We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #123 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Ulverstone Tasmania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well appointed small rooms”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently stayed for 7 nights on the 12th floor. Initially I was disappointed as the room was a twin and not the double we requested but the staff promptly moved the room around to make the bed a nice sized queen. Yes, the rooms are tiny but everything you need is there except good lighting in the bathroom. I found the air contditioner unobtrusive and easy to operate. The bathroom was well thought out and adequate. Although there is not much cupboard space the window chaise provided plenty of space for the rest of our storage needs. The location was great if you are out to experience local life. And after a hard day of touring and shopping the Skyzone Bar was absolutely heavenly. The 30th floor view provides spectacular close-ups of the surrounding skyscape and vistas of not too far away Hong Kong. The Breakfast option was a mix of eastern and western and well priced. I would consider staying at the Rosedale Kowloon again. They also provide bottled water every day.

Room Tip: Ensure you get your room configuration in writing. If you want good views ask for a floor in the 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    425
    155
    29
    23
See reviews for
141
282
85
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Nice friendly staff but the rooms are very small. They only sleep two. No room for an extra bed. Bathroom too small, no water pressure. The breakfast was good and the lunch was excellent. The roof top bar only opens at 5 pm. It would be nice to be able to have a drink and enjoy the magnificent views during the day.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRyan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent modern hotel, nice lobby and rooms. A bit small but the rooms were well appointed with great TV channels to choose from.
Plenty of restaurants nearby, but a bit of a walk to the nearest MTR station. Close to Olympian Shopping complex

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SSus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
451 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Obviously this hotel pretends to be more than it can keep: first of all the name "Kowloon" is more used for Hotels closer to Tsim Sha Tsui, the Rosedale is in Mong Kok or even more exactly in "Tai Kok Tsui"!!

Secondly I've been in many HK hotels and - yes! - rooms are usally smaller than rest of the world but these rooms in Rosedale are absolutely too small for tourists with luggage (space, bathroom only shower, bathroom door is also shower door etc.) AC makes very loud noise (use ear plugs to sleep at night)

Breakfast is absolutely poor, very limited choice and low quality!! I'm not sure what they charge (as it was included in our package) but even 100 HKD ++ would be too much if you ask me.

Internet speed varies and sometimes it was very slow - below 750kB/s - come on Management: this is Hong Kong High Tech city, not China mainland - they need to fix this asap!

The general premises seem to me HK standard (luxury), the closes MTR Olympic is 5mins walk away, Mongkok MTR (and markets) 10mins walking. Another good side of the hotel is the fact that a taxi from/to airport is only 220 HKD - alternatively you can take a taxi to Tung Chung MTR from airport (ca. 45 HKD), then buy a daily tourist ticket for 55 HKD to use the Tung Chung Line till Olympic.

The area "Tai Kok Tsui" shows some genification: restaurants and (expensive) pubs are in all directions from the hotel - e.g. in Pine street 2 blocks away there a plenty of bars and late night restaurants (where locals get drunk, smoke inside) - I'm sure that in couple of years this area will be a popular new spot of Hong Kong.

In a nutshell: as rates are fluctating very fast in Hong Kong due to competition and demand I'd say for 550-650 HKD net this hotel can be recommend if you are on a budget - during the peak seaon (e.g. October till December) they charge double or more - I don't see a real value for these rates. As there are too many downsides (Wifi, AC, tiny room, breakfast) I can only vote 2of5 especially considering my rate of 1000 HKD net.

Room Tip: don't even think about to book executive room - only floor level is differnce - all same tiny si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We had a suite because we were travelling with three kids. The room is small but well equipped and even had a bathtub. Very clean and new rooms. While service in Hong Kong is non-existence, the hotel service is pretty ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_WPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is in Kowloon, however its not close to the MTR station, though the hotel tries to make up for it with regular free coach trips to the nearest MTR station (Mongkok) and Kowloon. Lots of restaurants close by to the hotel, which was a big plus. The toilet was a small cubicle, luckily I was travelling alone, but I would have definitely not liked to use it in company. The room was tiny. If you put your bag down, you have to jump over it to get around. But the beds were comfortable and I slept well. I must appreciate the really excellent concierge service, they were really professional and very very effecient. I found the checkin process really tedious, they kept hammering away on the computer keyboard forever, and probably the longest checkin I've ever had.... Plus the hotel check in was at 2pm. I arrived at 1.30pm and was still made to wait. Most hotels give you that leeway, but they wanted to stick to the "rules" , I did not quite like that !

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I went to Hong Kong with my family and grandchild for a short holiday. The booking was done in Singapore with a tour company. We arrival in Hong Kong and was pick up by a mini bus and driven to Rosedale Hotel @ Tai Kok Tsui Road. It was early in the morning. guess it must be about 6am. The hotel interior fit out look good and new with the check in floor on the second level. The rooms were great and clean. Only one minor set back..toilet so tiny. If you are a 100kg and above...good luck to you. One of the morning, while having breakfast at the hotel ( breakfast included in this package) I met Mr Wee ( sorry if I got your name wrong,a fine gentleman, a hotel rep from Singapore). He introduced the General Manager of the hotel Mr Louise and Director of Sale Ms Kathy Mak. We did have some small talk about the comfort of the hotel and immediately the hotel "swat" swam into action. We were even invited to the Sky Lounge. A beautiful place and comfort place to be in. Great Job. Will love to be there again. cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,581 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#190 of 718 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
#189 of 718 in Hong Kong
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#116 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,718 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Property: Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Address: 86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon is an environmentally friendly designed hotel surrounded by some of Hong Kong's shopping malls, entertainment complexes and famous local markets. Featuring 435 elegant and tastefully decorated rooms and suites with complimentary Wi-Fi and handy smartphone that guests can stay connected while exploring Hong Kong. Health enthusiasts will enjoy the modern fitness room featuring latest equipment opens 24 hours a day. Dining options include Sonata all-day-dining restaurant and SkyZone Deck & Lounge on the 30th floor serving drinks, BBQ and light snacks. The hotel offers strategic access to MTR subway stations and major business locations as well as Hong Kong's tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing