are pleased to be able to meet your expectations with our convenient location and comfortable room. If you planning to stay in TST next time, let us invite you to our sister hotel – Butterfly on Prat which is only a few steps away from MTR station, and it offers numbers of room type for your selection. Feel free to contact us directly for more information, and we look forward to welcome you back at Butterfly very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the Tin Hau MTR station and easy to get to.
At the airport, we purchased an Airport Express Travel Pass that had 2 journeys loaded (to and from the airport) and unlimited travel for 3 consecutive days on the MTR. You can also load more money onto this Pass and use it as an Octopus card (ride buses, trams, make purchases, etc.) which is very convenient. The Airport Express arrives at the MTR Hong Kong station. Change to the blue line (a bit of a walk), and get on at Central. Then it’s 4 stops to Tin Hau station. Take exit A1, turn left and walk a couple of short blocks. The hotel will be on your right.

Pros:
Convenient location close to MTR, bus loop and tram
Courteous staff (they would often open the door for us)
Clean, modern room
Free Wifi
In-room safe
Free bottled water daily
Free travel slippers
Fridge
Printed boarding passes for free in the lobby

Cons:
Windows blocked due to renovation
Very small room (we accepted this, it’s HK afterall)
Walls a bit thin, heard neighbours very clearly
Slight smell of cigarette smoke through the ventilation
Bathroom door does not go to the ceiling

Overall, we found this hotel to be a great homebase and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent experience with us, we are pleased to have impressed you in so many areas. As regarding the rooms for improvement, we will definitely look into them and continuing effort would be made in order to further enhance our guest's enjoyment. Thank again for your valuable feedback, we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is really a unique Hotel. I love the Butterfly Theme. The staff was very kind and helpful. It is centrally located to Restaurants, markets, and the metro! It is also close to Western Union office in case you need currency exchange etc.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor and it was very quiet! Sometimes the elevator was a bit slow. The shower h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks so much for your fantastic review, we are so glad that you liked our style and our personalized guest services. Your support to Butterfly is highly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to offer you another charming experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked the executive room but find the washbasin in the bathroom is still very small and uncomfortable. Room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Hard and soft pillows are so good! Great location and only 2 min walk to MTR station, bus stop and tram stop. So, it is easy to access anywhere in Hong Kong. The staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Victoria, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful words about our guest services team and convenient hotel location, and it's great that you liked our bed and the choices of pillow. Next time when you are planning to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and we will surely make the best arrangement for you and to ensure everything will be up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,313 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,576 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,664 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#101 of 716 in Hong Kong
584 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Victoria

Property: Butterfly on Victoria
Address: No.33 King's Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can stay in Tsim Sha Tsui and shop all day, park right on top of the business heart of Central, set up camp in Wan Chai and party all night, or you could go for a more relaxing stay at Butterfly on Victoria, right next to Victoria Park where abundant greenery offers sanctuary from the city's full-blown intensity. After re-charging yourself with a stroll in the city's biggest park space, embark on a culinary journey on the always-buzzing Electric Road, explore the eclectic foodies' enclave of Tin Hau, or hop on the historic tram to slowly take in the heady mosaic of Hong Kong life. Offering 132 comfortable guest rooms that mix simplicity with intelligence, Butterfly on Victoria is straightforward and effortless - just like how travel should be. Smart in form and tranquil in colour, the boutique hotel is aptly equipped with free Wi-Fi, branded amenities, device-friendly docking stations and even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features Add to this the convenience offered by 24-hour front desk and dedicated ' Local Ambassadors'; this is where you can truly synchronize your life's demands with your soul's. How well connected are we? - 2-minute walk to the Tin Hau MTR subway station. - 12-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Victoria Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing