We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #128 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This new hotel is well suited for the business traveller. Located in Kowloon, a short walk from Olympic and Mong Gok tube stations, the hotel affords easy access to the rest of Hong Kong. It delivers everything you would expect of an international hotel ... clean, modern and efficient. Check in was arranged quickly and, after some juggling, I was able to access a room straight away rather than waiting for the offical check in time - ideal after 20 hours travelling.

The room itself was on the 29th floor. It was small by the standards of other countries, but very well designed. A half sized ironing board, a kettle with just 10cm of flex and a glass divider between the bedroom and the bathroom area, the door of which also serves as the shower door when fully opened - no space saving detail had been overlooked. If you are sharing the room, the glass divider changes between transparent and opaque at the touch of a switch for discretion. All of this means the small space can accommodate two queen sized beds, or one generous double - but those travelling with large cases will definitely find themselves with little remaining space.

The top, 30th, floor is a bar / restaurant with a number of tables arranged outside on a balcony with patio heaters if there is a chill. The drinks are international hotel expensive but the views, day or night, are quite incredible. This means quite a few non-resident visitors coming to take photographs - not all of them were courteous enough to make a purchase when they visited - sometimes in numbers that make it feel like a coach party has turned up.

Breakfast is a buffet arrangement with both western options, including bacon and egg, and local cuisine, like dim sum and congee available. This is located on the second floor and the design - like the rest of the hotel - is modern, clean and well-lit.

Wi-fi throughout the hotel was excellent. The small number of lifts are high speed, but servicing a 30 floor hotel it was unsuprising that at peak times there was often a long wait. I did not use it but there is a courtesy bus service to some of the local tube stations. The staff at the concierge desk will hail a taxi for you - the tariff for these is regulated in Hong Kong and they are relatively inexpensive.

All the staff I encountered during a week long stay were professional and courteous. Without being exceptional in any one area, standards were consistently high and I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice new hotel.

Different feel as the front desk was actually one floor above. Check in was fast. Front desk staff was very efficient and courteous.

Room: Executive Room on the 23rd floor.

Room was compact which seems to be the norm for hotels in HK, but aside from that it was nice and clean.

Pros:

Room was clean.

Washroom had a cool design, the door of the washroom was also the same door used for the shower. Another cool design was the washroom is see through glass as the door and shower wall but with the press of a button the glass becomes frosted.

Bathroom and toiletries and water were replenished on a daily basis.

Housekeeping staff were very courteous and friendly.

Room also came with Iron, safe, robes and slippers.

In room WIFI signal was strong no issues connecting.


Cons:

Had some issues with the room door. It needed to closed a certain way else the alarm will go off. Addressed this with front desk, but was told that I had perhaps didn't close the door properly. Later addressed this with housekeeping as the alarm went off while they were walking by. Was told they will have someone look at it, but didn't happen.

The hot water for the shower was not consistent. Had an issue the first couple of days where in the middle of a shower the water goes boiling hot (flushing toilet effect).

Room needs a bit more lighting. During the day its fine as there is sunlight. But in the evening, I found that there wasn't enough lighting with all lights turned on the room was still really dim.

As the room was compact there really wasn't any where to place your suitcases. We had to basically use the sitting area by the window as our storage space.


Overall Experience:

This is a nice new hotel in Tai kok Tsui, hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. There are a lot of local eateries and seven elevens and even a McD's across the street. Definitely don't need to worry about being hungry.

Shopping malls, MTR, local markets are all within walking distance of the hotel. a Taxi Stand literally steps away from the front door.

Rooms are compact, again a norm in HK. But its kept clean which is very important.

Aside from the minor cons I mentioned above, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Draglionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

great hotel with great service, 10 minutes walking to famous ladies market, great atmosphere of city from skylounge bar and also from my room.
room it self very clean, hot water sometime having trouble but went OK finally. only matter is hotel room is quiet small but where i can stay in spacious hotel in HK ?
breakfast i dont like it at all. simple one and not so many choice.
and for dinner, they should provide more menus on list since the view is great and its like cherry on top with more variety of dish. price is excellent and happy hours which i never missed it.
internet working perfectly for keep online.
city shuttle was only for one way ? you should change it into return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42lulu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Super room with a compact and bijou feel especially the bathroom / shower door set up.
We chose an executive room which had a super view of the harbour. Well equipped room with toiletries and water replenished daily.
Breakfast catered for both eastern and western taste
We used the shuttle bus for the first couple of days and then found our way around the City and were able to walk from the Ferry or hop on the MTR. We purchased Octopus cards and used thes not only on the MTR but the Ferry / the Tram up the peak and a number of shops. The hotel was spotless and all the staff were extremely helpful

Room Tip: We stayed on the 29th Floor and it was a tad noisy around 11pm when the roof - top bar where re-set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My stay at the Rosedale was pleasant, it was nice to be able to feel like a guest in a smaller scale hotel rather than staying in one of the big chain hotels. We got a v good deal through agoda for an executive room, the room was fine and had a lovely view of the rooftops and partial view of the harbour. Room had everything u could possibly need, even an iron. Breakfast was fine, noodles, salad, dim sum, western, fruit, toast etc, enough to be able to keep you going. We didn't mind having to travel to Olympic or Mongol on MTR, and the shuttle bus was a bonus! The hotel had a modern, arty feel about it and was spotless. Not too forget your free welcome drink on the roof top bar!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michwalk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is brand new and everything in the hotel is very modern looking and super clean. We had a double room, which was extremely small but very clean and nice. As others have said, the bathroom is a bit interesting with the same door used for both the shower and toilet.

The location is is not the best, its about a 10-15 min walk to the main mong kok train station, however there are cabs downstairs that are easy enough to flag down. For the price we paid, we had a great stay there.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Spent the holiday weekend in HK with some friends and associates and stayed at the new Rosedale.

Pros - Check in did not take too long; in fact half of our reserved rooms were ready before noon. Hotel staff were helpful, patient and not pushy. Wifi was free. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and although the rooms are small at around 19 sqm, everything fit perfectly. The complimentary bottles of water were replenished daily, as well as the toiletries; housekeeping respected the 'do not disturb' sign. There was an iphone dock which was very convenient. The breakfast included in our package was okay; most of us liked the fried rice and sausages and their freshly brewed coffee was great. The breakfast room was also large enough to accommodate big groups. I have stayed in the area in the past so I was familiar with the walk to the Olympic MRT station and the Olympian malls. There are a lot of groceries, drug stores, bakeries and restaurants in front of the hotel. Mongkok ladies market is also quite near and walkable. There is a free hotel shuttle to Kowloon Airport Express (where Elements mall is), Mongkok (Langham mall) and some areas in TST. While the hotel is not really in the middle of the shopping district, it's very easy to take the MRT and going to Disneyland is a breeze because it's on the same line as the Olympic and Kowloon stations (orange line); no need to transfer trains.

Cons - the hotel shuttle is only one-way; if arriving via the Airport Express, guests have to take the cab and since the hotel is new, cab drivers are not familiar with the hotel. Tip: print the hotel name and map from the website to show the cab driver, like we did.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience at the Rosedale and would definitely consider it on our future visits.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,905 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#113 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,802 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#193 of 729 in Hong Kong
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,427 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 729 in Hong Kong
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Address: 86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £53 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon is an environmentally friendly designed hotel surrounded by some of Hong Kong's shopping malls, entertainment complexes and famous local markets. Featuring 435 elegant and tastefully decorated rooms and suites with complimentary Wi-Fi and handy smartphone that guests can stay connected while exploring Hong Kong. Health enthusiasts will enjoy the modern fitness room featuring latest equipment opens 24 hours a day. Dining options include Sonata all-day-dining restaurant and SkyZone Deck & Lounge on the 30th floor serving drinks, BBQ and light snacks. The hotel offers strategic access to MTR subway stations and major business locations as well as Hong Kong's tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing